We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply super”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel del Oso

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cosgaya
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel del Oso
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Certificate of Excellence
Droxford
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Simply super”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Quiet location with a river flowing through, surrounded by meadows with snow capped peaks nearby. Outside a well stocked garden, with large attractive pool, tennis court, and large play areas. Inside comfortable hotel, the bedrooms are a little small, but the beds are large and comfortable. The bathrooms have all mod cons. The dining room has delightful views. The chef loves his food, and the standard is very high with a large menu choice. The breakfasts are outstanding with far too many choices of delicious things. There is a great coffee machine. The best thing about this hotel is the service, and wonderful manners of the staff. Guests and staff are all smiling. A hotel you should not miss.

Room Tip: Second floor rooms have balconies with lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris-Garrod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    431
    61
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
118
257
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Had a great stay. Very peaceful .Lovely hotel, rooms very comfortable, friendly staff , superb breakfast served of a very high standard. Very close Fuente cable car for a great day out. Will be returning if in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz190743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dumfries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

wonderful hotel in a superb location. could not be faulted unless you consider generous portions at mealtimes a fault. Tremendous value for money with attentive, friendly staff.would recommend without any hesitation

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms with balconies are tremendous
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

My wife and I have a house a few km from the Hotel Oso and eat there a few times on every occasion that we are in the area. It is one of the star attractions of the Camaleno valley in the Picos de Europa. The staff are helpful and friendly and the food and wine are excellent. On a pleasant evening, the terrace has to be one of the best places imaginable to take a glass of wine and look at the scenery. For walkers, it is also a fabulous base for exploring the lower reaches of the Picos. Spanish visitors rate this as one of the "must go to" places in the Picos and we are very happy to see that it is equally popular with visitors from outside Spain. It deserves to be so. We can only rate the restaurant below as, living so close when we are in the area, we don't stay there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is one of those very rare hotels that convinces me that I will have to return even given the cost of the translantic air tickets. Fits my definition of luxury, no pomp, just an exceptional staff who make it their business to anticipate your needs and to get you what you want.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mdot1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
673 reviews
195 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

I cannot praise this hotel enough. For a remarkably low cost, you get a large, comfortable, nicely decorated room in the heart of the mountains, an outstanding dinner, and one of the best hotel breakfasts I have ever experienced. (Just yield to desire and try all of the bakery treats; you won't regret it!) The staff is so friendly and helpful, and the beautiful flower boxes and planters outside are just the most obvious sign of how well-cared for the hotel is. We stayed in the building across the street, which offers a pool table, library, and game room, which would be ideal if you were traveling with children. We did not enjoy swimming weather during our stay, so I can't comment on the pool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We recently spent 2 nights in Hotel Del Oso as part of a much bigger road trip thorugh Northern Spain. And, staying here has been a highlight in our trip so far. This lovely family owned hotel in Cosgaya is difficult to fault. Having been owned by the same family for over 25 years or so, Del Oso runs like clockwork at a high level of efficiency and professionalism. Set in Europe's last remaining mountain wilderness, it has a lot to offer. From excellent, ridiculously well priced rooms to a lovely pool and a restuarant serving delicious meals with scrumptious breakfasts.

We would highly recommend the Picos de Europe in general and this hotel in particular if ever you find your way to Northern Spain. We booked for 2 nights but could easily have spent a week in this lovely, tranquil setting!

Room Tip: The upper level rooms have lovely balconies. Next time we would opt for one of these.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moonwaker123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cosgaya
4.6 mi away
Parador de Fuente De
Parador de Fuente De
#1 of 2 in Fuente De
4.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
22.6 mi away
El Bosque de La Anjana
El Bosque de La Anjana
#1 of 3 in Cabuerniga
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
22.6 mi away
Hotel Camino Real De Selores
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
Hotel Casona La Hondonada
#2 of 3 in Cabuerniga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hostal Remona
Hostal Remona
#1 of 2 in Espinama
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
11.3 mi away
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
Hotel Balneario La Hermida
#1 of 1 in La Hermida
3.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel del Oso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel del Oso

Property: Hotel del Oso
Address: Camaleno, 39582 Cosgaya, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Cosgaya
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cosgaya
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel del Oso 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Also Known As:
Del Oso Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing