We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steeped in history mid wales kevin wye cycling
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed in South Cottage, one of the self-catering cottages attached to this property. The cottage was perfect - well equipped, clean and warm, with stunning views over the surrounding beautiful and unspoilt countryside. The owners were really welcoming and friendly, giving us a guided tour of the fascinating main house, lending us maps and other information, and generally going out of their way to ensure we had a great holiday. Llangurig (about 3/4 mile away) has a nice pub which does good food, and there is great walking right from the door of the cottage. Altogether the ideal place for a quiet walking holiday - we were lucky to come across it by chance on the Internet, and are hoping to return before too long.

Date of stay: April 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank statslady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Having found this wonderful place Cannot wait to go again. Will certainly recommend it to friends and family. The area is beautiful and unknown.My sister and myself stayed for one night B&B. We were welcomed by Kevin into a cottage adjoining a fascinating house. We had a living room with a raeburn and. A room and bathroom each. Tea ,coffee and cakes were soon being served. kevin was most attentive kind and generous in all sorts of ways during our entire stay. The following morning Kevin showed us round the House. It has a very interesting history of which Kevin is very well aware. He and his partner have restored it to its former glory. It had become a virtual ruin. Every piece of furniture and every detail is absolutely in character------much more ----

Room tip: Ask kevin,your individual requirements. He is very honest and considerate
Date of stay: February 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Just stayed with a party of 5. Excellent disabled facilities. What a wonderful place, steeped in history and a great host. Would not hesitate to stay again, wonderful scenery and great warm welcome from the locals.

Date of stay: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carbillvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We have just returned from a few days stay at the Clochfaen in their self catering cottage. The two cottages are located just behind the main house and Aubrey's Bed and Breakfast.

We stayed in the two bedroomed cottage known as South Cottage which is well equipped for a small family (there are three of us and the cottage can easily accommodate four). The adjoining cottage is three bedroomed and together both can cater for a large group as well.

We had a very warm welcome from Kevin, one of the owners, who is extremely helpful.

If you are looking for a base in mid Wales where you can have a bit of quiet in the evenings, then this is the place for you. This is about my fourth stay - obviously we love it.

Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wolf52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

This is my first go at leaving a review of the here so bare with me lol! I have actually stayed at the clochfaen once before in 2008 and both visits have been top notch! Each time I have been with a group of five or more an its never been a problem, and Kevin makes us feel welcome all the time. And the value for money is excellent! Each time when we have arrived Kevin has rung ahead to the pubs to check availability for meals for us then brings out tea and cake etc, and as echoed above the breakfast is amazing! Both times we have gone to our rally at sweet lamb and not need lunch due to the breakfast. And finally the little details really highlight the clochfaens qualities, like mini toothpastes in the bathrooms, slippers in the bedroom and at breakfast there are bucket loads of juices to choose from and more. I hope this review does justice to the clochfaens because it's a real lovely place to stay and I'm from Devon and would travel the 250 miles just for a night away ;-)

Date of stay: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donxster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews