We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute gem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Breakish
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Strathgorm Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 11 Breakish B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

I've been to Strathgorm several times now, most recently on a mini honeymoon and it has always been fantastic. Alison is a fantastic host, always warm and welcoming into her home (she thinks I'm bonkers but that's a different story...!) The house is lovely and comfortable and there is always home baking waiting when you arrive.

The breakfast you receive in the morning is hot, fresh and not to be missed (and that is coming from someone who doesn't normally eat breakfast!) Roll on September when we'll be back there!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank dave_w81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2014

Was a great choice in the island of Sky.
Very nice house.Nice rooms with amazing view.Bathrooms are good. Mattress ok.
Very friendly owner who offers Tea on arrival and even help with luggage.Location is great as its a bit off main road so its very quite .Great breakfast.
In such locations like Sky i prefer BB.While staying in the towns you may find better hotels as same rate.

Room Tip: Ask one with a view.I don't think you need to pre book any BB even in high season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank amnobenda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

No words can describe the greatness that is Alison, her husband and Strathgorm. It's better than home away from home! From the incredible breakfasts and views to the welcomed kindness of the hosts, Strathgorm is my fondest memory of Scotland.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michele G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Whatever the views (and they're magnificent) and whatever the breakfast (and it was delicious) the star attraction of this B&B is Alison!

From the moment she greeted us on our arrival to the time of our departure it was obvious, from her friendliness, attention to detail and constant willingness to make the stay perfect, that Alison enjoys running Strathgorm.

We chatted with her over tea and cake in an airy sitting room with a view to die for, were offered any advice we needed to make the most of our visit and even given a flask, tea, coffee and home made cake to take on our tour of Skye!

Our room was comfortable and well appointed and our breakfast was delicious - excellent quality (best black pudding we've tasted!) and plenty to eat and drink.

Now, I must say that we value TripAdvisor reviews, expect honesty and feel there would be no point in posting a review which failed to help in every way ...

Given that, we must point out that there are only two tables at breakfast - seating 2 and 4 - so we had to share. This isn't something we're used to or comfortable with and it made for a rather awkward breakfast experience - sharing with strangers feeling obliged to interact with them and feeling unable to chat with each other.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Meldrew1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Alison offers a wonderful place to stay. I can't fault it. I even left something behind and Alison kindly offered to post it back to me! The rooms are great- Very comfortable and clean. A really warm welcome from Alison with cups of tea and tips for where to visit and eat. The location and amenities is great. The best breafast i've had in a B&B! Everything you would want!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2014holiday2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

"It's a beautiful Place to stay in Allison offers the most comfortable Bed and Best Breakfast!!! We were 3 couples and stayed there for 2 nights. It was very warm and the view from the rooms were amazing. The rooms were so clean and pretty that i was amazed and asked Allison to give me tips... On very first day we where travelling from Cardiff so it was a long journey and Allison offered us with refreshing evening tea and biscuits, She then took us to a restaurant so that we can have our take away dinners. The other morning we had the best breakfast the menu was full of options and the quality was so fine we end up having the most delicious and heavy breakfast of all time. Toilets were superbly clean,fresh towels,ear buds, air freshener,Hair drier you get whatever you ask for. On the last day Allison and Nick dropped us to Broadford bus stand. Thanks to Allison and Nick we had a beautiful stay at the isle and the memories we will cherish forever!!! "

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ankita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Those who know me may expect the negative points at the beginning, but there weren‘t any. Alison offers „Comfortable Bed & Best Breakfast“ and let your stay really be a holiday. Based really quiet with a wonderful view, your well-appointed room is the starting point to enjoy the Isle of Skye. The best B&B we‘ve ever had. 11 out of 10 points.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Strathgorm Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strathgorm Bed and Breakfast

Address: 15 Upper Breakish, Breakish IV42 8PY, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Skye > Breakish
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Breakish
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Strathgorm Bed And Breakfast Breakish, Isle Of Skye

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing