We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home from Home - but with a fantastic View!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Trewythen Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trewythen Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Kings Lynn
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home from Home - but with a fantastic View!”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed at the Honeysuckle Lodge in September, and although the welsh weather wasn't kind everything else was absolutely perfect! A very warm and helpful welcome from our hosts, Ann and Paul, superb accommodation and location and lots to do around and about. The lodges are in a prime location, and the hot tubs are perfectly positioned to take full advantage of the amazing views over the beautiful valley that stretches for miles and miles in front of you. The rules regarding the hot tubs ensure that they are always clean and safe, and still leave plenty of time to enjoy them! Local places worth a visit are Powys Castle, The Elan Valley, Red Kite Feeding Centre and numerous pretty local villages with lovely pubs! We were also lucky enough to catch the tour of Britain which passed close by. We will most definitely be returning (hopefully when the sun shines!) and will be recommending this to all our friends and family.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunlight_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    15
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
151
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed here last month and whilst it is a pretty location in nice scenery the lodges are distinctly average for the price. The owners clearly take health and safety very seriously but seem to misunderstand that they only need to inform their customers of certain information. The time restriction of 8pm in the winter months and 9pm for the rest of the year is something we have never come across at any other Hoseasons site. This spoilt it for us as 8pm to 11pm are the times that the hot tub is best enjoyed. The hot tubs are also not sunk into the floor like at Black Hall lodges, Aymestry, Bluebell in Kingham or all the other sites we have visited. This site is also more expensive and therefore I would really recommend that if you are considering here you look at other options on the Hoseasons site. The local villages and town are also nothing special and it is nice to go and find a decent pub lunch on these kind of weekends away. This was not possible round here.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2013lexi7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellwalesWales, Owner at Trewythen Lodges, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. Health and safety is taken seriously at our park, for the reasons of guests own safety. These are not our rules, and we are just passing them on as informed to. As for the closing of the hot tubs in the evening, this is on your booking form prior to arrival, so you would have known this before you booked your holiday, so could have changed your mind. We spend a lot of time in the evening and early mornings making sure the hot tubs are clean and the water safe for all guests use. They are not maintenance free, and we have to work on them every day.

Lots of our guests come here for peace and quiet and enjoy knowing that there will be no noise from other guests in the evenings.

We live in between 3 villages approx. 2miles from each. They all have a eating place, which I explained to you on your arrival and we can recommend the good food.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peacehaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Just returned from this excellent Lodge. What a little gem for a romantic break. Lovely welcome from the owner.

The lodge is lovely and clean, super clean hot tub, sauna and spectacular views of the Welsh countryside.

Not a sound apart from the lambs and calves gently grazing.

Recommended to all for either a short break or a week or so.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here over the bank holiday weekend we were late arriving due to the horrendous traffic but we were welcomed by the lovely Ann who helped us settle in and recommended restaurants etc which was very useful. The cabin includes a open plan kitchen/lounge and dining area and us spacious and has everything you need including lazy boy sofas and chair!! The bedroom is large and very relaxing. The bathroom has a large corner bath which was amazing and there is a sauna room . The sauna was very relaxing and lasts about 30 mins which is plenty as it gets nice and hot. The hot tub is outside on decking and is completely private with views over the hills and fields, you can sit and relax whilst watching the sheep and cows. There is a 30 minute timer on the hot tub which is not a problem as you need to get out after 30 minutes anyway to get the lid back on do the waters kept lovely and hot! There was also a table and chairs near the hot tub which was ideal for enjoying a glass of wine . Off the lounge there was a door which led onto a decking terrace which was covered so you could sit there and eat al fresco which was lovely. We ate at The Buck on the Saturday night which was only a couple of miles up the road and it was lovely it is about £70-£80 for 2 including 3 courses and drinks I would highly recommend! The only thing which was unsatisfactory was the taxi in which we travelled in to the restaurant someone had been sick up the side of it over the door handle and inside needed a good clean! We visited Newtown which was a nice little town and it has the most amazing sweatshop! Overall this was an ideal break and very quiet and relaxing I would highly recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank porter8224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is a must for a holiday to forget about everything.lodges top notch,sauna hot tub with views to die for.can't say a bad thing.Host helpful and caring can't wait to go back. 10 out of 10.If you are looking for luxury,with sky tv dishwasher,comfortable furnishings sauna,hot tub all set in a beautiful lodge cabin set in gods own country . Peaceful and a complete retreat from modern day stress .Please try and you will ache to go back

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Great location, with Snowdon and the Becons within easy distance.
Clean cabin, with all bits and bobs you'd expect,really nice Sauna also.
This was our 14th lodge and it came up to scratch in all areas, minus a few issues that affected our stay.
Nice welcome by Ann but felt it was a bit OTT for a couple that were 40 not 14. There were big restrictions on the hot tub, that we've not experienced anywhere else. It seemed that the owners focus was the hot tub and nothing but the hot tub.
We felt like we couldnt relax the whole week, and almost felt naughty getting into the tub.A really nice couple opposite us where told to get out of the tub as they had been in their 30 mins.
Sky package was very poor, with just four channels, I know you dont go on holiday to watch tv, but it could be improved.
There was another bedroom in our lodge that was locked, obviously so we didnt mess it up, not a problem, just slightly unusual.
We had a nice stay but it felt like you were being watched all the time.The owners are clearly nice people but need to lighten up, as this type of class of lodge with attract people that arent
yobs,and are respectful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pushka1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellwalesWales, Owner at Trewythen Lodges, responded to this review, 30 August 2013
Thank you for your review.

I would like to say that as owners we put 100% into everything so, that our guests have a enjoyable stay at the park. As for the hot tubs, the rules set out come from health and safety and hot tub manufacturers. We are asked to carry out these instructions and when I explain to our guests, I try to do it in a polite manner and would certainly not speak to anyone like children. We are not OTT and do not just focus on the hot tub.

If a couple were in a hot tub 30 minutes, we would certainly not go and ask them to get out and therefore you must be mistaken by this, we certainly do not need to lighten up.

As for the sky television, we do have more than four channels and as for a second bedroom in your lodge there is not one. The room that is locked is a store room. The Lavender lodge you stayed in is advertised as one bedroom!!!

We are very busy people and also have other occupations and have better things to do than watch our guests. We like to let guests get on with there holiday and leave everybody to enjoy it in peace, as we did with yourselves.

Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

We arrived a lot later than 4pm, but were still welcomely warmed by Ann, who gave showed us round the lodge and how to use the hot tub and sauna. Our first impression as we walked in was simple "wow!". We have never stayed in such a clean and tidy place before! The kitchen is full of pots, pans and anything else you may need including bottle openers, tin openers and even a pizza cutter! The beds were like sleeping on clouds! The Surrounding area was beautiful and we all loved walking there (just to the right there is a way to walk up a hill and will bring you to a woods!). Plenty of stuff to do in the area if you want to drive, I'd recommend a visit to constitution hill and King Alfreds labrynth (especially if you have kids). In a nutshell, very friendly owners who really go out their way to make your holiday special and a beautifully clean lodge! Fantastic!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanidloes
2.3 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
316 reviews
4.9 mi away
Trewythen Hotel
Trewythen Hotel
#3 of 13 in Llanidloes
53 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 16 in Newtown
96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Unicorn Hotel
Unicorn Hotel
#1 of 13 in Llanidloes
105 reviews
13.9 mi away
Belan Bach Lodges
Belan Bach Lodges
#1 of 1 in Llangadfan
100 reviews
12.1 mi away
Penllwyn Lodges
Penllwyn Lodges
#1 of 2 in Garthmyl
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trewythen Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trewythen Lodges

Property: Trewythen Lodges
Address: Llandinam, Llanidloes SY17 5BQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Llanidloes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Trewythen Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trewythen Hotel Llanidloes
Trewythen Lodges Llanidloes, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing