We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best meal of 2012”
Review of Les Airelles

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Les Airelles
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2013 via mobile

We stayed only for one night on route south. Which was a disappointment based upon the meals we enjoyed on a Demi pension basis which offered any of the menus offered. However, the room whilst spotlessly clean, well decorated and comfortable was unusually warm, which was a surprise as the weather was not that warm. On a hot summer evening the room would had been unbearable!

The welcome was correct and friendly and the service excellent and we would recommend the hotel very highly if you intend to use the restaurant.

One unusual fact about the guests on the evening we stayed was that almost everyone was from the UK.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Les Airelles
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2013

We have stayed twice at the Airelles now (our visits were about 9 months apart) and on both occasions we have been absolutely delighted with our stay. Our room overlooked the garden, was spacious and very well appointed.

The menus are reasonably priced and all offer a wide range of local produce. For ease, we opted for demi-pension (and find it is always a good test of the value a hotel places on its guests) and were amazed to find that it includes one of the most extensive menus. Every course was delicious and locally sourced. The wine list was carefully selected.

The staff, too, are courteous and helpful.

There is parking at the hotel and you only have to walk beneath the archway to find yourself in the main street of the town, with its wide range of individual shops and impressive church. We are already looking forward to our next visit to the Airelles.

Room Tip: We asked if we could have a large room and we had room no. 107 on both of our visits
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank R0b28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed here a few nights with our youngest child on an extended stop-over on route back to Calais. We should have planned for more time as there are some lovely places to visit in the area, don't miss Clos du Bourg, at Saint Saire if you like Calvados.
The room was good, clean and big enough for us all [designed for couple plus one]. We had the all inclusive room and meal rate which was good value for money as the food was excellent with a good variety and excellent wine menu. Breakfast was an adequate 'continental' style which was fine for us. We assumed the staff were local and very friendly, nothing was too much trouble. I would agree the parking is tight, we arrived in time to use the spaces at the back but there would be no issues with parking at the rear of the hotel.
If we were in the region again a return visit would definitely be planned.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cogswells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We had read good things about Les Airelles and Neufchatel en Bray is undoubtedly a good place to stop on the long haul through France to Calais.

I think the standard of the rooms must be variable for some have praised this hotel but our room was not really up to standard. The bedroom itself was adequate, but an extra bed had been put in it which blocked the entrance to bathroom, and the room is placed next to the vent which sucks the hot air out of the kitchen. If you want an early night, you might find it hard to sleep.

The bathroom really wasn't up to scratch. The WC had had a small cubicle created for it, but it jutted into the bathroom space and was very cramped. There was no provision to stop the shower water spraying all over the floor and more worryingly tiles were falling from the wall. Perhaps they don't care about damp.

None the less, when all fell quiet, we slept reasonably well.

The restaurant is certainly a step up from this. Some reviewers have spoken of Michelin star ambitions here. It certainly isn't that good, but the cooking is better than competent and the menu changes regularly. The kitchen suffers from the every plate should have a slice of cucumber and half a cherry tomato syndrome, but otherwise we enjoyed our meals here. The wine list is good and I especially recommend the Filliatreau Saumur Chamigny Vielles Vignes.

I think the rooms are reasonable value for money, though it will depend which one you get. The restaurant is certainly good for a small sleepy town.

Room Tip: Ask if it has been recently upgraded
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HighgateExigeant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2012

This is the 3rd time at this hotel and is an ideal stop over on a journey to the south of France. Rooms are clean & tidy and the restaurant is good. Could do with a car park though & can be a little tricky to find first time. Pricewise probably a touch on the top side.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank morristwelve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

The images don't really do the hotel justice. Very clean, very comfortable beds (apart from the pillows, which are very small!) and bathroom facilities with a hairdryer included (there is no shower, only bath with separate attachment). However, the best part is the restaurant. Very good service, helpful and english speaking. Fantastic meals that cater for all tastes. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms facing onto the road behind the main high street have the best views - the other side of the c...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missonis45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Loved the atmosphere of this small hotel. Just off the market square and in a central position in the town. Loved listening to the church bells tolling and its people bustling about their daily lives. The rooms are very clean and the bed linen crisp and fresh. The downside to this hotel is that in the bedrooms there is no air conditioning, no ceiling fans, no fans; this makes it so very difficult to be comfortable and impossible to sleep in the heat of the summer which is such a shame. Also there aren't any lifts and although the staff are very friendly and helpful having to transport suitcases up 2 flights of stairs when you are hot and tired, well.... The restaurant of the hotel is well worth a visit but beware and book in advance as it is used by the locals and soon get filled up which is a testament to the delicious food on offer. The breakfast is a buffet style, very fresh. The breakfast room is very clean.

Room Tip: The first floor rooms overlooking the courtyard seemed to be bigger.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Neufchatel en Bray
0.1 mi away
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
Hotel Du Grand Cerf
#2 of 2 in Neufchatel en Bray
87 reviews
9.5 mi away
Forges Hotel
Forges Hotel
#1 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
988 reviews
9.4 mi away
La Paix
La Paix
#2 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Hotel Le Continental
Hotel Le Continental
#4 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
102 reviews
9.5 mi away
Hotel Le Saint Denis
Hotel Le Saint Denis
#3 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
46 reviews
9.5 mi away
Sofhotel
Sofhotel
#5 of 5 in Forges-les-Eaux
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Les Airelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Les Airelles

Address: 2 Passage Michu, 76270 Neufchatel en Bray, France
Region: France > Normandy > Haute-Normandie > Seine-Maritime > Neufchatel en Bray
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Neufchatel en Bray
Price Range: £56 - £64 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Les Airelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Les Airelles Hotel Neufchatel En Bray

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing