We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“views of the lake”
Review of Hotel Lake Brunner

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Lake Brunner
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Reviewed 4 November 2013

great views, comfy bed and great value for money.
They also have moana hotel right in front so had dinner there complimented by a rather nice aussie shiraz.
Hosts Robyn and Phillip know how to look after their guests.
Walked around lake in the morning, beautiful.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Avidtraveller1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 30 October 2013

Arriving at Lake Brunner was fantastic and the Hotel was easy to find in the delightful Moana village. The newly renovated hotel is a gem and Linda that greeted us was so friendly and had a wonderful array of information available on the local walks and activities. Our room was spotlessly clean and I don’t think you could beat the views out over the Lake and surrounding mountains. We recommend the restaurant and Bar for both the service and food and the warm atmosphere from the friendly locals. For a real kiwi Experience.

Room Tip: No swimming pool or fitness centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2013

We only stayed one night . Arrived and could not find reception . You actually have to go into the bar area . There still remains a lot of work to do , nearly fell over in the shingle driveway . The cleaning lady was on the verandah , what a welcome .She stated to me "I just get finished cleaning up and someone else arrives" To which I replied "that is the nature of your job is it not" Nice views to the lake , you can see the back of the hotel like everyone else says and putting up trellis would probably help . We were out all day and came back to the hotel for a few drinks . The menu is pretty basic, all deep fried things . We took takeaways back to our room as we were plagued with this cleaning lady again ..very loud in the bar .Its not bad but I would have hated to have paid the full 145 dollars especially when there is not even a hair dryer provided or power point in the bathroom to plug in my own and such an old fashioned television set . I have no idea what you get if you are paying the higher prices , would be wise to check it out thoroughly It was pretty average . On a brighter note there is a lovely place to eat further down the road I think it was the "station Café" had an excellent meal .The other thing I nearly forgot about was the bright lights on outside the units .The curtains being quite thin . I do need a darkened room in which to sleep .

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wittsNz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Clean and comfortable room with nice lake views. The adjoining pub is a bit basic and food there is pretty basic too. But the motel units are very smart, warm and quiet and staff are friendly and helpful. On a tranz alpine train trip this is a quiet little village to stay and the resort is in a good location, a short walk from the station.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Velma2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

In the back of beyond lays Moana which we drove through on our way to the West Coast. Stunning views of Lake. We stayed at the Moana Hotel, if you can call it that. A run down old "boozer" with some very dodgy looking staff, service crap. Menu fried fried fried. Not welcoming at all. Place could do with a good clean, unlikely the staff know what cleaning is. Not a place we would go to again if we could possibly help it! Rooms cheaply furnished, noisy from the "pub" downstairs. Avoid it if you dont want to waste your money!

Room Tip: Drive to Greymouth instead would be our suggestion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stacey j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Very disappointing experience. Abysmal lack of facilities in our room...half a toilet roll provided, no lid on the toilet seat, no iron or ironing board, no wardrobe..to name but a few. We had plenty of other accommodation to compare this to having been travelling in the South Island for 17 days. Certainly not up to the standards experienced else where!

Room Tip: This impossible to do as we had such a poor experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kate and Murray P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

We stayed in unit 7 over the new year period recently. I am 30 weeks pregnant, we have a 4 year old and after reading the reviews on here i was worried it would be a sleepless stay. When we arrived we found a clean, warm spacious unit. The pub in situated in front of the units but the noise is minimal, no way near enough to keep anyone awake at night? New years eve night the hotel staff made sure the people at the pub and the noise was kept under control. There was no noise whatsoever from the fridge or hotel generator in our unit. There is also full cell phone reception. It rained for most of our time there so alot of our time was spent in our unit, the view of the lake from the lounge area in our unit was beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leah f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moana
16.2 mi away
Gables Motor Lodge
Gables Motor Lodge
#4 of 20 in Greymouth
367 reviews
21.2 mi away
Awatuna Homestead
Awatuna Homestead
#1 of 1 in Awatuna
56 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#502 of 1,064 in South Island
24 reviews
16.1 mi away
Coleraine
Coleraine
#2 of 20 in Greymouth
347 reviews
16.3 mi away
Scenicland Motels
Scenicland Motels
#1 of 20 in Greymouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lake Brunner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lake Brunner

Address: 34 Ahau Street | Lake Brunner, Moana, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Moana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Moana
Price Range: £61 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Lake Brunner 3.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Lake Brunner Hotel you are guaranteed a warm West Coast welcome that perfectly completes its comfortable and modern accommodaton. Situated on the Moana Village rise, affords all our guests unparalleled and spectacular views of Lake Brunner and the surrounding landscape.Choose from a selection of elite apartments, fully self contained with views of Lake Brunner. The Lake Brunner Hotel hosts a restaurant and bar with separate lounge and dinning areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Lake Brunner reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing