We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small is beautiful with excellent diving” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Raja Laut Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
272 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Small is beautiful with excellent diving”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

We were not sure quite what to expect as our last diving holiday had been at Six Senses in Koh Samui, on a rather different budget! For Euros 40 pppn, dinner bed breakfast and lunch, we were delighted with the value of Raja Laut: our 'superior' chalet was clean and boasted a 4-poster bed, had an outdoor shower, and a lovely balcony, complete with hammock. A great place to idle away an afternoon reading if not diving. Talking of diving - we found this well- organised and the boats were good, equipment modern (although we brought our own). Getting away early meant that we avoided the rush of the day boats form Manado - we were there the busiest week of the year; and then we could choose a quiet spot for the second dive. Bunaken boasts wall dives as its speciality as well as loads of turtles, nudibranchs and other critters. Thanks to sharp-eyes Onong we were able to see all sorts of things we would otherwise have missed. Roberto and Amedeo run a tight ship, meals are taken communally which I enjoyed, and the food is good, given the difficulty of getting fresh stuff from the mainland. They even make their own bread and a mean Italian pizza - as you would expect in a resort run by Italians! We hope to visit when they open their second resort next year!

Room Tip: superior room is worth it for the ceiling fan and hot water
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    28
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
102
28
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

Thanks to Roberto and his team I had an awesome diving holiday; this place is - like most hotels/B&Bs in Bunaken - very small and private with 4 bungalows with traditional wooden design. The meals are included and are 80% Indonesian and 20% European style also catered for dietary requirements if needed.

Roberto is also the resident instructor and the dive shop is good shape also with Nitrox available. The diving was superb - dive master Onong has over 2000 dives in Bunaken and is very experienced and knowledgeable; Bunaken is famous for its wall dives but there is also muck diving and a wreck as an alternative. Sharks, turtles and all sorts of fish and massive corals are guaranteed to be seen; also the night dive is highly recommendable.

All up I had a great holiday and I will certainly return; don't let the long and complicated journey via Manado and a ferry be a reason not to come, you won't regret it.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JuergenDitz78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

Nice and quite place to stay. Moste dive sites are really awsome. Raja Laut have nice staff and have decent food. Everybody are eating the meals together and that is actually quite nice. We would recomend this place to stay. Bunaken is quite expensive over all.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Siv L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Avaré - SP
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Raja Laut for four days and had a great time there. The staff and the owners are very nice and helpfull. The food is very good, my favorite dish was squid in its own ink.
The dive spots are very close by and the hotel has two diving boats to take the divers around.
Had a great and very fun stay there and will recommend to my diver friends!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank thomazbw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

We arrived Bunaken and walked along the east coast searching for a resort to stay. Our plan is to stay 6 days and make our AOW courses there. The resorts on Bunaken are overall overpriced, and they have nearly the same prices everywhere. (We are astonished that for a simple AC room, they charge 70€ for that! And a fan bungalow costs 40-50€ even in the low season!)

After comparing all resorts, we found Raja Laut and the village are the bests. But as Raja Laut is slightly cheaper than the village, we finally decide to stay there.

On the first day, we met our diving teacher Amedeo. I have to say, the first impression was that he is so quite and unlike a italian...but...wait for some time...he is so funny! He really has some kind of special humor. And he is so cool during the diving! As we were struggling in the drift, he was just so relax and it looked like that he was not even moving...So, if you want to learn diving, Raja Laut is definitely the right choice! We enjoyed our time very much with Amedeo ;-)) (and we felt very safe all the time because his skill is just awesome!)

There are of course other benefits of Bunaken. Since it is not that famous and is not cheap, there are less tourists. Our stay in Raja Laut was very quite and relaxing. Amedeo teached only two of us and they drive their fast boat just for two of us (3 guys served us). That was a really nice experience! The diving part of Raja Laut can not be complained at all!

If I am allowed to make some suggestions, then I hope the food in Raja Laut can have more varieties. Tuna fish on every second day is indeed a little bit boring...and the laundry is also overpriced ( we paid 200,000 IDR for 5kg laundry....) considering that a 4 star hotel in Bali charge the same price....

OK, all in one: Raja Laut is one of the best resorts on the island! If you decide to go to Bunaken, take a look there!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Yixuan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuttgart, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed 5 nights in may 2014 at Raja Laut and we have no critic points.
It was perfect! That means excellent location, excellent support service and excellent staff.
Greetings from Germany, Philipp and Katja

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Katja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Przemysl, Poland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

I spent there 7 days in March. I was lucky, that I was the only diver at this time. Quiet location, nice garden. Nice housereef, just access at low tide little difficult. Equipment in good conditions. Nice owners and staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank flooori11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.8 mi away
Bastianos Dive Resort
Bastianos Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
2.7 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bunaken Island Resort
Bunaken Island Resort
#10 of 15 in Bunaken Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 7 in Bunaken Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
1.9 mi away
Happy Gecko Resort Bunaken (Cicak Senang)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Raja Laut Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Raja Laut Dive Resort

Property: Raja Laut Dive Resort
Address: | Bunaken Marine Park Pangalisan Beach, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Few km. North on the same east side of Bunaken Island the twin of Raja Laut Resort is born. Stunning ocean views on Siladen Island and North Sulawesi, infinity pool, air conditioning in the Minahasa Style wooden bungalows, secluded and quite place, Raja Laut Coral View is an hidden gem that offer a superior quality standard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Raja Laut Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing