We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Village Bunaken
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 August 2013

A wonderful place to stay. We stayed for 2 weeks. Like many reviews have noted the food was good, the 3pm cake was a nice touch and all the staff were very friendly,helpful and efficient from the owners to the catering, cleaning, diving, boat, gardening and driving staff. This place has a lovely atmosphere thanks to its very small size, attention to detail, beautiful garden and pond surroundings and wonderful hospitality of the owners. The owners arranged a great two day trip to the mainland for us to see the Minahasa Highlands and Tangkoko Nature Reserve for a very reasonable price with our own driver just for the two of us. Would definitely recommend the trip if you have time. Bunaken Island is a delight if you like to take a walk and get to see everyday village and fishing life. It was such a treat to snorkel the house reef and share diving and travelling tales around the group dinner tables each night. Spa was great and in a beautiful setting.

Room Tip: Bungalow 3 on the beach is on its own and fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JoNorthway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (273)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 273 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

Highly recommended. I think it is the best place at Bunaken. Great small resort with lovely bungalowes and cosy swimminpool. Food delicious and good variety, they even prepare special vegetarian food for my husband, Lovely and romantic spa. Great place to meet and talk with other travelers as we could share tables during meals. Diving center is very professional with great staff. I hope to be back there one day and sure i will recommend to all my friends,

Room Tip: All bungalows are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

Great hotel, very good food, the staff is very helpful and bungalows are nice and well equiped.
We spent there 5 nights and we passed our padi advanced level: everything was very well organized and our dive instructor was so helpful. We really appreciated diving with him.

The swimming pool is very cosy and fresher than the sea. As other comments said, there is no beach in bunaken but snorkeling is excellent. You can enjoy chilling with all the accommodation of the hotel but not on the beach.

Nevertheless, there is no intimity during the meals as people have to sit with other ones. This is fun and appreciated by some persons, but we, as our unique holidays during the year, would have appreciate to have moments by ourselves in a table for two. We asked for that the last day and it wasn't a problem and we really enjoy a romantic diner near to the swimming pool and in front of the beach.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Casilda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

Highly recommended! Comfortable spacious bungalow with nice quality finishes, comfortable bed and lovely bathrooms.
Great food, good variety, plenty of it too!
Lovely ambience, very relaxed, good to meet other travellers.
Excellent diving, with very good dive master, snorkelling from the hotel was amazing, water 31 degrees, like a hot bath!
Recommend the massage, in a lovely relaxing environment.
Very pleasant staff.
Overall good value and recommended.

Room Tip: Managed without a/c, good sea breeze and fan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank theporsche911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Great location, spacious clean bungalow, lovely relaxing spa, ok food (Asian food, not great variety but great 3pm cake!), friendly staff and owners.
Amazing house reef just in front of the resort, we went snorkeling every day and it was great at each time.
Diving was also wonderful and the dive masters were very nice.
Would definitely suggest to everyone!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank S_Leo_S_Leo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The other reviews described the positives of the Village Bunaken perfectly: friendly and welcoming owners and staff, good fun swapping travel stories with fellow travelers at the communal table at meal times, and an organized dive team who handle all your equipment with care and is attentive to your dive needs. e.g. I did my first ten dives after open-water certification here and was assigned my own personal divemaster because I was a beginner. The other divers during my stay were all much more advanced.

All in all, I had a great stay at the Village Bunaken, and enjoyed the underwater scenery tremendously. I read somewhere that 70% of the fish species in the Indo-Pacific Ocean can be found in Bunaken, and it looks as though you can see all of them just snorkeling the house reef!

Now, onto the "room for improvement" portion of my review...

To fellow travelers with clean-freak tendencies like me, this section is for you:
- Bring your own microfiber/quick-dry towels (you are only provided with 1 towel for bathing, and 1 for the pool; they are changed every 3 days or so, and can get smelly very quickly, since nothing really dries with the humidity)
- Since you're not allowed to flush toilet paper, there is a bin lined with a plastic bag (bag changed daily) where you can deposit your soiled toilet paper. Recommendation to owners: please purchase bins with lids for hygiene purposes. Recommendation to fellow germophobic travelers: bring extra sanitary bags so that you can tie up your soiled toilet paper after each use.
- Bring a scented candle as the bathroom will smell bad from time to time. Not sure if this is from the brackish water, from when I didn't flush well enough, from the open bin/waste-basket containing soiled toilet paper, or from some combination of the above. The resort did provide an air-freshener diffuser in the bathroom, but it didn't really help.
- Check after you flush. Since the toilets are extremely low flow, it might take more than one flush for everything to go down.
- Expect ultra ultra low-flow showers; bring your own wash cloth to help speed up the rinsing process. It took me 3x as long to shower because so little water comes out of the shower-head. I like that they're trying to save water, but this was a bit too low-flow. I ended up filling up mini buckets of water from the sink to pour over myself, which ends up wasting more water. (Sorry, mother earth!)
- Pack quick-dry everything. Laundry might never dry unless you place it under direct sunlight.
- It's the tropics. Your reading lamp might be rusty.

Don't let any of the above keep you from staying at the Village Bunaken! It's really great! These are just some of the realities of island living. And as long as you're prepared, you'll be fine :)

Other misc. tips:
- Tea drinkers, bring your own tea bags. The same kind of black tea gets boring after a few days.
- Coffee drinkers, bring your own coffee packets if you don't like nescafe.
- Bring your own surface-interval snacks if you need something other than biscuits/crackers, fresh-cut fruits, tea, coffee, and water.
- If you're prone to mosquito bites, bring lots and lots of repellant, and apply generously each time before leaving your room. Plug-ins were provided in the room and worked well; but be vigilant outdoors.
- Buy some water at the airport after you land in case you get thirsty between the airport and Bunaken.
- Wear easy-dry water shoes and shorts on arrival/departure in case of low tide. You might have to wade through mangroves to get to your boat. It's great fun, actually, but not if you're wearing shoes with socks. When I left around 10:30/11 a.m. on the boat to Manado, I waded through water that came up to about mid-thigh.
- Bring your own travel blanket and pillow if you need more than just one pillow or one sheet to sleep.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank SharksAreFriends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bunakenvillage, Owner at The Village Bunaken, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2013

Thank you for your compliments and your tips on how to improve the Village Bunaken and make it an even better place. We are happy to know you had a good time at the Village Bunaken and we gladly welcome you back to see our improvements.

Some things we have already changed since your visit:
- We have put lids on all bathroom bins.
- Single room toilets have been scheduled for replacement this year.
- We have repainted the slightly rusty bed lamp in the single room.
- We have scheduled placement of an exhaust fan in the single room bathrooms.

Some tips to travelers and visitors at the Village Bunaken
- Please communicate with us when there are problems and we will try to solve them.
- Warm water pump only works from 8.30 until 20.30, because of limited island electricity at night. The flow of water for the shower will be low when the pump is not on.
- We provide nescafe and local indonesian coffee for free.
- Extra blanket or pillow are available on request.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Wonderfull, beautifull, they know how to respect their customers . Diving two tanks 65 E, 55E for staying one day. All meals include. Great veriaty, every day.
Very kind treatment by the owners. Bunaken tradition All guests are sitting at one table or two.
The cooking is delicious. The owners, Jochem and a beautiful name will ever help you where they can.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank monusdemanvandemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
10.9 mi away
Mercure Manado Tateli Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
528 reviews
2.1 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#6 of 48 in Manado
187 reviews
0 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
361 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Bunaken

Address: Pangalisang, Manado, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Manado > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range: £29 - £32 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale Resort, Diving center and Spa on Bunaken with attention to detail and a touch of authentic indonesian styling. A place to relax and enjoy the underwater wonders of Bunaken right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing