We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful accommodation, kindest hosts and fabulous food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mas del Joncar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mas del Joncar
Certificate of Excellence
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful accommodation, kindest hosts and fabulous food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2013

We're just returned from a cycling trip arranged by Catalan Adventures and this was the accommodation for 4 nights of our trip. Anna and Miquel the owners were welcoming and could not have been more helpful. While dinner was not included in our package, the walk into town and the restaurant area was a good 15-20 minutes. Doesn't sound like much, however when you've been on a bike for 7 hours the last thing you want to do is leave (also wind and rain). If you ask Miquel in the morning, he will cook for you whatever he is making that evening. Let me tell you, this guy can cook! And he even made special meals for our daughter who is a vegetarian. Absolutely "dream about" food. Yes, the facilities are basic, but if you want a place to stay while you are gone all day hiking or biking in this beautiful part of the world (near the beach and the mountains) this is it.

Room Tip: We were in the newly built cabin on the property. If you have a large group (5 or so) you could tak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillytraveler5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    28
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
10
61
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Arrived later than expected, when already dark and were unable to gain access as we had come to the back of the house.Owners were friendly and helpful and breakfast was good. Facilities are basic but the house is charming and the setting would be lovely in the summer.Our room had a nice balcony and the bed was comfortable. Overall a pleasant enough stay, priced appropriately but I doubt we would stay again.

Room Tip: Specifically ask for a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank starlightlily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Beautifully rebuilt home, thoughtfully designed. Food was fabulous. We were there during a sandstorm, so couldn't take advantage of the wonderful deck and it wasn't warm enough for the pool. Great walk to the beach.

Don't believe the "shabby" and "rickety" comments -- think he is reviewing the wrong place.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

Lovely house but really a bit shabby. Towels weren't changed and beds weren't made for 4 days. Breakfast room was a squeeze and needs re-arranged. Nice bread and freshly squeezed juice but not as good as I would have expected. Furniture rickety and almost collapsing. Rooms are noisy if anybody is next door especially with a small child. It is in a nice location just ten minutes walk into the town for restaurants etc.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scot0044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, UK
Level Contributor
279 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2012

We stayed here for four nights in April while on a cycling holiday. The owners were freindly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very clean but lacked a little in finishing touches. Some tea making facilities in the room would have been nice, as would a plug for the sink and a shower door that was complete. Tea and coffee and other drinks were available at all times though in the dining room including beer and wine in a fridge run on an honesty basis. The rooms could do with some sound proofing as there were some noisy guests staying on one night and we had to enjoy sharing their conversations from the common area outside our room till quite late. We were also unfortunate to have birds nesting in the eaves of our room which woke us up at 7am each morning. Having said that, we enjoyed our stay, the grounds are large and well kept, and included a pool which we did not use but would have been welcome if were staying during a hotter period. Our room had a large private balcony, which made a lovely sitting out area (wind permitting). There is some lovely countryside around the accomodation including nature reserves. An ideal spot if you are touring the area but probably not for a longer stay. The local town really has nothing to offer, the bars and resaurants we visited were generally very poor. We ate in the hotel one night and Miguel provided an excellent meal, including home grown ingredients, at a reasonable price, including wine. The breakfast selection was a little limited but all good quality.

Room Tip: The room with the balcony was very good (there is only one with a private balcony)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lewis_England_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
47 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

We stayed here for one night in August 2011. The location is slightly 'out of the way' for the town but still walkable. The property has a nice big garden and a small swimming pool (which unfortunately seemed not to be filtering properly while we were there, which did not make for a great swim).
The room was large, well appointed, quiet and spotlessly clean. The dinner was excellent and easily equal to restuarant meals that we'd had in Catalonia for twice the price.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Londoner27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

We are on a walking tour in the north east corner of Spain and this was our stay on the second night. It is outside of the town surrounded by farm land and orchards. The welcome was warm, even effusive. The room and bath are large, comfy and modern. We had dinner which was like dining in a friend's home. Breakfast was a veritable feast of locally cured meats, local cheeses, local jams, homemade yogurt, bread, rolls and pastry. Wonderful coffee and a wide lens vista out the window. We'd like to remain here, but there are miles to traverse today. Hola!

Room Tip: I think it's hard to find a bad room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronacom13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Pere Pescador
6.1 mi away
L'Escala Resort
L'Escala Resort
#5 of 6 in L'Escala
4.0 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
15.5 mi away
Aparthotel Golf Beach
10.6 mi away
Mas Torrencito
Mas Torrencito
#1 of 1 in Vilademuls
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Mas del Mar
Mas del Mar
#7 of 12 in Sant Pere Pescador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
14.3 mi away
Camping Playa Brava
0.8 mi away
Can Mas
Can Mas
#2 of 6 in Sant Pere Pescador
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas del Joncar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas del Joncar

Property: Mas del Joncar
Address: Cami del Joncar, 15, 17470 Sant Pere Pescador, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Sant Pere Pescador
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Sant Pere Pescador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Mas del Joncar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tourism rural (B&B) in Sant Pere Pescador (Costa Brava-Spain). Our house is located inside a natural park, next to a river and near the beach. Come and enjoy the nature, culture and gastronomy. We also offer a wide range of activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, Ebookers, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Mas del Joncar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Del Joncar Sant Pere Pescador, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing