We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, Spacious, Great Location”
Review of Meteora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Meteora Hotel
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kastraki
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Firstly, I would recommend driving if you were to visit Meteora. This hotel is best for visitors who drive.

My first impression is the space - rooms are big to the point I find it rather "empty" compared to the usually cramped hotel rooms. The second impression is of course the amazing view of the Meteora rocks - amazing, simply amazing! And try to spend some time star-gazing at night.

Breakfast was included. It was good but nothing more of the standard spread in other hotels in Greece. It's really close to Kalambaka where there are many restaurants to choose from for a good dinner, with some wine while enjoying the quiet village and the imposing rocks.

Set your GPS to Kastraki instead of Kalambaka.There is another Hotel Meteora in Kalambaka but it was more of a B&B - went there and the owner guided us to the right hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Vera V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2014

Even though it was not in the center of Kalampaka this hotel was very well located with a great view over the Meteora area.
The room was spacious and well maintained, the bathroom was big and clean and the swimming pool area was nice and relaxing.
We stayed only for one night but we would def stay for more if we had days!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Picarooon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

My family and I used this hotel for a night as we traveled around Greece, and it was wonderful. The rooms are clean and spacious. The views are breathtaking. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, and every person on the staff was kind and helpful. Absolutely use this hotel for any trip to Meteora.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MadisonPen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Very confy place, close to the Meteora Churches. Very nice staff. Hotel is very clean and staff is very helpful.
Its very close to the trail that taks you to all the sites. Sunset is amazing. Yamas Greece!

Room Tip: Meterora View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alvaro137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Great views, which is what you come to Meteora for. Buffet breakfast, lots of choices, but the evening meal was a great disappointment. We were at a table for 6, and we got 2 bowls of salad between us. Main course was pork in a very dark sauce (gravy?) sitting on a zucchini (courgette) velouté, and dessert was 1 banana, 1 kiwi fruit, and 2 plums between 6 of us! The wine was over-priced too.
Wi-fi not available in the rooms, only at reception. Shower over bath was very dangerous too, very slippy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NNInglis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

My partner and I stayed here as part of a group tour of Greece. This is a lovely area of Greece, and we were there to visit the monasteries. Our room itself was somewhat monastic though comfortable—very plain, the bed had a thin mattress, but everything was clean. The best part was the balcony, which had a stunning view of the monolithic rocks where the monasteries were built, and the little village nestled against the rocks. The room was a bit warm, so we opened the door to the deck (which can also function as a window). There was no screen but we didn’t have a problem with bugs. The food was OK. We never used the pool but it looked nice (though it was odd that it could only be accessed through the restaurant). It’s located a bit out of town so you would need a vehicle to get around. If you’re looking for luxury this isn’t the place, but if you just need some simple accommodations this would fit the bill.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milliwyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

This hotel does should not have the five stars they claim, yet I would strongly recommend it for a visit to the Meteora monasteries. We took a quadruple room which was definitely acceptable, and actually quite a bargain (80 €/night, breakfast included). The room and the whole hotel are very clean. The pool is very nice, with a beautiful vista on the Meteora, and it is great after a day spent walking and visiting. The breakfast is abundant, with many home made jams. Overall, a good choice!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank francesco-1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastraki
0.2 mi away
Grand Meteora
Grand Meteora
#4 of 7 in Kastraki
116 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Meteora
Hotel Meteora
#17 of 34 in Kalambaka
227 reviews
0.5 mi away
Tsikeli Hotel
Tsikeli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kastraki
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kastraki
Hotel Kastraki
#9 of 34 in Kalambaka
185 reviews
0.8 mi away
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
Theatro Hotel Odysseon
#3 of 34 in Kalambaka
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Meteoritis
Hotel Meteoritis
#3 of 7 in Kastraki
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meteora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meteora Hotel

Address: 2nd Km of Kalambaka-Ioannina Road | Trikala, Kastraki, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka > Kastraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Kastraki
Price Range: £61 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meteora is both a modern and traditional hotel located in the scenic region of Meteora. Opened in July, 2006, the hotel offers unique comforts and splendid spaces of relaxation that characterize the detail and the originality of the interior design. Built on the higher point of the region of Kastraki, visitors have awe-inspiring views of the incomparable beauty of natural landscape including the fascinating rocks of Meteora. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Meteora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing