We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best holidays ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“One of the best holidays ever”
Reviewed 19 May 2013 via mobile

This place exceeded my expectations even after reading the wonderful reviews. Everything is simple but truly amazing. Rose & Tom do a great job running the place. Food was always delicious and fresh, diving was spectacular. The crew really know what they are doing. All equipment is brand new. Value for money is very fair. I cant say enough good things about this place. I hope to return soon and do my Advanced Open Water course. They are extremely professional with a lot of experience. Definitely highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    19
    0
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
79
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
kESWICK CUMBRIA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Have just returned from a 3 week stay at the Mamaling Resort, What can i say it's simply the best for diving, snorkeling, food, Toms entertainment and relaxation. It's a world all of it's own.
Rose and Tom who own the resort couldn't make it any more special and personal if they tried.
Rose meets you at the port on Monado and travells with you to Bunaken and if you need any shopping she get it on her various trips to the mainland, Tom is a very entertaining host and makes sure everything is to your liking, the resort staff keep it spotlessly clean, the boat boys are brilliant they are all second to none and nothing is too much trouble for them, the dive and snorkel guides are brilliant their spotting in the water is fabulous. All i can say about the cook is she's amazing the food was spicy varied and very delicious!! her dabu dabu is to die for. We were a bit worried when we booked for a three week stay as we've always travelled around that we might get bored or itchy feet but we didn't want to leave! and could easily have spent another three weeks there or never have left at all.
If you are looking for 5* treatment in a small resort look no further than the Mamaling. A very big THANKYOU to Tom, Rose and staff for a wonderful holiday, can't wait to come back!!!!!!!!!
Tony and Jules Ousby

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TILLYCANN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2013

We searched here in Tripadvisor for a good place in Bunaken and with Mamaling we found an amazing place to stay. In Manado we were in Sintesa Hotel and their management was poor. So we didn`t expect too much for our next stay. But from Mamaling Resort everything was fabulous organized from day 1 to day 5. The transport to Bunaken island, where Mamaling resort is located, takes about 40mins.

Since we made the open water padi, we checked a lot of prices arround the island and the offer of Mamaling resort was the best aswell. So we started our course with them. Since there are only 3 bungalows with 6 guests we were 3 people for diving at the end. The dive instructor had much time to teach us all the important skills and it was just so much fun. The owners of the resort are called Rose and Tom. They became more like friends instead of the usual relation to a management of a resort. Their staff is very friendly and the food is amazing.

I recommend the resort to all of them who like a simple resort, diving, snorkeling or relaxing.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kosmos_1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Tom and Rose are wonderful hosts. We went diving for more than a week at Mamaling. Mamaling is at the other side of the island's village-town, so it is a very quiet place in the middle of nature. There is also no beach-spot, so you have to wade through mangroves to get to the dive-boat when it's high tide.
The open restaurant - bar - gathering place is filled with sand, and comfortable chairs, and has a wonderful view. It got me that beach feeling without there being a beach.
Rose is also a really great cook. I've regularly heard from people that visited other diving resorts the food there had no variety, only 3 different types of evening-meals that go round, with the same breakfast every morning. Rose really makes sure you don't eat the same thing twice, and even breakfast differs, with sometimes pancakes, omelet, etc.
Also, if you're a backpacker/interested in travelling, it's loads of fun and a lot of laughs to listen to Tom's stories, he's certainly been around. Tom's also a great guy, interesting character with a lot of humour.

If I'm going back for diving in Indonesia, this will be the place I will visit again. I can really recommend Mamaling, no doubt.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Marieke L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

In Short - I would go back there any day. Friendly - Helpful - Serene - Inclusive - Clean - This is for you if you like it quiet, if you want diving but are not fussed about needing to have a beach, if you like a communal eating experience, if you don't mind cold (more tempered) showers.

My husband and I planned to only stay 4 nights at Mamaling Resort, but loved it so much that we changed our plans and extended by another night.

At the time of our trip Mamaling had only 3 very clean bungalows, set behind the mangroves, which means that through the shade your rooms don't heat up too much, but even though we were amongst the mangroves we had absolutely no problems with mosquitos (well we slept under the mosquito net and always had a coil burning).

The meals at Mamaling are delicious and we probably ate way more then we needed to just because it was to good to waste. The beer is cold, and Rose mixes a pretty good Mamaling Jungle Juice.

Rose, the part-owner of Mamaling was exceptional. She was friendly, very helpful, welcoming and went above and beyond to assure we had a great stay and a unique Christmas and Bunaken experience (we joined her for 2 local village parties, and ended up singing karaoke with the locals, and eating of the most amazing buffet we've come across in Indonesia).

The diving was sensational. Due to very long surface intervals the Dive Instructors tried to assure you maximum bottom time on both dives. We only brought partial gear with us, and had to hire some, and their equipment was in excellent working order too. As this is a very small resort you naturally dive in very small groups if not alone with the dive instructor, who tries to cater with the dive sites to what you wish to see. The instructors are amazing at spotting the most tiny little creatures from sea-horses, to the smallest crustaceans you can imagine.

So whether you are advanced or novice diver or you are just going for a snorkel trip Mamaling is definitely a place I would highly recommend to anyone.

Please bare one thing in mind when traveling anywhere to Bunaken. There is no wifi, there is only limited mobile reception (only 1 mobile network provider has a tower on Bunaken), and if the seas are rough the trip in the little shuttle boat can be rather frightening (plus if sees are rough you and your luggage might get very wet). However a shuttle organised by Rose is a WAY BETTER option then public boat (which is so crammed that you worry if it makes it across to the other side) plus you would have to organise a motor cycle ride from the public ferry to Mamaling which is partially dirt track.

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same so it really doesn't matter. #3 is the first one in the row where we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KindledSpirit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2012

The place that personifies textbook description of quaint, rustic, charming, gracious and fabulous. Rose, Tom and there team have created a superbly cute world, right in the middle of wilderness and quietude, which is surrounded by the greens of the mangroves, the blues of the ocean, the symphony of the rising and receding tides, the anxiety of a jungle and the warmth of hearty souls.

For those who are looking to do things differently, and most importantly looking to live every single word I have described above, there is no other choice in the vicinity of Manado

Rose: I will always be grateful to the super hospitality you extended to me. Gracias :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Prajat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

Tom and Rose are running a great dive resort in a awesome location. Rose came out and met us and accompanied us on our transfer out to the lodge, and also on our return trip to Manado.
The rooms were large and well kept with a large bathroom and a hammock on the patio. Nearby the dining room/lounge is a big sand floored covered patio that we had our meals at as well as relaxed and spent time with the other guests. Food was excellent, included fresh fish and local fruit and vegetables and had a good variety over the 4 days we stayed with them.
As a dive resort the service was great. Gear was well maintained and rinsed and assembled each day. My wife and I brought our own equipment, and the team took care of it as well as they were maintaining the gear of the resort. Boats were roomy and in good condition, and the number of divers was kept small so individual attention was very good. Divemaster attention and predive breifing were also good. Some dives were with Tom, some with his staff divemaster.
The resort is away from other resorts/houses and the staff took us out on a night safari to look for the local animals, who are in regular attendance.
We were very happy with our time here and would reccomend it to anyone looking to dive/snorkel this area, or someone looking to stay in a peaceful resort away from the bustle of Manado.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
2.0 mi away
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
#4 of 15 in Bunaken Island
174 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
#1 of 15 in Bunaken Island
240 reviews
3.2 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Bunaken Oasis Dive Resort and Spa
3.6 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 1 in Siladen Island
470 reviews
3.1 mi away
Raja Laut Dive Resort
Raja Laut Dive Resort
#3 of 15 in Bunaken Island
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mamaling Resort Bunaken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mamaling Resort Bunaken

Property: Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Address: Mamaling Beach | Alung Banua, Bunaken Island 95242, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Bunaken Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Intimate nature Dive-Resort, situated on the quiet northwestern part of Bunaken Island. All cottages have private bathroom (western-style), veranda, mosquito-net an fan. We offer our guests pure nature feeling, tranquillity and outstanding divespots. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mamaling Resort Bunaken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing