We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (25)
Filter reviews
25 results
Traveller rating
25
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteeped in historymid waleswarm welcomekevinwyecyclingrestored
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 25 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2016

We stayed in the self-catering cottage (North Cottage), which was very warm, clean and tidy. The cottage is situated in the beautiful Mid-Wales countryside, in a lovely quiet spot just outside the village of Llangurig (near the historical town of Llanidloes for local shops to stock-up on food). Our stay was lovely, comfortable, quiet and the cottage was well equipped (the dish washer and washing machine came in very handy). Also, owner Kevin is a lovely chap and always on hand at the main cottage just down the road and happy to help. Recommended for a nice quiet vacation.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank smj747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016

Aubrey's ! What an experience ! A real self-contained hone-from-home. Breakfast just could not have been better. Followed by a 'behind the scenes' tour of the Main House including the ballroom and 'The Kings Bedroom'. Kevin was the perfect host.

Room Tip: Aubreys is a real experience.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grumpy-Old R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2016

You probably can't find a warmer welcome, a better breakfast or quieter night's sleep anywhere in Wales. With a B&B, self catering cottage, or mansion house option (over the years we've enjoyed them all) there's something for everyone and if you just want stabling and a meadow that's now also available. You have the added bonus of knowing that every option for a sustainable future has been employed including their own completely hidden solar farm. There's plenty to do in the area for the active and the interested and some lovely lunch and dinner options in the surrounding towns and villages. It's a 'whole new world' from the 19th century days when my Grandfather worked here.

Room Tip: With such a range of options and a helpful website you can easily make your choice.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2016

I stayed at The Clochfaen for 1 night with 2 work mates whilst we were in the area for work. We were really impressed with the warm welcome and attentive service is offered in the B&B. We were shown around the cottage which was clean and tidy and warm. After about 10 minutes of being here we were brought fresh coffee with cakes and biscuits, which was a lovely. The facilities were brilliant, a well equip bathroom and a lovely Rayburn cast iron stove which provided the heating in the corner of the lounge. The breakfast in the morning was brilliant. There is also free WiFi if you require it.
The owner was really polite and friendly.

I would highly recommend this place to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mikey_P7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinclochfaen, Owner at The Clochfaen, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2016

Mikey thank you for your very kind remarks about our B&B. I hope you get the opportunity to visit again, and see more of the house and surroundings. Kind regards Kevin Hughes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2015

The Clochfaen offers a wide choice of accommodation to suit every preference and person; B&B, self catering cottages or grand and elegant mansion, all set in scenic and serene surroundings. A warm welcome and attentive service is offered in the B&B where we stayed on this and previous occasions. We've also stayed in the cottages and hosted Christmas for 15 fiends and family in the Benson wing. Not to be missed whether you want a base for walking, fishing, riding or visiting the many top tourist attractions in the area.

Stayed: November 2015
1  Thank DCL0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews