We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Places that matter”
Review of Mas del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mas del Mar
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Places that matter”
Reviewed 11 October 2013 via mobile


Depending on what you like… you will find it. Is it sports? Is it natural beauty? Is it a place of solace? Is it reflection? Is it friendly people? Is it a crazy owner infatuated with geraniums? This place gave us all we needed. A 17th century “masia” in the middle of Costa Brava, Catalunya… the only one remaining on the beach, next to a river, next to an apple field, under the wonderful weather Spain can offer.
From the magical suite we stayed in you overlook the beauty of the Roses bay. You can see the hundreds of collorful kites kitesurfers paint the sky with.
The swimming pool that overlooks a 16th century olive tree gives you that last relaxing sweetwater bath after a long day at the beach. And if you dare swim in the salty natural lake lost in the middle of acres of grass fields… you are welcome!
If ever in this area of Spain, I would definitely come back!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    11
    5
    7
    21
See reviews for
39
55
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Our stay in Mas del Mar was magnificent. We are an english couple who went to Barcelona on vacation and decided to spend the weekend off at the catalan coast. This classic catalan "masia" was surrounded by wilderness and farms. The hotel had its own pond and swimming pool and a porche from where you could marvel at the wonderful view while having breakfast, dinner, supper or simply some tea. Inside, there was an impressive modern and cozy decoration. Our stay there was very romantic as it was a very peaceful place where we could have time for ourselves. We would always go to the beach which is 5 minutes away on foot. Some people we met at Mas del Mar engaged in water sports like wind or kite-surfing since the wind conditions on that area are perfect for these. I would recomend this hotel to both couples and families who want to avoid places crowded with tourism.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are excellent but if you are willing to pay a bit more I would recommend stayig in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Beautiful 19th century family house, with plenty of space and very well decorated.
4 of us (girls) stayed there only for one night and LOVED every single part of the house. Superb room with very comfy beds, and well designed bathroom (shower&bath).
Location wise is a little "tricky" to find, but once you find it, the sight could not be better...beautiful and blue beach is only 200mts away from the house; really cool beach, with plenty of kite surfers, and trendy people. Not the typical beach in Costa Brava at all...The house has also a swimming pool if you don´t want to walk to the beach.
Excellent staff service and lovely breakfast in the morning served!
Recommend it 100% to anyone who wants to have the perfect holiday in Costa Brava!

Room Tip: ask to stay in the suite if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Almudenasgp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This is by far one of the most beautiful, spiritual and incredible places to stay. The 18th century house, is set on a rare location in the middle of a nature preserve. The tranquility is combined with access to both a unpopulated spectacular beach and a protected nature preserve.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gms2155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sant Pere Pescador
6.0 mi away
Vistabella
Vistabella
#2 of 36 in Roses
435 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hostal Spa Empuries
Hostal Spa Empuries
#1 of 6 in L'Escala
625 reviews
6.8 mi away
Can Miquel
Can Miquel
#2 of 6 in L'Escala
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Maritim
Maritim
#13 of 36 in Roses
369 reviews
4.7 mi away
Hotel Canet
Hotel Canet
#1 of 3 in Castello d'Empuries
131 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mas del Joncar
Mas del Joncar
#6 of 11 in Sant Pere Pescador
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mas del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mas del Mar

Property: Mas del Mar
Address: Cami de les Goles s/n Cami, 17470 Sant Pere Pescador, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Sant Pere Pescador
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 11 Speciality Lodging in Sant Pere Pescador
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mas has been restored for inauguration in 2005 keeping the original outside look while giving it warm interior decoration. There is the possibility of staying there for 90€ in a double bed with private bath or for 130€-150€ in a suite (double bedroom, private bath, plus private living space with additional bed possible) or for 90€ in a double bed with private bath. Each room has its own peculiar feel and charm. In addition, there is a wide porch open to the south, plenty of terrace space, over an acre of grass, a 300 feet pond to swim and a game room including billiard and fuzz ball table. Breakfast will be served for 10€ per person. Sales tax (8% IVA) needs to be added to all these prices. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mas del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mas Del Mar Sant Pere Pescador, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing