We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff a yummy food”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Living Colours Dive Resort
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

living colours dive resort was satisfying. the food was never a disappointment and fresh bananas and cookies are always available. the beds where a bit hard and it could get a bit hot in the night. also if you hate bugs this is not a place for you but we didn't mind. the coral was amazing and we were extremely stunned by the amount of sea turtles. Diving was beautiful although there was some current but the staff where very good at pointing out little critters

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Calle_wagenaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Living Colours Dive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2014

Great Resort, very good food, and very good Diving center. Bungalows are very comfortable , and very spacy . a very quiet place (no chickens which - in indonesia - is so rare! Diving in Bunaken is à must, don't miss it! The living Colours diving team was very kind with us, for our first dive expérience .

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Céline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Living Colours resort has a great location near many of the Bunaken dive spots and there are great views from the level of the accommodation further up the hill. I live in Jakarta so I am mainly looking for dive locations with direct flights - this is one of them in the sense that you fly directly to Manado and then transfer to the resort within a few hours.

The resort is run professionally and friendly by Mia and the team. I was received at the airport and transferred via Living Colours' car and driver, and their boat. Check-in and briefing was prompt and effortless.

The bungalows are nice, spacious and clean. Mine did not have a fan or A/C but that was not a big issue. As a neat extra feature there are hammocks on the terraces and I made good use of mine when relaxing after the dives.

Good, fresh food is served at the dining house with great views over the sea. The use of two large main tables generates a social, communal atmosphere, which was good for me as I travelled alone.

The diving was excellent. Because Living Colours have been in Bunaken for so long the dive guides and the staff are totally familiar with the dive sites and they are happy to accommodate guest wishes (big fish, muck diving, etc.).

Would I come back? Definitely!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jd583
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I visited Living Colours for the first time 2009 and fell in love with the place immediately. Diving is very well-organized and the guides are extremely good in spotting things. Rental gear is good quality, one of the best I’ve seen in several dive resorts I’ve visited around the world. The beautiful reefs still astonish me time after time, and the best part is that you can dive here for years and you will still find new things. After all, Bunaken lies in the heart of Coral Triangle - area with highest marine biodiversity.

The staff is very friendly and it’s amazing how they remember all of their guests from years behind. They also make everything to make sure that people enjoy their stay in Living Colors. If something needs to be fixed they will do it immediately. Food is very good and they have improved the menu over the years as well with more variability, more fruits and so on. The bungalows that are located on top of small hill have a great view and especially I like the mornings when the first thing you see is the beautiful sea over the mangroves. The showers have hot water, although it takes some time to figure out how the gas heater works but the staff will help you if needed.

Sure Bunaken is covered with rainforest and along come the animals, some don’t like the big insects (to my opinion they are just fantastic creatures) but they are completely harmless and the mosquito nets make sure that they stay out of your bed. Thank you again for everything! So while writing I’ve already booked my next trip to Living Colours and I can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank essi_havula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2014

My husband and I stayed at Living Colours Dive Resort from the 29th January - 7th February 2014.

Dive equipment and guides:
Very good

Food:
OK, but really missed the opportunity to order (buy) egg. pancakes, a shake or some fresh fruit. It was possible to have semi-dry biscuits and overripe bananas.

Accommodation:
The immediate impression upon arrival was quite good, BUT -
• It was far from clean. Dirty along the walls. Mosquito net dirty.
• When water was used in the washbasin there was a smell of sewage.
• Hot water comes from a gas heater. You have to fight the heater every time you want a bath – and then the water was too hot.
• Nice big porch, which could not be used because the ants had occupied the furniture
• The water came in through the roof during a heavy rainstorm - fortunately not over the bed.

As we did the payment and checkout we told them about the smell of sewage and the leaky roof. Naively I thought that they beat some of the cost. No, it seemed almost as if Mia took it as a personal insult.
When Living Colors Dive Resort wants to be a resort of high standard and we had to pay 50 Euro p.p./night (low season) it is referred to above absolutely not good enough.

Overall - a big disappointment and I really don’t understand that so many have notified Living Colors Dive Resort as 'excellent'!
There’s really room for improvement!
IT'S NOT WORTH IT!

If we come back to Bunaken we will definitely not stay at Living Colors Dive Resort .

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ghita B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2014

We just returned from a combined trip to Bunaken and Raja Ampat. This included our third stay in the Living Colours Dive Resort on Bunaken Island. As always we enjoyed seeing all our friends and diving in the wonderful reefs of the Bunaken National Park.

The stay at LC was nice and enjoyable. The bungalows are comfortable and still well kept. Aldy and his team in the kitchen produce good meals and there is always plenty.

If you plan to stay in LC it is important to know, that the resort is located on a hill, so you have to do a couple steps from the beach. On the other hand you are rewarded with a wonderful view and a nice breeze in the evening. The beach is located behind a belt of mangroves, which are protected, so it might not be the ideal place for a beach holiday. It is known that Bunaken is somtimes hit by plastic garbage coming from Manado (a big city and the starting point to bunaken) the locals do what they can and especially after the big floods in Manado they have done a big job cleaning the beaches.

So why should I go to Bunaken and Living Colours? FOR DIVING, MEETING GREAT PEOPLE, FAMOUS BEACH PARTYS and to ENJOY YOURSELF.

As for ourselves, we will be back for a fourth stay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rolf S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Thank you Jaska, Mia, Ali and Heini ...and whole smiling staff of the Living Colours dive resort. This was our fifth time and we are already looking forward to visit you again. After diving around the world this is our favourite location, still.

Hidden behind the protective mangroves it's is a real hide-away. The whole set up, both down on the beach (Safety Stop bar, library/relaxing corner and diving facilities) and up on the hill (restaurant, bungalowes), is well designed and beautifully embedded among the tropical forest of the Bunaken island. Yes, there are few steps to climb on your way up to the restaurant and bungalows with a beautiful view over mangroves and the Manado bay, which is great and keeps us moving a bit - after all, everyone needs a bit of excersice on holiday as well. And no worries, everything heavy is carried for you.

On top of the fact that Bunaken is almost in the center of worlds marine biodiversity, this is a unique location on the whole 8 km3 island - a bit apart from others and with all major ecosystems of the tropical sea within a swimming distance. Just take your mask and fins and enjoy: mangrove forest is amazing to discover during the high tide with all its inhabitants, including shore crabs, mudskippers, snake eels, baby batfish, cardinalfish and many others (and during the low tide you can simply walk the beach and in shallow water ponds to find shame faced crab or a mantis shrimp). A bit further out is a dense sea grass meadow. Plenty of starfish, clams, snails and all forms of juvenile fish there. Few kicks more and you'll meet first corals, microatols surrounded with fish, and finally you reach the house reef and it's epic wall that disappears into the blue. Great for the ones who do not SCUBA dive at all but want to do some serious snorkeling.

In Bunaken you can enjoy the whole range of marine ecosystems. Pictoresque reefs, both walls and slopes, lagoons, mangroves and sea grass ...and good news for muck divers: there is plenty of great sites to study silty sea floors and their strage inhabitants. Lembeh is of course great, but Bunaken is not to be underestimated at all. And night diving is simply great: we've seen far more life here than for example in waters of West Papua. From this corner of the island you have ideal access to both mangroves, sea grass, reefs and muck-sites, including Manado wreck.

Diving boats are great for day trips. In Living Colors they are traditional Indonesian boats that are well adapted also to occasinally rough seas. For diving they are perfect: enough space and easy to operate. Easy access to water and back. There is both shade and places to enjoy sun between the dives. And smiling DM's did look after all equipment you forgot! But the best part is that you can set your foot on bare ground after dives and enjoy space and rainforest sounds around you.

We've always had nice food and service here. Everything works and if it didn't it was always solved sooner or later. Atmosphere is very relaxed, helps you get on the mood as well.

Therefore, I can only rate you as excellent. Thanks guys.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarkusDernjatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.1 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
0.8 mi away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 16 in Bunaken Island
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
1.8 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
178 reviews
0.5 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Living Colours Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Living Colours Dive Resort

Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Living Colours Dive Hotel Bunaken Island
Living Colours Dive Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing