We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great diving and experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Two Fish Divers Bunaken

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great diving and experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Over Chinese New Year 2014, we stayed for 5 days in Bunaken - lucky with the weather as it was really nice unlike the previous weeks, thus full use was made of the pool. Our 5 year old fully enjoyed playing with the owners 2 children, as well as coming out snorkeling on the reefs.
Diving was very well organised and briefed - one guide to the 2 of us for most of the time, allowing us ther freedom to dive a bit deeper, but alos spotting a large array of unusual (generally macro) life.

Room Tip: cottages facing pool are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

339 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    205
    96
    17
    16
    5
See reviews for
25
112
99
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

It is a very good resort, comfortable bungalows with brand-new mattresses, anti-mosquito electric devices (no need for a mosquito net), electricity 24/24, HOT water, cleaned every day; very good food; diving excellent with especially designed boats, excellent guides, new material(when you hire it), staff are all helpful and smiling, and the price is very reasonable.

Room Tip: The bungalows all surround a central swimming pool and are separate but still not very far from one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We came here for my PADI open water diver course. We left with 3 certificates, extra days added to our stay in Bunaken. Who is to blame, you might ask?

First of all - the location, although some might miss seeing some more sea from their bungalows, i'd honestly say its one of the prime locations on the island - while in Bunaken, we walked the other coast, to find it covered in all sorts of litter and mess. Can't tell you how happy we were to choose TFD.

Secondly - the dive staff - if you want to learn something about diving - TFD is the place for that. Dion is one incredible instructor, so were Sandy and Hiro. They even offer FREE twinset and sidemount tryouts!

Thirdly - The equipment is almost new, in peak condition. I guess that adds some sort of extra safety for your dives.

The pool - awesome and big, if you're just bored of the salts or want to take a fast dip. Or read a book nearby. Sadly they cut a huge coconut tree by the pool.

The rooms - modest, but clean and the showers are hot. The beds were fine too.

The food - honestly - we were afraid after reading some reviews and me being picky about my food options. But the food was fine, not boring at all over 10 days of stay. It's less spicy than in Manado, but a bowl of fresh sambal was always there, waiting for the ones that need some of the extra fire in their meal. Apparently the management does read the reviews and they DO adjust to the opion. Thumbs up!

THANK YOU TFD for incredible time and all the new friends we've met.
Hey TWO FISH DIVERS, your're best in Bunaken! Keep it up!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creepinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed in early January for the Open Water diver course and loved it! The diving was amazing, and the staff at Two Fish were friendly and helpful beyond standard. The food was tasty and healthy and the room was comfortable. In particular, our dive instructor, Sandy, was outstanding. She was very knowledgable and happily answered all the questions we had (which were a lot -- I was nervous!). I hope to one day make it back. Thank you for the fantastic experience, Two Fish!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hilljess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisboa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We stay at Two fish divers Bunaken from 1 jan - 9 jan 2014
We loved the atmosphere almost loke a family.
Diving is soberb, with a guide only for us (thanks rolli)
we stayed on deluxe cottage, clean and spacious.
Very nice walk to the bunaken village (only 20 min from resort), and tanjung parigi (45 min from resort).
Thanks Tina and Nigel, Please keep the resort like it is.

Luis e Paula

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmbr83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utah
Level Contributor
144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

We had mixed feelings about this resort and swayed between rating it two or three stars. Everything seemed clean and we had the basics, but nothing other than the dive staff were really fantastic. Our guide was awesome at spotting the macro critters on the wall and seemed content to stay down to the limits of our air. They did a great job taking care of our gear too. However, our first day out they put way too many people on the boat. Since the boat has zero storage for guests, we were constantly stepping on each other. And the staff was too polite I guess to remind the other guests not to smoke towards the rear of the boat. We had a tough time getting away from all the second-hand smoke.

The cottage we stayed in was clean and had a hammock on the deck, which was a nice touch. The bed was incredibly uncomfortable though. Sheets were rough and we could feel the springs and struts in the mattress. We were there in wet season and everything was always damp, including the sheets. A light weight blanket would have made it more tolerable. Water pressure was good and shower had hot water. No mosquito nets on the beds, but the screens on the windows seemed to keep them out.

The bar in the sand was a nice place to hang out and we were happy the Internet connection worked there as it didn't in our room. We enjoyed the pool, which we were surprised was warm, and the grounds were nicely maintained. Food was not great - it was rather bland, but tolerable.

Our one big complaint was the way the office management handled our transfers and checkout. They sent us an email a few days before our arrival asking if we could change our departure date because they had not staffed appropriately. We didn't have that flexibility due to flights. They ended up hiring a boat from the village to make it work, but they passed that price on to us rather than honoring what they originally quoted us. Checkout was a disaster. It took them two hours to complete the process for both couples. I've never seen a resort make things more difficult on the customer.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nusa Lembongan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014 via mobile

I did my Divemaster internship with Two Fish in both Bunaken and Lembeh for four weeks in July and August last year.

As an 18 year old travelling alone, I found this was the perfect place to be. Admittedly I had little involvement in the paying of the trip (it was a gift from my parents) so I can't honestly say anything to do with that, but it was a wonderful experience I will never forget.

The staff - from the dive guides to the instructors and managers - were all lovely and kind. The guests, in particular the fellow DMTs, we're very welcoming as I was especially nervous travelling a long way alone for the first time. The way Two Fish works with long tables at meal times invites the guests to interact with each other and that was honestly the only way I actually managed to talk to anyone. Without that, I would have been too nervous.

The budget room was basic and I had to share a bathroom but honestly, I was not expecting anything more. The food was good - although I couldn't tolerate the spiciness, I found away around that as the kitchen staff brought me Tempe or tofu instead. Everyone is helpful and kind and I had a wonderful experience.

I would also like to make a special comment about the diving. Bunaken is a wonderful place to dive but the Two Fish guides really take you into consideration. Heskiel was my main guide (I believe he's now in Lembeh) and he was so good with me. He had only just begun guiding when I was there and officially, I believe I was his 'first customer'. I love turtles and he went out of his way to point the out to me on every dive, even if I could see them. The guides even planned a dive for me to Ron's Point because there are often sharks and I really wanted to see one before I moved on to Lembeh.

Two Fish is truly a wonderful place to do a DMT and I thoroughly enjoyed myself.

Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank saltysummerday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bunaken Island hotels
1.3 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.8 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#2 of 15 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
1.3 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
2.7 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Two Fish Divers Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Two Fish Divers Bunaken

Property: Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island 95113, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small and cosy resort based on Bunaken Island, characterised by:• Beach-side accommodation - wooden cottages with cooling fan, HOT water showers and large balconies with hammocks.• Other resort amenities include 18m swimming pool; 24 hour electricity; relaxing area; beach café; FREE wifi internet; book swap facility.• Small &Personal with really friendly staff.• European management – owned and managed by Tina and Nigel, who have been living & diving on Bunaken for more than 10 years.• No crowds - maximum 20-22 divers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Two Fish Divers Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island
2 Fish Divers Bunaken

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing