We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for visiting monasteries”
Review of Sydney Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sydney Hotel
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kastraki
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This hotel is well situated for a visit to Meteora. It is only a 10 minute walk from the KTEL station in Kalambaka; the hotel can be found right as you enter the quaint village of Kastraki from this road.

We opted to walk to the Monestaries from there (though the bus up is right across the street). Our hosts were also very helpful in helping us find information on proceeding to our next destination, also by bus.

The room was fair sized, and the balcony was pleasant with chairs and table and a nice view. The internet could be a bit spotty at times,but for our purpoes this was fine. Breakfast was nothing elaborate, but tasty and plentiful. We could not have asked for more!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

Great location – just as you come into Kastraki village. Owners Toni and his wife are helpful and friendly. Our room was large, clean, very comfortable, quiet - and the wi-fi worked!. Enjoyed the view of Meteora rock formations from balcony. Local bus stops across the street, and its a 4 euro taxi ride from Kalambaka station. Easy walk to restaurants, bakeries and shops – excellent local taverna with BBQ grill next door. Simple but nice continental breakfast – selection of cheeses, meats, breads, yoghurt, juice and coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonmcg2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great hotel. Great price. The location is perfect for visiting the monasteries of Meteora. The owner, Angelo, is an absolute gem. Extremely helpful with every detail for our excursion including a map of the monasteries. There is a decent little restaurant right next door that was delicious. Not a lot to do within walking distance but very calm and relaxing. If you want more action, head to Kalambaka. However, this was a perfect location for our group. Nice, quiet location at the foot of some of the bluffs. The rooms were tidy and clean with a small balcony. It was awesome waking up to the roosters and very cool watching the hills nearby disappear into silhouettes with the sunset. Solid breakfast. We arrived later at night with a group of 14 and were accommodated beautifully!
Would go again in a heartbeat! Awesome hosts.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philhellene7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location of this hotel is great when visiting Meteora monasteries. Kastraki is a very nice village and Sydney Hotel is conveniently located in the center with view to the mountains.
The hotel has free wifi that works in the rooms, lovely dining room and terrace.
The breakfast is classic continental, but very tasty; a good start in the morning.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable, with a small refrigerator, dressing, places to deposit the luggage, balcony with table and 2 chairs.
Bathroom has hair dryer, apart from the usuals.
The owners are lovely people, always ready to help.
The hotel has its own parking in the back yard.
Within 5 minutes walk there are 4 taverns to serve lunch/dinner.
We stayed here for 2 nights, we loved it and I strongly recommend this place when visiting the Meteoras, rather than Kalambaka.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andra-Ioana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The location of this hotel is great when visiting Meteora monasteries. Kastraki is a very nice village and Sydney Hotel is conveniently located in the center with view to the mountains.
The hotel has free wifi that works in the rooms, lovely dining room and terrace.
The breakfast is classic continental, but very tasty; a good start in the morning.
The room we stayed in was very comfortable, with a small refrigerator, dressing, places to deposit the luggage, balcony with table and 2 chairs.
Bathroom has hair dryer, apart from the usuals.
The owners are lovely people, always ready to help.
The hotel has its own parking in the back yard.
Within 5 minutes walk there are 4 taverns to serve lunch/dinner.
We stayed here for 2 nights, we loved it and I strongly recommend this place when visiting the Meteoras, rather than Kalambaka.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pixxi_Pink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

my bf and i stayed here and found it to be the best priced value for money place weve stayed in so far on our europe trip. the owner angelo and his niece do a fantastic job. rooms are spotless, aircon is ice cold, the bus stop up to meteora is 20m down the road plus the view from the room is amazing. breakfast is basic but filling and fresh. seeing the aussie flag out the front was even a nice touch of home for 2 aussie backpackers

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunnycoast_girl13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2013

The owners were extremely kind, welcoming, informative, and very very helpful. The location is perfect for visiting the monasteries of Meteora and you can see the rocks/cliffs right from the room's window. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, and well kept. Breakfast is freshly made. Any kind of problem you may have, ask the owners and they are more than happy to help (we know from personal experience). I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone wishing to visit the region. For my next trip to Meteora, I am booking my stay with them.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carmen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kastraki
0.5 mi away
Pyrgos Adrachti
Pyrgos Adrachti
#1 of 7 in Kastraki
537 reviews
92.2 mi away
Nafs Hotel
Nafs Hotel
#2 of 9 in Naupactus
207 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tsikeli Hotel
Tsikeli Hotel
#2 of 7 in Kastraki
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
92.2 mi away
Hotel Akti
Hotel Akti
#1 of 9 in Naupactus
226 reviews
92.1 mi away
Apollon Library Suites
Apollon Library Suites
#2 of 10 in Naupactus
31 reviews
93.0 mi away
Marabu Hotel
Marabu Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chiliadou
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sydney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sydney Hotel

Address: Kastrakiou Street, Kastraki, Kalambaka 422 00, Greece
Region: Greece > Thessaly > Trikala Region > Kalambaka > Kastraki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Hotels in Kastraki
Hotel Class:3 star — Sydney Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 12

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing