We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but overpriced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed at the standard bungalow in one of the 5 rooms. It is a bamboo made building(which needs some work to be done) so you can hear and smell your neighbors. Room was clean with a cold shower,bed with a blanket. Mosquito net is in a cone shape and very low so it got puled over during a night sleep and mosquitoes were having a feast. Meals were good with some varieties but we experienced shortage especially after coming back from dives.
At the arrival we were given an envelop so we could put a tip for the staff at the end of our stay. In my opinion it is ridiculous but staff was good and helpful.Dives were good but with a luck of a good predive briefing and personal touch.
Overall it is a good place to say for a shot time

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevsters76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (113)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 57 of 113 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2012

After visiting Sea Breeze I have realized that you DON'T always get what you pay for. Generally the place is run-down. The standard bungalow - 50 euros a night for two persons - is crummy. The superior bungalows are OK, but not worth the price (70 euros a night for two persons). Hot water is charged extra on top of the 70 euros.

The breakfast is fine (cereals, eggs, etc.), but lunch and dinner are trivial.

The common area could be really nice - but there is nothing to do - no games, no sunbeds, no nothing. Ramshackle building can be found on the grounds of the resort. The wifi hardly works.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ABA365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2012

11 days of good diving, a basic but well managed resort, friendly staff, good dive guides, wonderfull dive sites

Terry and Diana and their staff take a big effort in making your stay at this resort as comfortable and relaxing as possible.
We had a bungalow with sea view, which is wonderfull. The meals varied every day and the beer was cold!

Diving at Bunaken is magnificent. There are many dive sites which take ony 10-15 minutes by boat from the resort and the variation in fish and hard and soft corals is outstanding.
The dolpin tour in the early morning is absolutely worth while as well as the Minahasa highlands tour.

It's a small island but the perfect place to get away from daily life.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tineke188578
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

A very small divers resort, max 20 guest, on an island without cars. Lovely wooden bungalows with soft bed, klambu, fan and a terrace with hammock that's great for snoozing after lunch. Shower, toilet and sink, all with lukewarm running water from the well in the village nearby. (Wow I guess this means you're showering in springwater! Maybe that's why my hair is feeling so soft and smooth right now, even after 9 days of diving in the sea) The water has to be brought in by boat every day, so make sure you don't spill any of it 'cause otherwise everybody is without water. In case of rain: there's an umbrella in every bungalow. Internet is possible but not always.
Fresh fruits at every meal like papaya, bananas and the sweetest pineapple I ever tasted. At breakfast you can order any type of eggs you like and there's bread, pancakes and rice or noodles. Lunch and dinner five or six dishes with fresh vegetables, meat, fish and soy-varieties.

About the diving: stunning walls with strong currents, some slopes and muckdiving also (that's diving face down, looking for camouflaged little things hidden in the sand, and there are a lot of them). Bunaken is famous for the pygmee seahorses and the dive-guides are all experts in finding them. I saw three different species. They're really really small so remember to bring your macrolens! Also lots of turtles and nudies. All the coral is very much alive and there's lots of fish.
Small wooden boats, all in good condition with multiple engines. I have my own equipment and all of it was washed very thouroughly every day. Nitrox is available and also facilities to do your own tecdiving. (And ask Terry to show you his pictures, he's got some really great ones!)

All in all: It's just the perfect place for divers and people looking for a complete shutdown of input but not for ladies with high heels.
Tips:
- send word about your arrival so they can pick you up in Manado.
- close your eyes and listen to the jungle and the sea
- bring a small torch,
- be sure to bring watershoes.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlmiraNr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

We went to Seabreeze for a long weekend, and here below are the conclusions of the stay:
- Accomodation: The view is nice, but the bungalows are the opposite of what they look on the website. Really basic rooms, dirty bathrooms. It wasn't a problem, but they could be honnest witt the pictures on their website.
- Food: Good.
- Diving: The diving equipments are old, lots of gauge not working properly, wetsuits at least 10 years old, no proper diving fins if you don't bring yours. We did a snorkeling trip on our last day. One snorkel was broken, and they accused us of breaking it, asking for money to buy a new one. Nice philosophy of using the devices with 100 divers and the 101th pays for everyone !
- Staff: Staff is friendly when consuming, but hypocrite when doing the billing, charging us additional fees from nowhere, asking for a new snorkel, and charging overpriced transfer to Manado...

My advice: No need to pay that much for a basic resort !

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank adbarth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We spent our honeymoon travelling around South East Asia. When we arrived at Bunaken we had no idea where to go. Worker of the Seabreeze resort told about the place and we decided to go and see since we had nothing to loose. The place seemed nice enough and the cost was reasonable so we decided to stay night or two while checking other resorts and deciding where we really wanted to stay. Well, we visited most of the resorts but realized that Seabreeze actually was the best choice for us so eventually we spent 8 nights there!

Pros:
-Wonderful food, always plenty of it and several courses on one meal, fresh fruits for dessert. Drinking water was free!
-Really nice surroundings. Short walk to the village, but still very secluded place with an amazing sea view. The restaurant is actually above the water (during high tide) and while having dinner we actually saw sea snakes, squid, and stingray swimming right there. Very good snorkelling right of the shore.
-The staff and the owners. Everybody were really friendly and helpful, especially Ronald (greetings if you still work there!). The owner Terry really made us feel like home, most of the time eating meals with us and telling crazy stories of every topic on earth.
-Responsible tourism. They took care of recycling and did they best to take care of surrounding nature.

Cons:
-Only thing that bothered me was a slight smell in our room (we had cheaper accommodation), it wasn't bad but odd and after leaving we found out it had stick in to our clothes and other stuff.

Anyway, I truly think this is the best place to stay on Bunaken if you are on a budget trip!

Keep up the good work, Terry&co!
-Metti&Risto, Finland

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melanie2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

I was going to stay for three days, but in the end I was enjoying so much I stood the whole week.
Bungalows are nice, clean and facing the sea. Diving spots are great! But even better is the atmosphere of the resort and the people working there, as the owner, Terry.

Thank you for a great diving trip!

Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
Thank allioli-xxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
180 reviews
2.5 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
181 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
222 reviews
0.7 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
355 reviews
1.8 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort

Address: Pangalisang Beach, Bunaken Island, | Manado, North Sulawesi, Indonesia, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Bunaken Island
Price Range: £38 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No fancy stars, bells, whistles, or exaggerated advertising, just a dive resort with a fantastic friendly atmosphere, delicious mixed Indonesian-Western meals, classic wooden bungalows closest to the sea, the all important creature comforts, welcoming resort staff who love to give personalized attention, a modern PADI dive center with professional team, a restaurant over the sea with spectacular unmatched views, large range of PADI dive courses, and other water sport activities & land tours all rolled in to a quality economical package. We look forward to have you join us :)  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing