We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
The Village Bunaken(Bunaken Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Siladen Resort & Spa(Siladen Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Onong Resort(Manado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
View Hotel
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
161
88
24
8
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
88
24
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe managersdive resortgreat divingac roommassage roomnice sea viewwonderful instructorclown fishsunset viewsetting sunfriendly local staffsound of the wavesmacro crittersnice clean roomslocated directly at the beachspecial thanksbean bags
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

I was at Bastinanos 4 years ago with my wife and 3 children and had a superior experience, The freindly staff made us feel amongst friends. As I wanted to book again this year I noticed a very negative rewiev in this website and got confused. But I am glad that made my 2nd visit to Bastianos, as I found the place just as charming and friendly as 4 yerars ago.
The diving was fantastic we saw several sharks, 4 turtles in 1 dive of which 1 was app 2 meter long, not to mention the beautifull corals and reef fish. By the way among the guests was an italian lady, that I met 4 years ago, and she has visited Bastianos every yearfor the last
10 year. usually stays 4 weeks each year, I think that this confirms that the place diffenitely is
a very nice place and gives good value.

Benny Jensen, Indonesia

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank danindo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos1, Manajer at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Hi,

Thank you ever so much for this nice review about our little paradise so great for relaxing on our private beach, snorkeling & diving.
Any member of a family will enjoy his stay at bastianos Bunaken :
- non-divers will enjoy snorkeling, they just need to jump on our diving boat, who always stay close to the snorkelers when divers are down, and put the head in the water to see napoleon, black snappers, porcupine fish, puffer fish, unicorn fish and colourful corals of all types, already at a depth of 5 meters ... Even those not really confident in the water (like my mother! ) will like it after taking a progressive PADI snorkeling course with our dive professionals : learn how to blast clear a snorkel and then breathe slowly especially and exhale, exhale to eliminate this bloody CO2 !, do not use your arm, attach them in your back and keep your legs extended without the fins breaking at the surface ....). Training first in shallow water on our beach where you can stand it and then only, in deeper water with a buoyancy device that you can inflate to float & relax at the surface,
- divers : top dive sites 10 mn away from our resort, no need to redo worldwide Bunaken reputation ...,
- kids : air conditionned rooms only available on Bunaken island at Bastianos, private beach without dead coral nor sea urchin just in front of our resort : distance from our resort to the best Bunaken beach (Liang beach) : 0,5 meter ! Brand new swimming pool (opening this month of july 2015 ; 14mx4mx2,5m), perfect for PADI bubblemaker program with diving gear (minimum 8 years old) or PADI snorkeling course

About general entertainment : 2 brand new satellite flat screen TVs, one billiard, massage & spa, very spacious dinning area & lounge with free & fast wifi (2 providers), regular barbecue party on our private beach, plenty of books & magazine in most common languages, warm, smiling & multilingual welcome in French, Indonesian, German, Spanish & English

PS : visitors are most welcome anytime for a drink in our 2 coktail bars (second one attached to our swimming pool opening this month of july) and we can arrange food as well with prior booking.

Take care buddy and see you again soon again with your whole family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2010

It feels like Bastianos and Bunaken in general have seen better days and they know it. There are a handful of dive sites that are good, not excellent and the rest are mediocre, nothing worth travelling all the way to Manado for. The dive resort definitely has a working system: fixed eating times, morning beach clean up, tags for personal dive gear, different dive guides for different groups of divers even though (or perhaps, especially since) they were quite few customers for such a massive resort. Locals come and spend the weekend with the resort, some do daytrips to feast, shop and snorkel - none to be raved about in my opinion. For an all inclusive dive resort, they really should consider serving afternoon snacks or have biscuits available instead of a standard wait-for-time reply when divers are hungry at other times. And although they advertise in euros, you can only pay in rupiah and they'll charge you twice the conversion fee if you use your country's credit card. The pick ups and drop offs are handy and appreciated. There is free WiFi and satellite telly, saving grace for all the times you're not diving/snorkeling/eating/reading - not much else to do really.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aliila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos1, Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear Sir,

It is my word against your word and anyway your review is dated 6 years ago.
I do not contest at all your opinion but I simply can't believe it and all our "2015" guests would not as well.
Bastianos is the unique diving resort of Bunaken island offering air conditonned rooms because it requires selfmade electricity, we have 4 GPUs with a permanent engineer for that.
We have renovated all our 17 "superior" rooms. Even our 9 "standard" rooms would get the name of "superior or deluxe" in most of the diving areas I used to work before in Indonesia,Thailand, Malaysia, Philippines, Rangiroa, New Caledonia ...
We have a brand new swimming pool 14mx4mx2,5m (opening this month of july) with a second attached cocktail bar. Our food, unlimited multi-choice buffet style give satisfaction to all our European guests from France, Holland, Germany, Spain, Italy, UK, USA, Australia, ...
Our diving team is professional, safe, fluent in English, and give the best underwater to spot macro like orangutan crab, soft coral crab, boxer crab, ...we always have emergency 02 on our 4 diving boats and first aid kit, also very important : our owner Candy does not understand the mention "save fuel save fuel, gather the guests on the same boat"... All our diving/snorkeling courses available in French, German, Spanish, English & Indonesian are conducted strictly following PADI STANDARDS & even SSI STANDARDS for kids under 12 (stricter for maximum depth & minimum surface interval)
Concerning rental equipment, just know that we received a few days ago a dozen of Aqualung brand new full wet suits & 5 shorties, 5 brand new Aqualung Calypso regulator kits, over 20 brand new Aqualung pairs of fins and we are just waiting for the delivery of (you know it now : brand new) masks & snorkels ...
Please just come back here for a short time if you are busy, have a look at our classy diving resort, get your free welcome drink & jetlag massage like our diving guests and sure you will change opinion for ever & write a totally different review about us.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2010

was there to do my diving license. It was a good choice to stay. Friendly staff, clean and peacefully quiet.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
Thank YudyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos1, Manajer at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Hi,

Thank you ever so much for this nice review about our little paradise so great for relaxing on our private beach, snorkeling & diving.
Any member of a family will enjoy his stay at bastianos Bunaken :
- non-divers will enjoy snorkeling, they just need to jump on our diving boat, who always stay close to the snorkelers when divers are down, and put the head in the water to see napoleon, black snappers, porcupine fish, puffer fish, unicorn fish and colourful corals of all types, already at a depth of 5 meters ... Even those not really confident in the water (like my mother! ) will like it after taking a progressive PADI snorkeling course with our dive professionals : learn how to blast clear a snorkel and then breathe slowly especially and exhale, exhale to eliminate this bloody CO2 !, do not use your arm, attach them in your back and keep your legs extended without the fins breaking at the surface ....). Training first in shallow water on our beach where you can stand it and then only, in deeper water with a buoyancy device that you can inflate to float & relax at the surface,
- divers : top dive sites 10 mn away from our resort, no need to redo worldwide Bunaken reputation ...,
- kids : air conditionned rooms only available on Bunaken island at Bastianos, private beach without dead coral nor sea urchin just in front of our resort : distance from our resort to the best Bunaken beach (Liang beach) : 0,5 meter ! Brand new swimming pool (opening this month of july 2015 ; 14mx4mx2,5m), perfect for PADI bubblemaker program with diving gear (minimum 8 years old) or PADI snorkeling course

About general entertainment : 2 brand new satellite flat screen TVs, one billiard, massage & spa, very spacious dinning area & lounge with free & fast wifi (2 providers), regular barbecue party on our private beach, plenty of books & magazine in most common languages, warm, smiling & multilingual welcome in French, Indonesian, German, Spanish & English

PS : visitors are most welcome anytime for a drink in our 2 coktail bars (second one attached to our swimming pool opening this month of july) and we can arrange food as well with prior booking.

Take care buddy and see you again soon again with your whole family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2009

The accommodation is basic & more than adequate for the price, there are way more expensive resorts on the same stretch of coast. Bastianos specializes in scuba diving, however their boats were not in good condition, one in particular had to be bailed out as it sailed. Our biggest problem with Bastianos is the terrible food & dirty beach. The staff need training in safe food prep & maintenance...one evening some pre-packaged rolls (which at first we thought were plain burger buns for the BBQ) had been left on a table outside under a tree for well over 3 hours in 30ºC+ temps...at dinner time we found chicken in the rolls & decided not to eat them...what a great way to get Salmonella poisoning!! Other meals were barely passable, one night a huge fish had been cooked to death so it was so very dry & impossible to get the meat off the bones, even using our teeth!!
If you are not a scuba diver, Bastianos beach is NOT the place to hang out and enjoy the sea, there is quite a bit of broken glass & trash (which I picked up & placed on the wall, but the hotel staff ignored it & it was left there for a couple of days despite cleaners passing by throughout the mornings). When the tide goes out there is only silt & mud for kids to play in as the sand is only a thin strip under the hotel/sea wall. Another problem is day-trippers from Manado, who take every opportunity to get a photo with you & touch your kids if you're on the beach. White people get a lot of attention all over Indonesia, especially the kids & this hotel does not have a beach without public access...infact it's a free for all!! We were surrounded by 20+ locals wanting pics & pinching the kids, not a nice experience even when you're used to this type of attention.
They do have WI-FI & use of a computer etc in their office is free. I wouldn't plug in my own computer unless I had a surge protector with me, as their electricity supply was erratic - I watched the fans in our room "take off" even when on the lowest setting because of the voltage spikes.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geojak0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos1, Manager at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2015

Dear Sir,

It is my word against your word and anyway your review is dated 6 years ago.
I do not contest at all your opinion but I simply can't believe it and all our "2015" guests would not as well.
Bastianos is the unique diving resort of Bunaken island offering air conditonned rooms because it requires selfmade electricity, we have 4 GPUs with a permanent engineer for that.
We have renovated all our 17 "superior" rooms. Even our 9 "standard" rooms would get the name of "superior or deluxe" in most of the diving areas I used to work before in Indonesia,Thailand, Malaysia, Philippines, Rangiroa, New Caledonia ...
We have a brand new swimming pool 14mx4mx2,5m (opening this month of july) with a second attached cocktail bar. Our food, unlimited multi-choice buffet style give satisfaction to all our European guests from France, Holland, Germany, Spain, Italy, UK, USA, Australia, ...
Our diving team is professional, safe, fluent in English, and give the best underwater to spot macro like orangutan crab, soft coral crab, boxer crab, ...we always have emergency 02 on our 4 diving boats and first aid kit, also very important : our owner Candy does not understand the mention "save fuel save fuel, gather the guests on the same boat"... All our diving/snorkeling courses available in French, German, Spanish, English & Indonesian are conducted strictly following PADI STANDARDS & even SSI STANDARDS for kids under 12 (stricter for maximum depth & minimum surface interval)
Concerning rental equipment, just know that we received a few days ago a dozen of Aqualung brand new full wet suits & 5 shorties, 5 brand new Aqualung Calypso regulator kits, over 20 brand new Aqualung pairs of fins and we are just waiting for the delivery of (you know it now : brand new) masks & snorkels ...
Please just come back here for a short time if you are busy, have a look at our classy diving resort, get your free welcome drink & jetlag massage like our diving guests and sure you will change opinion for ever & write a totally different review about us.
See you soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2009

Before we arrived, we were extremely worried about the reports we had read of rubbish on the west coast of Bunaken and were concerned our "paradise" location would turn out to be a rubbish tip. However, when we arrived it was glorious and yes, there is occaisionally some rubbish washed in from the towns but we did our bit, especially when diving, and collected whatever bits and pieces we found and the hotel disposed of them carefully. It did not affect our stay at all. Bastianos collected us from the airport then transfered us by fast boat to the island resort (included in the price if you stay three nights) - that journey is amazing. Leaving busy, noisy, nasty Manado behind and racing across the water towards peaceful Bunaken with the volcano Manado Tua rising in the background (the sunset over the volcano happens very quickly so make sure you have your drink in hand ready and don't blink too many times or you will miss it!). I cannot tell you how friendly everyone is there. The local staff are just so lovely - by the time we left we literally felt like part of one big family; we had been invited to our dive master's home to meet his family, every member of staff (and there are a lot of them!) knew us by name and they managed to get the right balance between interaction and interference! On our last night we had a impromptu beach party attended by about 30 staff and guests with a great bonfire, locals playing guitar and home made instruments, one of the guests on the harmonica, all of us humming or singing and dancing and we invited our friends who were staying at Panorma (five minute walk down the lovely beach) who taught us how to breathe fire and juggle - simply magical! The rooms are very clean, airy and served their purpose well - we went for one with a fan and really didn't miss air con at all. They also have a pool table and a TV in the lounge if you are missing the news. If you have been travelling through Indonesia "falling asleep" to the sound of the mosques each night then you should know that Bunaken is Christian and so we fell asleep to the sound of waves lapping just outside our balcony instead - bliss. The beach is lovely and there is also a market close by where you can buy all sorts of bits and pieces. If you have forgotten to bring something or need something more than local souvenirs then the hotel will arrange to buy it in Manado - they simply cannot do enough for you! The food was not the greatest I have ever eaten but it was certainly plentiful - buffet style for all three meals - and that's what you need if you are diving all day. Plus water, tea and coffee available 24 hours a day. Diving - that is why we went to Bunaken. If you don't like reefs or walls then don't bother going! We managed to sqeeze in three a day and there are also night dives so you can dive up to four times a day. The diving suited us best out of all the places we dived in Indonesia - Bali, Gili and Flores / Komodo and Lembeh. No real currents to battle, gentle drifts, turtles and sharks, endless schools of amazing fish, just stunning. You can also muck dive but as we were headed for Lembeh Straights next we didn't bother but we heard from other guests they were great dives too. So, if you want to dive Bunaken, stay in a great place on a lovely beach with friendly staff and amazing views look no further - Bastianos is the place to be. Loved it, will be going back if we can save enough pennies!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatherineandCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bastianos1, Manajer at Bastianos Bunaken Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2015

Hi,

Thank you ever so much for this nice review about our little paradise so great for relaxing on our private beach, snorkeling & diving.
Any member of a family will enjoy his stay at bastianos Bunaken :
- non-divers will enjoy snorkeling, they just need to jump on our diving boat, who always stay close to the snorkelers when divers are down, and put the head in the water to see napoleon, black snappers, porcupine fish, puffer fish, unicorn fish and colourful corals of all types, already at a depth of 5 meters ... Even those not really confident in the water (like my mother! ) will like it after taking a progressive PADI snorkeling course with our dive professionals : learn how to blast clear a snorkel and then breathe slowly especially and exhale, exhale to eliminate this bloody CO2 !, do not use your arm, attach them in your back and keep your legs extended without the fins breaking at the surface ....). Training first in shallow water on our beach where you can stand it and then only, in deeper water with a buoyancy device that you can inflate to float & relax at the surface,
- divers : top dive sites 10 mn away from our resort, no need to redo worldwide Bunaken reputation ...,
- kids : air conditionned rooms only available on Bunaken island at Bastianos, private beach without dead coral nor sea urchin just in front of our resort : distance from our resort to the best Bunaken beach (Liang beach) : 0,5 meter ! Brand new swimming pool (opening this month of july 2015 ; 14mx4mx2,5m), perfect for PADI bubblemaker program with diving gear (minimum 8 years old) or PADI snorkeling course

About general entertainment : 2 brand new satellite flat screen TVs, one billiard, massage & spa, very spacious dinning area & lounge with free & fast wifi (2 providers), regular barbecue party on our private beach, plenty of books & magazine in most common languages, warm, smiling & multilingual welcome in French, Indonesian, German, Spanish & English

PS : visitors are most welcome anytime for a drink in our 2 coktail bars (second one attached to our swimming pool opening this month of july) and we can arrange food as well with prior booking.

Take care buddy and see you again soon again with your whole family !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews