We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't Want to Leave”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bunaken Island
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bunaken Island Resort
Geoje, South Korea
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Didn't Want to Leave”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Fantastic food! I could eat those corn fritters for breakfast lunch and dinner, everyday! Eveline was a lovely host. Be aware, this is not a hotel. It's a small island; power and water pressure during the day may be sketchy. Regardless, who needs power when you are surrounded by the most amazing diving and snorkeling in the world?

There was quite a storm before I arrived and it brought a lot of garbage from Manado. People were working a lot to get it cleaned up. This is NOT the fault of the resort though.

A short walk will take you to calm water on the other side of the island for fantastic snorkeling!

I recommend packing very light. I totally overpacked. There is a small snack/drink place just behind the resort.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room that faces the sea but not the one over the dive shop! Noisy at certain t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    113
    30
    3
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
77
20
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My family had a great time scuba diving, snorkeling, just chilling out and enjoying yummy meals with no distraction from tv or phone calls. Our host, Evelyn, was a fun and friendly host, Sven was a very skillful dive instructor and guide, the locals were ever willing to bring us anywhere we wanted to go. We encountered hundreds of dolphins twice, exhilarating experiences! Resort is built on a hillside with a beautiful view of the sea, mountain n spectacular sunsets. Bungalows, furniture n furnishings were built with excellent craftsmanship and tastefully decorated. Four days of peace and quiet in a relaxing and beautiful setting with my family was bliss!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GOHPY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My 7th time in Indonesia I visited Bunaken Island Resort. When you fly to Mandado, just before landing you can see the 2 islands; Manado Tua and Bunaken already, looks great in the early morning sun.

Once i got to the Island i had a real warm welcome of the staff and they were helpful with my luggage. My bungalow was clean and very nice decorated and i had a great view over the ocean and at night i had a very nice sunset view over the island Manado Tua.

The food served every day was delicious and various, i really enjoyed that.

Next to diving and snorkling the island has lots of other great stuff to see or do.

I had a great time on the island and especially Bunaken Island Resort, compared with the other resorts, if you concider to visit Bunaken, the place to be is Bunaken Island Resort!

Room Tip: All the bungalows are really the same and have a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MartijnBeekmans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

I had a perfect stay in this Resort.
The staff is incredibely friendly. They helped me with everything I asked for.
They have a really nice garden. The village is not far. Beaches are just in the front of the resort and there is a breathtaking view. I enjoyed the beautiful sunset everyday.
The food is perfect. I really get spoiled with food. It taste wonderful.
The accomodation it worth for the price. Aircon and fan is in the room as the nights can be hot here. They have very good matrazes.
Best divingspot I have ever been in my life.
I definitly can recommend this place and iam looking forwrd to come back again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Ouajdi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 May 2014

I truly loved staying in this resort for 5 nights surrounded by beautiful scenery, flowers, greens, and the best of all was the great seafood provided for every lunch and dinner. You can arrange the diving tour here and they are very professional to take you around the best corals in the island. Also, you MUST do the Dolphin diving because I could never ask for more dolphins in my life ! Eveline, the resort manager was very kind and friendly and she really helped us have the best time in the resort. This place will make you forget about everything and simply make you smile. I miss it already! Thank you Eveline and Sven for the awesome memory in my life.

Room Tip: Do the Dolphin Diving !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Spent 4 nights here recently and loved it. Fantastic views over the water to the volcano Manado Tua. Food was terrific, plentiful, varied, fresh and delicious. Evaline is an amazing host who makes you feel welcome and accommodates your needs. Diving is easy enough to do with boats leaving from the beach. Sven comes in the evening to inform you of the next days' program. Room was large, spacious and comfortable. Shower was great, even loved the soap!
There are some realities that I anticipated and knew about before arrival. Electricity is generator provided from 5pm to 8am. WIFI was not working properly and could not work in the room. But seriously you are on an island holiday, spend more time looking at the most brilliant sunsets as the sun drops into the sea right next to the dormant volcano manado tua. And who needs electricity when there are literally millions of fish right outside your doorstep. The weather was wonderful, the transfers fairly painless etc. I would advise an Indonesian SIM card as it may have been a pain in the butt if I wasn't able to SMS Evaline when I arrived. Otherwise, I not only will return, but eagerly anticipate when I can return. From the brilliant diving, to the amazing people I met while staying there this is one of the highlights of my year for sure.

Room Tip: Get a room as close to the sea as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank terryrlinton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

I Booked here (prepaid) a few months ago via Agoda when I was researching our dive trip to Bunaken. I didn't actually end up staying here. We have kids and we ended up choosing somewhere that had a pool. Anyway somehow I had missed canceling this booking, I truly thought I had cancelled it. I arrived to Bunaken Saturday and received a cell phone call from Agoda telling me that the Bunaken Island Resort hotel was trying to reach me to set up boat transport. My heart started to do little flip flops knowing that there must be an error somewhere and could I have possibly forgotten to cancel this reservation. As soon as I got to my hotel I called the Bunaken Island Dive Resort and spoke with Frank the owner. He and his wife were very kind. They actually took the time to meet with me at the hotel I was staying at to discuss a resolution for a refund. Frank said that they had wanted to contact me for a few days but could not get any contact info for me from Agoda. Frank was kind enough to agree to charge me for only one nights stay and refund the other 2 nights. Knowing the resort would not be able to rent out the 2 villas with full board I had booked I thought this was fair. Thanks to Frank and his wife for taking the time to see me. It made it a bit easier to actually enjoy my next few days on the Island. I do wish however that Agoda had a better policy about emailing a confirmation reminder.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brawijaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
0.6 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
0.9 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 16 in Bunaken Island
176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
170 reviews
2.4 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
475 reviews
1.3 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Island Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Island Resort

Property: Bunaken Island Resort
Address: | Liang Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Bunaken Island Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bunaken Island Resort and the Dive Centre are located at Liang Beach of Bunaken Island. The resort provides spacious and luxury accommodation in a tranquil and lush tropical environment with two Villas (150m²) and 6 Bungalows (65m²), all built in the famous Indonesian Minahasa Style and tastefully furnished. Balinese-style en-suite bathrooms with a hot shower tub and an open-roof shower, Wifi-Internet throughout the resort, air-conditioning, grand balconies with large hammocks for chilling out are standard. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing