We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely holiday if you enjoy restrictions and the feeling of being watched”
Review of Trewythen Lodges

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trewythen Lodges
Certificate of Excellence
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“lovely holiday if you enjoy restrictions and the feeling of being watched”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My Husband and I stayed here for two nights 15th to 17th of November, it was supposed to be three but we decided to come home early due to the owners. The cabin itself and location was lovely and clean and I cannot fault it, it was the owners and restrictions I found spoilt our stay. We felt like the whole time we were there we were being watched and felt like we could not relax because of this not what you want from a relaxing spa holiday. We knew before arriving there were restrictions on the hot tub and all restrictions were explained in length and great detail at the beginning of our stay although when using the hot tub we felt we could not relax as my husband had to go back and fore to the cabin to check the time so we were not in the for longer than 30 minutes for fear we would be told off. On the saturday night of our stay my husband did not go to bed until gone 1 am and had been smoking outside on the veranda when i got up the next morning at about half past 6 and went outside I could see the ash tray had been emptied on our veranda and chairs tucked neatly under the table, this made me feel a bit uncomfortable and even more so as if we were being watched as during the early hours of the morning the owner must have come up to our cabin to do this. There was also problems with the sky and most of our holiday there was no picture. The log fire I had been looking forward to relaxing in front of was timed, there were signs to make sure heating was turned off and it seemed although the holiday was not a cheap holiday the owners really wanted to cut down on costs. On the Sunday of our stay it was my husbands birthday and we were planning on going out for Sunday lunch, I was missing my children terribly as it was the first time I had ever left them so decided to drive an hour home and back so they could come to dinner with us before taking them back. I took my children to the cabin to show them and so I could get changed to go out for dinner, within 5 minutes of my children being there the owner knocked to say she had seen children entering the cabin, my husband explained to her they would not be staying long but we wanted to take them out to dinner with us before taking them back and they were waiting for me to get changed to go to lunch, he was told this was against health and safety as there was only one bedroom there and they had to leave immediately. Why it mattered there was only one bedroom when they weren't staying I don't know but i think for the sake of half hour this was very unreasonable of the owner and proof to me that we had been being watched as she was knocking the door within 5 minutes. My children were inside the cabin, not causing harm or disturbance to anyone and were not staying for long! This along with other little things during the weekend made me feel uncomfortable and just want to get home a feeling I have never ever had when on holiday before, we tried to check out shortly after but the owners were not around so we left. I would not recommend this holiday to anyone especially for the price you pay i have been on much nicer holidays elsewhere, the location and cabin were beautiful its just a shame about the restrictions and owner.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danathelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bluebellwalesWales, Owner at Trewythen Lodges, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thank you for your review. As you were aware, you were in breach of contract during your stay with us. Blossom lodge is a adult only one bedroom lodge. We are not insured for children or more than two people to sleep in this lodge and do not mind day visitors on site.

It was brought to our attention that children had entered the lodge and we had to follow what we were told through. I had not asked yourselves to leave, and explained why the children were unable to stay over. Visitors are not watched during their stay and this is why we are lucky enough to get many repeat visitors.

With regard to the hot tub, the health and safety guidelines are not our rules, but we do have to explain them. We do not go around telling people to get out after 30 minutes, but do expect them to follow the health and safety and manufactures guidelines. All hot tubs have timers on them, so nobody needs to keep checking the length of time they have been in them.

We have to work on the hot tubs in the evenings and early mornings so they are in prestige condition for everybody to use. This is done quietly and does not disturb visitors and as for emptying the ashtray and putting chairs tidy, this is done for visitors benefit, not because we are watching.

The electric log fire stays on for two hours and can be turned on straight away after it goes off and the television in Blossom lodge is freeview. It was and is still working during your time of stay. If it had not been working then we were never informed by yourselves.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    187
    15
    9
    3
    3
See reviews for
29
153
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This is the first time we have stayed in a lodge and it really felt like we had spoilt ourselves. We stayed in the Jasmine Lodge which was spotlessly clean with everything you could need.

We had a warm and friendly greeting from Ann on arrival, who explained everything in the lodge including the hot tub and sauna (it was our first time in both of these so was glad of the information).

The lodge was perfect in a gorgeous setting, very quiet and surrounded by fields full of sheep. The only noise we heard at night was the cows mooing in the far field.

We will highly recommend this site to everyone.

Thank you for a wonderful relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nickyjc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We stayed here for four nights in late August to get away from everything and just relax for a few days.

We stayed in the 2 bedroom Lavender Lodge. The open plan kitchen/dining/living room was large and had everything we could need including plenty of plates, cutlery, a dishwasher, washing machine, dishwasher tablets, some washing-up liquid and some complimentary tea and coffee.

As others have said, the hot tub was spotless. Yes, the owner did explain the rules to us, but we didn't see any evidence of them being unnecessarily enforced.

The lodges are a couple of miles from the nearest villages, so perhaps aren't the place to go if you're looking for lively nightlife. However if you're looking for peace and quiet then they are absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank siCTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wrexham, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Just returned home after our second stay at Trewythen lodges, and once again we have experienced the perfect break!!!. On arrival the greeting from our host ann was as warm and friendly as we'd remembered amazingly she recognised us from our previous visit.The lodge was spotlessly clean and tidy with everything we needed and more. The hot tub and sauna were delightful and the advise ann gave us on the use of the hot tub was not only helpful but also relevant due to our medical conditions.This allowed us to have a safe and enjoyable experience. The setting of the lodges are ideal for a get away break, the peace and quiet is most welcoming and allows you to recharge your batteries.The location of the lodges allow you to partake in as many local activities and attractions as you wish or to just chill and relax in the perfect surroundings of your lodge .Once again Ann and Paul thanks for a wonderful break and we are just booking now for may 2014 but this time it will be for a week!!!!! .

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank disco2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

My husband and I have just returned from one of the best breaks we have had. We were greeted as soon as we arrived and made to feel extremely welcome. The lodge itself was beautifully decorated and spotless and was very warm and inviting. Everything you could need was there with plenty of space to put our luggage when it wasn't being used. The sauna and hot tub made this accommodation extra special and luxurious. I have absolutely no faults with Trewythen Lodges and will definitely be coming back.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

This was our third lodge with hot tub holiday, perfect site, only 7 lodges, family owned who really went out of their way to help in any way they could.

Perfect views out of any window. Many times we have been away and plan not to go out much but for various reasons end up out more than in. However this was the exception, apart from some shopping we spent the time at the lodge.

Hot tub and sauna fir the lodge, not shared.

I think we will be returning to this one in the future, cant recommend it enough.

Room Tip: Don't rely an sat nav only, have a map on you as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ralph h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hi we just got back today from our stay here, my partner took me away for three nights for my 30 th birthday and proposed! Amazing weekend ! We stayed in the lavender lodge! Beautiful clean lodge with all the bits and bobs u need already there , the owner was lovely and very helpful, the area is beautiful and the views are unbelievable , the local town is so friendly we had Sunday dinner at the lion hotel which I would defo recommend it was the best roast dinner I have had eating out, we didn't leave the lodge much to be honest we wanted quiet time away from the kids we left home with nanny for quality time together , we cooked in the lodge every evening and everything is there u need, the hot tub was fab even tho the weather was cold the hot tub was perfect and we had the best weekend away ideal for busy working couples with a busy family life to just have time together in a romantic beautiful area, totally recommend and will be going back !
Thank you for a lovely stay

Gareth and Sian xx

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Siano773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanidloes
2.3 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
4.5 of 5 bubbles 323 reviews
4.9 mi away
Trewythen Hotel
Trewythen Hotel
#3 of 12 in Llanidloes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Old Vicarage
The Old Vicarage
#1 of 16 in Newtown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Unicorn Hotel
Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 12 in Llanidloes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
13.9 mi away
Belan Bach Lodges
Belan Bach Lodges
#1 of 1 in Llangadfan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
12.1 mi away
Penllwyn Lodges
Penllwyn Lodges
#1 of 2 in Garthmyl
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trewythen Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trewythen Lodges

Property: Trewythen Lodges
Address: Llandinam, Llanidloes SY17 5BQ, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Speciality Lodging in Llanidloes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Trewythen Lodges reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trewythen Hotel Llanidloes
Trewythen Lodges Llanidloes, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing