We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cafe Bar”
Review of Loaf Coffee Shop

Loaf Coffee Shop
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 14 October 2018

Have eaten here a few times and thoroughly enjoyed their full english breakfast. The place is very clean and tastefully decorated. I have also visited the establishment in the evening and the weekend where it becomes a lively bar with reasonably priced drinks and a friendly atmosphere....would definitely recommend.

Date of visit: October 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gezza-K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2018

The cafe looked quite busy, which would usually be a good sign. However this was not an enjoyable experience. Counter staff were slow to acknowledge my friend who was waiting to order, not even 'I'll be with you in a moment', which would be quite acceptable when busy. The server then went on to chat to a customer who had arrived after us, about feeling and looking so rough, following (it sounded like) a night out. My friend requested that no butter be put on her sandwich, nor utensils with butter on be used, as this would result in her having a seriously adverse reaction. She was told that they couldn't guarantee this. How difficult could it be to use a clean knife to make a sandwich? This might suggest staff are also ignorant of other food allergies. My friend didn't then order anything for herself. Drinks were already ordered, but at that point we really should have left.
When my sandwich arrived, with the garnish of salad (dry, as if left out of the fridge for too long) and coleslaw (mostly onion in a rather watery dressing) there were no napkins or cutlery offered. The chicken mayo sandwich was of very poor quality, and I needed to request extra mayonnaise as it was so dry. Staff were uninterested and we were apalled by their lack of customer service.
The cafe only has a 3 star hygiene score, so had this been clearly visible we would not have even entered.
The cafe apparently doesn't have toilets. (How is that allowed?) Instead, customers are directed to a public loo across the road!
I always tip fairly, even generously when deserved, but this service deserved nothing.

Date of visit: September 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2018

The last time I visited this location was in December 2017, and was pleased with the refurbishment and keeping of the traditional menu. The coffee bar is on the high street and is a parts of Ystrads heritage.

Manager and staff greeted me with a smile and the breakfast was excellent and I must pay tribute to all staff and Daff in the kitchen - well done to all

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2018 via mobile

Called by this quaint village on a Sunday not expecting anything to be open then surprisingly found Loaf coffee shop. What a lovely find.

Staff very pleasant, seating outside too to watch the world go by.

I ordered a latte and fruit cake, the cake was demolished in no time - delicious.

I will definitely be returning here and recommending to others.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Magjin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Lovely place in the day for coffee, cake or lunch. Evening spot for a glass of two of beer or wine . Good friendly service.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Dawn13121301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Loaf Coffee Shop also viewed

Ystradgynlais, Powys
Ystradgynlais, Powys
 
Ystradgynlais, Powys
Penycae, Brecon Beacons National Park
 
Ystradgynlais, Powys
 

Been to Loaf Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing