We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tasty” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fat Italian

The Fat Italian
Ranked #7 of 135 Restaurants in Ormskirk
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Romantic, Cheap Eats, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opened 18 November 2011. Tel no 01695 572555. no web site
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Very good service..excellent food choices not just pasta. Would recommend lamb stuffed with feta cheese and cous cous.my sister had sea bass gorgeous. Lovely pre theatre meal. So handy for the train station to liverpool afterwards.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bellydancer121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    222
    92
    24
    12
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ormskirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

As a family we eat at this lovely restaurant once a week and sometimes more than that. It’s always busy, no matter what time we book for (or just turn up in the hope they can squeeze us in) there are plenty of customers in, which is a sign of a great restaurant.

The staff are brilliant – all switched on, efficient, know what they’re doing and remember their regular customers. The restaurant itself is spacious and airy, tables aren’t crammed too close together and it’s very comfortable.

The food never ever disappoints with pasta and pizza being the real speciality, they get it right every time. Portions are really generous and pricing is what it should be. There’s some kind of offer on almost every night. If you want to go on “ten pound Tuesday” which is three courses for £10 from a set menu, you’ll probably need to book a week in advance.

We love this place!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GuitarGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
west lancs
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“What the heck has happened to this place in last few weeks?!?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

Fat Italian ormskirk is my local 'nice' restaurant and has always been excellent if a little pricey. But sooo worth it- normally.

Booked for this evening anticipating a wonderful meal as usual. Music blaring so asked if it could be toned down a bit as we couldn't talk to each other for the noise- front of house look put out that I mentioned it at all.

Waited some time to order but understandable in a popular restaurant. Starters were calamari, garlic bread w tomato, melon, and soup of the day. Portion of melon small but well presented. Calamari very chewy and mean looking. Soup lovely. Garlic bread pretty basic.

Main course were halibut x 2, crispy pork, and asparagus linguini. Fish was ok, pork was in a strange chip shop batter in a cream sauce that verged on dessert sweet. Asparagus was AWFUL. Limp, tasteless uninspiring. Tomato sauce on pasta unseasoned and bland.

We gave up at this point and left. Perhaps an off night? Not so sure as good friend had similar experience last week.

So- what's up Fat Italian?!? New chef/kitchen staff? Whatever it is please sort it ASAP. Very poor.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank uglyankee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

Stumbled upon this lovely restaurant after a day trip in Liverpool. The food was amazing! I loved the Spanish/ Italian mix. The staff were very helpful and welcoming. Also, the set menu made the price very reasonable. We visited at 4:30 expecting the place to be quite but were surprised to find a pretty full restaurant. One of the nicest things about this restaurant was the atmosphere.

Only disappointment was that I never visited as a student during my time at Edge Hill.

Helpful?
Thank AmyHamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Market Rasen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“WOW WEE - so stunning and pure heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

We've been a couple of times before and every single time we visit, we are never disappointed at all! The attention to detail is always second to none, nothing is too much trouble and simply outstanding. The food is excellent and beautifully presented and served to perfection, you taste all the flavours! 100% first class service throughout and see you again next Friday!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheOuchPoucher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Fat Italian also viewed

Burscough, Ormskirk
 
Burscough, Ormskirk
Ormskirk, Lancashire
 

Been to The Fat Italian? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing