We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Angel Restaurant, Llanidloes, Central Wales.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Angel

The Angel
Ranked #1 of 22 Restaurants in Llanidloes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$19
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, International, Welsh
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Digital Payments, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Selby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Angel Restaurant, Llanidloes, Central Wales.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

After travelling 10 - 11 miles to find a restaurant we discovered most of Llanidloes was closed - at 6.00pm on a Monday evening! One or two places were too 'pubby' and one was allegedly opening in 30 minutes, but fortunately we found The Angel. The small bar has an excellent selection of real ales, all perfectly kept, and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant looks very new, and the most recent improvements dated back only six months. It is bright, welcoming and comfortable, and the menu is a very good mix of modern and traditional fare, but very little in the way of fish or veggie options. Ample wine list. Very good service indeed, but the biggest surprise was the prices - extremely reasonable. The wireless connection to the chip & pin handset was 'asleep', so we paid cash instead. The Angel is a real gem, and they deserve to succeed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    44
    1
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Llanidloes, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Went for lunch and it was really nice. I had a jacket potato with tuna melt and it was delicious! Very friendly atmosphere and Jake, the young man behind the bar, can't do enough for you. Will definitely go back and recommend to others.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank goldengirl3484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“A Real Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Never disappoints. Good food, excellent real ales and friendly staff and customers. What more can one want or say!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank seenthere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped at The Angels on our way back from Snowdonia. The previous reviews were good which enticed us to try it. The restaurant was full when we arrived, they still had a table a the back. However, we were informed that it would take longer than usual to get rhe food ready as the kitchen was overwhelmed with orders. The starters were absolutely delicious and so was the main dishes. I'm glad I stopped at The Angels and I'd recommend this place well enough.

Helpful?
Thank Isaac B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good honest food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

Had a meal at The Angel last week when visiting relatives in Llanidloes. The Bar and Lounge are comfortable and the Restaurant area of the Inn has just been refurbished and was excellent. The Food was very good being typical 'Pub Grub', tasty and nicely presented. The Staff were very friendly and made you feel welcome. We will definitely visit again when we return to Wales.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobArthur56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Angel also viewed

 

Been to The Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing