We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for diving in Bunaken”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Village Bunaken
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Certificate of Excellence
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place for diving in Bunaken”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Such a lovely place and such wonderful staff. We stayed here for one week and didn't want to leave. The reef just outside the hotel is beautiful even though it takes some swimming to get there.
Me and my son got our PADI certificate here and our instructor, Arjuna, was the perfect teacher. His calm made us both very secure in the water. And those wall dives... wow!!!
It's really nice "to be forced" to eat with the other guests. We got some great advice from our new friends. And talking about friends. After one week (and watching the World cup semi finals in the middle of the night) together with the staff we could consider them as friends as well.
We could easily recommend The Village Bunaken to anyone who would like to enjoy the underwater miracles of Indonesia.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clasberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    178
    64
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
123
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Very professionally managed by a Dutch/Javanese couple. The dive base is managed by the (true)"Guru" of diving Arjuna who is an amazing teacher.
The resort is very well maintained, service and food are very good.
4 stars only because the preparation of the invoice and its positions is not as professional as the rest. You might want to double check before paying

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Bunaken: We went to the Village Bunaken after several friends recommended us the place. Great staff, reservation by emails though Jochem, on-time pickup and drop off at airport, delicious food and variety in the dishes, great and friendly staff, clean and relaxing environment, great pool and garden, Wifi in restaurant area and in our room.

Room: garden cottage: clean, spacious, queen-size bed with attached bathroom, fan and airco optional, balcony with chairs and hammock.

Activities: relaxing around the garden and pool; walk to the village; snorkeling in from of the hotel: 50m from room great and beautiful corals and wall, option to do snorkeling tours; diving: best wall dives and saw so many things (macro, turtles, sharks, rays, corals,…), good equipment and very nice, helpful and patient Dive Masters and Instructors.

We would go back tomorrow if I could, great short break! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valevh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I chose the Village Bunaken after a friend visited last year and raved about it. From our first contact with Jochem, the resort manager, I was impressed . He answered my emails quickly and made the booking process easy. We were met at Manado airport by our driver on time and then dockside by Jochem and his wife Angelina.

On arrival at the resort we were made feel very welcome with a drink and explanation of day to day procedures and we were immediately impressed by it's presentation. The staff, led by the on site manageress, Lenni were delightful, hard working and eager to please. We especially like Yuni, one of the waitresses. She never seemed to stop cleaning or serving and is thoroughly efficient. The grounds are well cared for and the location is beautiful.

Our room was a Beach Side Cottage.It was simple, spacious and perfectly presented and only 10 meters from the water. It was cleaned perfectly daily. Towels and linen were changed 3 times in 10 days.There is no air conditioning in the rooms and the ceiling fan provided just adequate cooling but when we acclimatised to the heat and humidity after a very cold winter at home, we were comfortable. The fan isn't above the bed, but we found that by sleeping with our heads at the foot of the bed there was more breeze and we were more comfortable at night. The queen sized bed was very comfortable as well. The ensuite toilet and shower were spotlessly clean. The shower water is from a bore and is quite saline. Salt friendly shower gel and shampoo are provided along with shower and beach towels.The Garden Cottages are set in a lovely garden setting behind the restaurant and pool area and are smaller than the Beach Side Cottages.

All meals were served in a spacious open air restaurant. The Village Bunaken's chef, Michael has many years experience in large hotels and worked in Holland for several years. His culinary skills are considerable. The variety was excellent as was presentation and quality. In our ten day stay we did not experience one poor meal.

We were here for the diving. As I've written before, I'm a dive professional and can't tolerate sloppy dive operations. All aspects of the dive operation was to a very high standard. Safety, briefings, equipment and the dive boats were excellent. There was one safety issue, but once it was pointed out, the issue was quickly resolved. The guides are very experienced and were friendly and extremely knowledgable. Our guide Nelwan was the best macro critter finder I've ever dived with. The diving itself was among the best I've done anywhere including The Red Sea. Predominantly wall diving with, at times, very strong currents, it may not suit some divers, but the corals, particularly soft corals and sponges were spectacular. There's very little big fish action, but lots of turtles and great macro.

We will definitely return and have no hesitation recommending the Village Bunaken to our friends and the Trip Advisor community.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DiveMedic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
254 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We were picked up in manado and transferred to the island. Staff were friendly and helpful,from the start and all spoke English. It is a small place, but fits a lot in. Eight or ten individual cottages, a pool, bar area and dining room, plus it's own dive centre and amazingly beautiful spa.
All food was included in the price, breakfast, lunch, dinner, unlimited bottled water, tea and coffee, afternoon tea served each day, food intolerance taken into account, food was of a high standard and plenty of it.
The cottages were gorgeous, fit with balcony and hammock, great for relaxing and reading.
Dive centre was very professional and centered for all of your needs.
Onsite spa was simply paradise, prices slightly more then on the mainland but expected. Would recommend this for everyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lifenadventure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We stayed there for 7 nights and enjoyed the place very much. The diving is simply fantastic and the resort can be very proud of a great, professional, super friendly diving crew.
I would not call it a bargain, price is fair. It is very calm and you can do some runs and walks on the small island. The pool is refreshing and the beach is located really just in front of the resort. Internet works well. If you're not diving you need to entertain yourself with sunbathing and/or reading - not really anything else to do. The breakfast is quite disappointing - with a little more choice it could improve dramatically. At the spa, the massage services are best. We would definitely come back one day and can recommend this place. It is worth to upgrade to a beach bungalow. The beds are excellent.

Room Tip: Beach bungalow gives an additional ocean flavour - but the other bungalows are also well appointed a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Great communication on booking and provided with helpful information on how to get there and other suitable accommodation in Manado after. Met at the harbour and welcomed by the owner and his wife. Transfer to the island was on a very fast and comfortable boat. On arrival was met by friendly staff (who all remembered my name the whole stay) with a welcome drink.
The rooms are set in nice shaded gardens and a very clean and well appointed with unique bathrooms that have hot water. My room was closest to the road and backed on to a shop playing music which I thought may be a problem, but when the doors were closed it was silent and easy to sleep.
The diving is great, got to see dolphins and pilot whales on the way to the dive sites. The divemasters are very knowledgeable and always willing to help. Would love to come back and stay longer given the chance.

Room Tip: Choose one close to the beach for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rude9577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.4 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
0.6 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
1.2 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
170 reviews
2.1 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
475 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 6 in Bunaken Island
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Village Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Village Bunaken

Property: The Village Bunaken
Address: Pangalisang, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small scale Resort, Diving center and Spa on Bunaken with attention to detail and a touch of authentic indonesian styling. A place to relax and enjoy the underwater wonders of Bunaken right at your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Village Bunaken Hotel Bunaken Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing