We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“cant wait to come and stay”
Review of Red Lion Hotel

Red Lion Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llanidloes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Red Lion Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Llanidloes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 November 2013

looking forward to eating lovley food and supping amazing beer at the red lion tonight again!! the staff are very friendly especially the barman that works there full time. the pub and rooms are very clean and comfortable.......I cant understand all the negative comments on here they must of stayed at another hotel??

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kerzelwurzel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
There are newer reviews for Red Lion Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 20 November 2013

I can't really comment about the accommodation at The Red Lion only about the fantastic food and very friendly staff and customers. We recently bought a caravan near Llanidloes and go into The Lion for Sunday carvery, it's amazing value, also drinks are reasonably priced .All in all a nice Pub' Hotel in a nice location.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geoffholidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We didn't stay at the hotel, but wanted somewhere to eat. We stayed in a camping site nearby and wanted somewhere fairly cheap but filling. The Red Lion was exactly that. We were served our food very quickly and it was so nice. (Amazing cod and chips)! All of our meals, including 2 drinks each, were under ten pounds and as we're used to city prices, that was very, very reasonable! The following day, we were wondering around looking for somewhere else to eat, but ended up back in the Red Lion as the carvery was advertised as £5 per person(!!!!) Although there was a queue, it was worth the wait. It was a well needed carvery and every aspect of the meal was simply delicious. The staff were friendly (served by a young waitress who was very pleasant both days) and the atmosphere was lovely. Would definitely recommend this pub for food and will be visiting again in the future!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mangharad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

A thousand monkeys working at a thousand type writers for one thousand years could not begin to explain how spectacular this place is. From the god like staff to the Michelin star worthy food this humble Hotel has it all. It prospers where others fail.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bixlar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2013

A group of us stayed here for my partners 40th birthday on the 13th July and our stay here was more than adequate. We had a brilliant weekend. The rooms were clean and comfortable and well worth the money. It was very busy when we were there as it was Llandiloes carnival and the weather was fantastic so everybody was out! It was quite noisy as our room was above the pub and overlooking the street but this didn't bother us as we were partying too and we still had a good nights sleep. The staff were friendly and helpful and we had a huge cooked breakfast next morning served at the early time of 8am as they had to get the Sunday carvery on but it was worth it. Don't know what time they serve drinks to at night but after standing at the bar for 5 minutes or so we were told that the bar was closed.....so we went to bed and had a cup of tea!
Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

If you want complete quiet DO NOT go to this b&b!! It is, after all above a pub and a very lively pub at that. The people who work there are very friendly but not in your face, rooms are clean and tidy and prices are reasonable. The food was more than adequate.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Probably not the place to go to for a special occasion however if you just want a quick, tasty Sunday lunch then this cannot be beaten and represents incredible value at just £5 for adults and £4 for children. They offer a Nut Wellington and Veggie gravy if requested. Meat eaters in our group said the quality of the meat was excellent. Arrive early to avoid the queues as this is very popular with locals.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 123David321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChappieUk, Public Relations Manager at Red Lion Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Thank you for your positive review. We do try to offer the best possible Carvery for the price and we pride ourselves on the fact that we have many returning customers week after week. 165 last Sunday to be exact! And having a lot of vegetarian customers, we like to cater well for them also. Kelly. PS we do have many groups that come here for special occasions. We have catered for weddings, anniversaries, birthdays etc etc - we put extra special effort into making it look as good as possible for each individual occasion...just saying ; )

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Llanidloes
7.0 mi away
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
Maesmawr Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Caersws
345 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mount Inn
Mount Inn
#5 of 12 in Llanidloes
41 reviews
0.0 mi away
Unicorn Hotel
Unicorn Hotel
#2 of 12 in Llanidloes
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Trewythen Hotel
Trewythen Hotel
#3 of 12 in Llanidloes
56 reviews
4.5 mi away
The Clochfaen
The Clochfaen
#4 of 12 in Llanidloes
22 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Royal Head
The Royal Head
#7 of 12 in Llanidloes
7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Lion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Lion Hotel

Address: 7 Long Bridge Street, Llanidloes SY18 6EE, Wales
Region: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llanidloes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Llanidloes
Price Range: £30 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a small, family run bed and breakfast. Our price includes breakfast (and a large choice at that). All of our rooms are en-suite and two have a kitchenette. We are in the process of refurbishing the hotel and are hoping for the front facade to be restored in the next few months. Please may I point out that the establishment is on a busy main street and because of the lively pub we have on the ground floor, it can get noisy on the weekends and bank holidays. We have a games room bar on one side of the ground floor and a lounge bar on the other side. We have a 'pub grub' style main menu with some homemade dishes (all clearly pointed out) and we also have a Specials menu. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Red Lion Hotel Llanidloes, Wales - Powys

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing