We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fat Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fat Italian

The Fat Italian
Ranked #7 of 136 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opened 18 November 2011. Tel no 01695 572555. no web site
Burscough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fat Italian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

Visit on a regular basis as the food, atmosphere and service is just excellent. The Sunday pizza/pasta deals add to the value too, so it doesn't have to be an expensive night out

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    93
    24
    13
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Best steak in Ormskirk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

We have been here a number of times and have not been dissapointed, the steaks are the best in Ormskirk and always cooked exactly as requested which is unusual, normally at least one is overcooked but not here.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank graham1071013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Visited here last night and had a lovely evening, great food, great service! Will look forward to returning again soon

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ormskirk
Level Contributor
57 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Over priced for poor quality food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012 via mobile

This restaurant should be really good -as the menu is great ( and specials) but having been 5 times now here's the low down- tiny vegetable portions, greasy chips, meals served Luke warm, expensive main portions £22 approx!
I won't be going back as there are far better less expensive in the area.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JASM1NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, England
Level Contributor
134 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service, but very noisy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

We visited here recently for the first time, on recommendation from a friend.
We were very impressed with the quality of the food and the service was exceptional. The staff were all very friendly and the menu is vast! There was a great variety and no one could say that there was nothing they liked.

The only disappointment was the noise. It was very, very loud. So much that we couldn't hear each other properly. Matters were made worse by the fact there was a drunken man with his family who was banging the table and generally being a pain. I felt that this should have been dealt with by the staff and I was close to speaking to him myself, but then he left.

As much as I enjoyed the food, I doubt we'll return, as we prefer a quieter atmosphere when we go out for a meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rowz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Italian also viewed

Burscough, Ormskirk
 
Burscough, Ormskirk
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to The Fat Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing