We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great experience at Raja Laut Dive Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raja Laut Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
1 review
“Great experience at Raja Laut Dive Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

It was at the end of july 2012 that I went to Bunaken for the first time for my PADI Divemaster Course and I meet Roberto, instructor and owner at Raja Laut. And the following days of my training were amazing.
I spent more than 30 days diving and enjoying the wonderful reef and world famous walls of Bunaken, and after hard work I got my certification.
Roberto is an experienced instructor, he loves diving and takes care of everything, from teaching to equipment maintenance with outmost care and precision.
The diving center is fine and gear is well maintained, from masks to compressor. At Raja Laut there are two boats for diving, brand new alluminium tanks and always enough local guide to supervise multiple groups of divers never bigger than 3 or 4 people at time to ensure safety and diving pleasure.
The restaurant is perfect: indonesian food is tasty and sometime you can try very good italian pasta in the heart of Sulawesi. Not bad! Especially for hungry divers...
In the middle of luxury vegetation garden there are four wooden bungalows, spacious and well furnished, with nice balcony facing the the ocean and the sunrise. Bathroom, closet for clothes, ceiling fan and warm water with a comfortable hammock on the balcony are perfect for a deserved relax.
Raja Laut is really a good place to stay. I really liked so I decided to come back again. After getting my PADI Instructor certification I went again to Bunaken, in december 2012 and january 2013, this time together with my mother. Of course for diving, but also for relaxing and enjoying the location. Wonderful the dives during Christmas Day!
Roberto is always friendly and available. Do you have a problem? He does the impossible to help you. He organizes your transfer from the airport to the island and takes care of any kind of emergency. You can use his laptop if you need to stay in contact with the rest of the world and he can carry you around the island by motorbike.
By the way, Raja Laut is a very nice and familiar place where to spend your time for diving and relaxing in Bunaken and prices are OK! Higly recommended !!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amedeo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    28
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
102
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2013

Great diving around the Bunaken island. Fantastic corals and lots of fishes. From Ponthoi pygmy seahorse to both white- & black-tip shark. Had a great dive-guide who found everything that we wanted to see and knew the names of everything else that we didn't knew that we wanted to see.
Nice bungalow and food.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Groo99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2013

I really enjoyed my 5 night stay here. The place is beautyfull and the bungalow is spacious, big closet for your clothes and stuff. For the month of january the fan cooled rooms were more than enough. Nice bed with large mosquito net a nice balcony with hammock.

Staff is real friendly especially Noffrey (fonetic) one of the local workers. Robert is a great, funny guy with an enjoyable italian style and temperamento;-). Great teacher for mine openwater padi course. Just an amazing exerience under water...the sights and sealife are incredible.

The food (3 times a day) was an extraordinary mix of different cuisines with freshly caught fish

Don't forget to bring a torch or flashlight 'cause every now and again the islands main power switches off for a short period of time. Usually it's up and running again within minutes.

The (honesty) bar is a nice place to relax and maybe meet some people...couple of books and a spot to plug in your ipod for some music. Roberto likes his music (up to date) so if you have an mp3 or usb he would appreciate you sharing a bit. No electronic or deephouse music though;-) That's Amadeo's (fellow italian and dive instructor) cup of thea.

Thanks a lot!!

Rudy


  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rudy84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naha-shi, Okinawa, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2012

My girlfriend and I recently returned from six days and five nights at Raja Laut and had a wonderful time. The diving in Bunaken is unparalleled, and staying at a small, quiet resort like RL means you may be the only divers on your boat, as we were. Roberto, the owner, took us out everyday to varied sites and does a great job finding creatures during the dive and talking about what we saw afterwards. On days he can’t go with you, the freelance local dive guides he uses are equally adept, if not more so, at finding aquatic life and safely diving. We did three dives a day for four days, including a mandarin fish dive and a night dive. My girlfriend is recently certified and the staff did a great job making her comfortable and not pushing her past her comfort zone. The dive boats are roomy, with snacks and coffee/tea provided between dives, and the staff is very helpful with gear. The house reef is also excellent, and makes for great snorkeling.



The rooms are spacious, with mosquito nets, fans and balconies with hammocks. There is not AC (I’m not sure any hotel on Bunaken has AC, as the electricity is not 24 hrs), but there is consistent hot water. The food is excellent, a mix of Indonesian and Italian, with an emphasis on fresh fish. Ask if Mahi-Mahi is available. Breakfast is also great, alternating between breakfast sandwiches and crepes. The sand-floored common building (not really a room, since it’s open on three sides and overlooks the water) has books, backgammon and a chess set, and it’s really all you need to relax in the evenings or between dives. RL is one of the only resorts on Bunaken whose bungalows have views of the water, most other resorts are tucked behind mangroves.



Wi-fi isn’t available, although we were able to use Roberto’s computer to check email. The entire resort is just four bungalows, Roberto’s office, the scuba equipment building, the common building/restaurant and a boat shack. So if you’re not fussed about no pool, no AC and no wifi (and really, the diving is world-class, the food is phenomenal and Roberto’s prices can’t be beat) it’s hard to argue with lounging in hammocks and reading between dives.

Room Tip: There are bungalows with just a queen sized four poster bed, there are also bungalows with two rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Lazio, Italy
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

I have been in Raja Laut this summer for 5 days. It was a great experience. The accomodation was clean with all the comforts you need. The food was really fresh and tasty. The context was really relaxing with all the guest having dinner together. Roberto and the staff were very nice in all the situations. The diving was really exciting and the diving boats really comfortable. Strongly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesco D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

This resort is idyllic. Clean, beautiful and spacious rooms, very comfortable. Beautifully presented. Staff are extremely friendly, we laughed so much with the dive crew! Food was very good too, even for someone difficult to feed, like me, a strict vegetarian!

We came as a group of 4, and we all left happy and smiling. I cannot recommend this resort enough. Great work in conserving the location, very clean beach and waters. Thumbs up!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bea A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is a cozy, clean, comfortable resort that takes its diving seriously. If you are looking for a beach bungalow experience with great diving or snorkeling, this is probably the best on Bunaken. Bungalows are simple and beautiful. Big open room with comfortable beds and a clean nicely designed open air bathroom. We spent our early mornings watching the sun rise over coffee on our front porch. Great views. The reef directly in front of the resort is one of the best walls on Bunaken so we were doing two dives in the morning and then snorkeling the house reef in the afternoon. I was lucky enough to have a brief encounter with a dugong while snorkeling at dusk right in front of the resort. There are also frogfish to be found just off the beach. Food is good and atmosphere is friendly. Roberto makes sure the diving is well organized and the Indonesian dive masters are professionals and amazing at finding whatever rare creature you are looking for. We were lucky enough to see pygmy seahorse, flamboyant cuttlefish, several species of frogfish, and bobtail squid. Thanks Roberto and team for a great week!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.8 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.9 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Laut Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Laut Dive Resort

Property: Raja Laut Dive Resort
Address: | Bunaken Marine Park Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few km. North on the same east side of Bunaken Island the twin of Raja Laut Resort is born. Stunning ocean views on Siladen Island and North Sulawesi, infinity pool, air conditioning in the Minahasa Style wooden bungalows, secluded and quite place, Raja Laut Coral View is an hidden gem that offer a superior quality standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raja Laut Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing