We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed with Reviews - feels like a high end back packers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointed with Reviews - feels like a high end back packers”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked this place because of the high reviews, the accomodation feels like it is an after thought plonked between the carpark and golf course. They were definitely not normal size suites with a communal TV room, it felt more like a high end back packers. We ended up leaving paying double accomodation in which both Managers told us we would not be able to find anywhere else, this was not the case and we throughly enjoyed our stay at the Lake Brunner Resort in which the rooms sizes are over double the space with lake views! If you are just looking for a place to crash the night that is cheap or you like Golf you will love this place, if you want a relaxing time exploring Lake Brunner I suggest you look elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jacinda2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
42
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florianopolis, SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

Nice and quiet place, you can take your breakfast (Continental) looking the Golf Course :). Comfortable bed and good shower. Parking is available. The owners are very kind! I strongly recommend this Motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CristinaFloripa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2014

Located in peaceful, pleasant surroundings this was an ideal 'getaway' for the six nights that we stayed. We cannot speak highly enough of Craig and Stacey's hospitality and their willingness to go the 'extra mile' to make our stay memorable and enjoyable. The standard of the rooms in terms of both presentation and cleanliness was truly exemplary. We would recommend 'Lake Brunner Accommodation and Golf Course' to anybody wanting to stay in that area. The attached golf course is an added bonus. It is immaculately groomed like the rest of the property. Very highly recommended.

Room Tip: All rooms are of the same high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frances W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Never stayed on a golf course before but this place is exceptional quality. The rooms are cosy but wonderfully clean, modern and bright and the outlook is brilliant. Craig and Stacey were the perfect hosts and couldn't do enough for us. The BBQ is brilliant so you can cook a full meal if you want (no in-room cooking facility). The local shop has limited supplies but there is also a great restaurant in town as well as a good bar. The lake is beautiful and well worth spending a few days here. Didn't try the golf but you get a free round if you stay. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the golf course and try the BBQ out
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed at Lake Brunner only overnight unfortunately. What a great place to base yourself for a couple of days of exploring the local area's. It was exceptionally clean and really cosy. The host's Pam and Graham were just great and couldn't do enough to make our stay one to remember. They advised us on where to go for dinner, which was the local pub with beautiful views over the lake to the mountain range's surrounding the district.
We had the Continental breakfast before heading off the next morning to Franz Joseph which was great.
Overall it was terrific and a great place to stay between Christchurch and the rugged West Coast.
Thank you Carmen and Bev for accommodating us and we look forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Markyb55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChCh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

What a lovely place. A beautiful outlook. Didn't want to leave. Very modern & clean. Had a fabulous weekend. The weather was awesome so the golf was a hit. Pam & Graham were just lovely host. Very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

We stayed one night here in this lovely quiet accommodation on a country golf course. The owner was so welcoming and helpful, and also suggested a good,nearby lakeside restaurant for dinner. The room was modern and comfortable and we had use of a pleasant guest lounge for our continental breakfast.

Room Tip: End room by the car park area
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret12Nelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Moana
0.2 mi away
Lake Brunner Country Motel Complex
0.8 mi away
Lake Brunner Resort
Lake Brunner Resort
#1 of 2 in Moana
4.0 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
3.3 mi away
Aldamere Lodge
Aldamere Lodge
#1 of 3 in Moana
5.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.9 mi away
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
Otira Stagecoach Hotel
#8 of 17 in Westland National Park (Te Wahipounamu)
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
6.6 mi away
Lake Brunner Lodge
Lake Brunner Lodge
#666 of 1,017 in South Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
15.6 mi away
Theatre Royal Hotel
Theatre Royal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kumara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course

Property: Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course
Address: 2046 Arnold Valley Road, Moana 7872, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > West Coast Region > Moana
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Moana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course offers modern studio suites. A superior accommodation option with a 9-hole rural golf course – Opened 2008. Set amidst a scenic backdrop of the Southern Alps and stunning native forest.Peaceful and serene, Lake Brunner is the perfect place for relaxation – an idyllic base for your West Coast experience. Enjoy the views form your studio suite either overlooking the 9-hole country golf course or an outlook of beautiful native bush. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lake Brunner Accommodation & Golf Course reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing