We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!!”
Review of Taverna Gardenia

Taverna Gardenia
Ranked #1 of 20 Restaurants in Kastraki
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Taverna located at the center of the village KASTRAKI near by the church The Taverna running since 1932 three generations so far In the Taverna you will find traditional food in a nice,friendly,family environment
Reviewed 8 January 2019

Nice food, little pricey and small portions. Cosy and warm place. Very good service and courteous staff. Certainly would visit it again.

Πολυ καλο φαγητο αλλα τσιμπημενες τιμες και μικρες μεριδες. Ομορφος και ζεστος χωρος. Γρηγορο σερβις και ευγενικο προσωπικο. Σιγουρη επιλογη.

Date of visit: January 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spiros k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,296)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 1,296 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

The moussaka and white bean dishes are excellent, and we also enjoyed the free cake at the end. It was freezing outside but very cozy by the fire, and the food arrived quickly. We had a starter and two mains plus a half liter of house wine for about 25 euro. They also bring a free ouzo at the end, which was a fun touch!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank emarienyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2018 via mobile

Came here for lunch based on our driver’s recommendation and we enjoyed every dish that we ordered, the moussaka which was eggplant casserole was especially good. The chicken and pork skewers were very tender with great seasoning and charcoal flavor.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank ITYU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2018

Good menu. Nice food. Friendly staff. Convenient to lodging. Not fancy, but nice for both visitors and locals.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Chuck M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2018

We were recommended this place by our Airbnb host. The first thing that caught our attention was the roaring fire place.

The food was authentic, delicious and the service from the young waiter was the best we have experienced in four months of travel. So much so, we went back three times in a row, trying different food each time for dinner.

We were saddened to hear that on our forth visit, it had closed for winter. Nothing else came close to this place while in the Meteora region or In Greece for that matter.

Price is reasonable and we gave tips because they would bring us complimentary ozo or desert.

Trying the drink Masticha after dinner is a must.

Top notch place

Date of visit: November 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taverna Gardenia also viewed

 
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 
Kastraki, Kalambaka
Kalambaka, Trikala Region
 

Been to Taverna Gardenia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing