We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable stay”
Review of Parador de Limpias

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parador de Limpias
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Limpias
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We have just returned from a five night stay at this Parador and had a very enjoyable time. It is very convenient for the ferry crossings to UK as it is half way between Santander and Bilbao.
The hotel is set in an attractive wooded garden with a terrace overlooking a more formal garden. We had a large airy room in the old part of the hotel with large windows on two sides. It all seemed to have been fairly recently refurbished with a big bathroom, lots of fluffy towels and a reasonably priced mini bar.There is a tennis court, an indoor pool and an outdoor pool which is down a hill from the hotel so might be difficult for some people.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. They recommended a fantastic restaurant called La Solana for Sunday lunch in a nearby village Ampuero.However, there are not lots of places to eat very near the hotel and it is not an area with lots of interesting things to see nearby. We did spend a day in Bilbao and visited the Guggenheim and enjoyed a day at Castro Urdiales.We ate in the hotel on two evenings and the food was very good with reasonably priced wine, although the menu did not appear to change during our stay. It is also possible to have tapas and sandwiches in the bar or on the terrace. The breakfast buffet was good too, with a large variety of food, including fresh fruit, tortillas and fresh pastries. The only thing that was not nice was the breakfast coffee!! Not always very hot and slightly burnt tasting!!
We had a very relaxing stay and would return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynneEssexEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (522)
There are newer reviews for Parador de Limpias
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 522 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2014

This is the third parador we have stayed at and the food here was the best. The others were lacking.

The staff were very friendly and the dining experience was pleasant. Well done folks.

The building was interesting and set in woodland. The room was small compared to other paradores and was in need of some repair. This may seem an odd comment but there was a shortage of power sockets, There weren't enough for the lamps let alone the phone chargers and other items we had.

Limpias itself is a strange place. There are many old buildings of character being let to rot but there is a vast amount of new building which seems half empty. It smacks of an large EU grant!

There is nowhere of note to eat outside the parador.

I'm struggling to see why you would visit here unless it was a staging post to somewhere else.

Shame really as the the pardor itself is a good one.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Malc N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rather simple parador but the room with a terrace was really great. Personal very friendly. Restaurant good. Wifi is a problem as it is in most paradors. No coffee and tea faciliteit in the room. Location is good , 15 minutes to the beach. Nearby caves Ramalas de Victoria Nice walk in the village. Nothing extremely Nice but all in all good to stay 2 nights

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stedendwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

Arrived after ferry journey from UK. Just wanted a bed for the night before a long journey the next day. The hotel is in a quiet location, the staff were very welcoming, the dinner and breakfast were excellent and the room comfortable and clean. We wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kitty1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and thought it was very excellent. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, the view from the room was beautiful and the staff were incredibly friendly and helpful. We only ate in the restaurant on the first night but it was very good food and not too expensive. Good choice of hot and cold buffet at breakfast. We look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Linda569
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Typical standard of Paradores near Santander. Comfortable rooms and helpful staff. Only 40 mins from the Guggenhiem in Bilbao and close to the auto route. Booked room only for the best value. We had had a very rough crossing the evening before and so it was good to only have to travel 30 mins to reach a comfortable place to rest.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenM1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

This Parador has been purpose built and whilst in a very quiet spot with nice gardens it is not as inspiring as other Paradors. Being close to the Bilbao ferry port it appears to be used my many travellers but unfortunately does not cater for them. The restaurant opening times are really not conducive to someone wanting to get an early evening meal and early morning start. Opening times are 8:30 pm in the evening and 8:00am in the morning.The restaurant prices are also very expensive. The evening we stayed most people were eating snacks in the bar area and we had to negotiate an early breakfast time which was taken up by about 30 other people!!. The place is drastically understaffed - the Parador system does really need to adapt to the needs of its clients in individual establishments and not use the same blueprint throughout.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank john h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Limpias
15.7 mi away
Castilla Termal Balneario de Solares
10.5 mi away
Gran Hotel Liber & Spa
20.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Santander
Hotel Bahia Santander
#3 of 32 in Santander
1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Hotel Pineda-Playa
Hotel Pineda-Playa
#11 of 17 in Noja
47 reviews
10.6 mi away
Las Rocas Playa Hotel
Las Rocas Playa Hotel
#1 of 3 in Castro Urdiales
399 reviews
3.6 mi away
Posada La Torre de la Quintana
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parador de Limpias? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parador de Limpias

Address: Fuente del Amor s/n, 39820 Limpias, Spain
Region: Spain > Cantabria > Limpias
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Limpias
Price Range: £61 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parador de Limpias 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parador de Limpias reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parador De Limpias Hotel Limpias
Parador De Hotel Limpias

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing