We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay if your focus is on diving”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Even it it takes a wile to get there it is wourth every minute and every euro.

As prearranged a boot was waiting for me at the harbour in Manado and brought me strait to Raja Laut.

Diving was perfect and if I could change things I would have stayed the for at least 2 more days to my planned 4. A week is the mininum and you still find new thing. It is wouth it.

Accomodation is nice as well but without AC what is not very easy to get used to it.

Meals are included but on a very very basic level. See pictures to decide for yourself.

Anything else to do on the island: bring a book or two an do more diving.

I would come back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roland K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2013

We had an awesome time at this little resort, with amazing diving, excellent foot, very nice and clean bungalows and lovely people. One of the best choices at Bunaken. We will definitely come back and stay longer!
Thanks to Roberto and his team for this excellent holiday!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnkathrinL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

...which was the first diving rule we learned as absolute beginners :) Diving or even snorkeling at the Bunaken is amazing!!
We did the PADI within four days of our stay. There were only the two of us in the diving course. As Roberto was busy with another course he assigned us his colleague Amadeo (also Italian). It was a very friendly atmosphere and he cared about us a lot! In the beginning my girlfriend was not sure if she wanted to do the course, because she did not know if she will like it. He told us that after the first day she can choose to continue or not (paying only for the first day). She did like it!! We felt very comfortable with Amadeo as instructor and the diving school as a whole. Everything was well organized! Between the two dives they always served hot tea and biscuits. After the course we also did one fun dive with them before we left for a very good price. Roberto and Amadeo are really doing a great job with the diving school (as we did not stay with them we cannot say something about the bungalows)...

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guenter F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Already being in my fifties it was quite a challenge for me to book a Open Water Course.
Luckly I found in Roberto such a great and professional diving teacher! I felt safe and always had comprehensive support and helpful advice. On the top the service of his staff was exceptionally good and friendly. After 4 days I was much more confident and passed the test easily. I couldn´t imagine to get better value than diving at Raja Laut not forgetting the delicous food. I can really recommend this place especially if you want to have good professional service. I will be there again in a few weeks...can´t wait to enjoy once again this wonderful place.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2013

On the diving side of things, Raja Laut is absolutely fantastic. The location and dive sites are amazing, the dive boat is good, trips are well organised and varied, the boat staff are incredibly helpful and capable, the equipment we used was all in good condition, dive guides were great at spotting interesting marine life and patient in dealing with divers who were having more difficulty, and there were plenty of opportunities to dive. You can rent an underwater camera to use from Roberto, the owner.

On the accommodation side, things were good but there were a few sub optimal things. I think guests need a bit more orientation to the space and the systems in place (e.g. to be told about bar system, wifi password, etc). A lot of things are said in Indoensian or Italian, so if you don't speak those languages, you can't necessarily understand what is going on. As there's not too much information on the website about the accommodation side of things, I'll explain a little more. Raja Laut is on a lush green block opening right onto the beach. Accomodation is in one of four wooden bungalows. The bungalows are very pretty and suitable for the climate. They all have balconies with hammocks and a table outside. In general, we thought the bungalows were pretty thoughtfully set up with various mosquito repelling tools available, big four poster beds with mosquito nets, and wardrobes. There's no airconditioning but we coped fine with the ceiling fan. The bathrooms are like an attachment at the back with partial rooves. Some space in the bathroom to put toiletries would be a welcome improvement. There is hot water but you need to check with someone that it has been turned on and, in our room at least, the directions for getting hot and cold water were reversed.

Food is provided family style at set times. Dinner and lunch were great; varied and decent Indonesian food were served, usually a meat or fish dish and a couple of vegetable dishes with each meal. Breakfast was less interesting, usualy bread with jams or sometimes pancakes with jams. There is an honesty bar system, where you can help yourself to a variety of drinks and snacks and account for what you've spent later. But we found a lot of things listed were out of stock. And you can't access any of it when the fridge is locked. In terms of alcohol, if you want anything other than beer, bring it with you. There weren't a lot of other places to buy food and drink on this side of the island and it was generally the same things (coke, beer, chocolate, chips).

The resort is very close to the nearby village and road so there can be a fair bit of noise from motorbikes and singing during the night. There's also a rooster who enjoys crowing from the crack of dawn.

Raja Laut has many great staff members who were very helpful. But on the kitchen/housekeeping side, many of the staff didn't speak English so it could be hard to communicate. When the person who seemed to be in charge of the housekeeping type stuff (who did speak English well) had a day off, nobody cleaned the rooms.

In general, it's a great place to stay. You come for the diving, which is wonderful, so the other stuff is less important. But just keep in mind it's not a five star resort and not a cocktails by the beach kind of place.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Brisvegan_Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I and three friends of mine stayed at Raja Laut Dive Resort in June 2013 and we can say it is a perfect place where to sleep, eat and dive. 2 of us attended the Open Water Course, that lasted 4 days, and the instructors (roberto and amedeo) as well as all the staff were very professional and friendly. all together did 5 dives and they were amazing!
I can strongly suggest this place in Bunaken island if you want to learn how to dive, or if you want beautiful diving or simply to relax!
if we got the chance to come back in bunaken, we would definitely stay at Raja Laut Dive Resort!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simon l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Small, beautifull with fantastic huts in front of the sea.

Perfect place to learn diving. We were only three people learning, so we had a very relax and familiar ambience. Bunaken is a paradise for diving, with amazing coral vertical walls full of life.

We saw tourtles, dugon, sharks and a lot od diferrent kind of fish and small animlas.

Thank's to Roberto and Team.

Room Tip: It's the same, all are relly good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daniel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
0.1 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#5 of 16 in Bunaken Island
179 reviews
0.6 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 45 in Manado
181 reviews
1.5 mi away
Raja Laut Coral View
Raja Laut Coral View
#9 of 16 in Bunaken Island
26 reviews
0.2 mi away
Jonaths Cottage
Jonaths Cottage
#16 of 16 in Bunaken Island
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Laut Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Laut Dive Resort

Address: | Bunaken Marine Park Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: £64 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few km. North on the same east side of Bunaken Island the twin of Raja Laut Resort is born. Stunning ocean views on Siladen Island and North Sulawesi, infinity pool, air conditioning in the Minahasa Style wooden bungalows, secluded and quite place, Raja Laut Coral View is an hidden gem that offer a superior quality standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raja Laut Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing