We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Village Bunaken(Bunaken Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Siladen Resort & Spa(Siladen Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Onong Resort(Manado)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bahowo Lodge(Manado)
View Hotel
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveller rating
149
23
9
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
149
23
9
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestslow tideocean beachget away from it alldive masterlong tablereef fishworld classjapanese dishesfloor to ceiling windowsbanded seaconvivial atmospheretitan triggerfishdive sitesoutdoor showerinteresting peopleevery meal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
99 - 104 of 184 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2011

A coordinated trip by taxi and boat to Bunaken Island, all organised by Raf and Reiko, the owners of Bunaken ChaCha, brings you to the north shore of the Island. This small resort offers a charming and inviting environment. Our bungalow was with AC, very clean and with an open bathroom and hot water. The meals offered are outstanding in quality and variation and is served by a friendly and attentative staff. It is like staying with a family. The diving grounds in front of the Resort and those visited by boat shows the whole variety of sealife in this region. Raf and Reiko are active in projects to help the area mastering the litter problem. An ideal place for relaxing.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Henry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

Chacha is a lovely resort located in the Bunaken Island. It is quiet and exclusive with no other resorts nearby. If you are a party animal, then I won’t recommend to go there. However, if you want to enjoy a relaxed holiday, it will be a perfect choice. Their deluxe chalets were all well decorated and the showroom was specially open-air design. Their service was good but not perfect. It is probably good enough for you to accept. Just one remainder, their wifi service was not free and will charge you US$10 per day per computer, while other resorts were normally with no charge.
I spent 7D6N over there and dived with their guide. The diving was fantastic with crystal clear visibility. It was an excellent location for wall and drift dive. However, if you are a beginner, you may sometimes feel uncomfortable about the current. But Chacha was offering more a relaxed diving style, so they would only take you to those easy ones. Overall, it is a good resort and I have no doubt to recommend you.

Room Tip: Chalet 1-4 are all good, which are close to the beach.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Felix_liu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raphael D, Owner at Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2011

Dear Felix
Thank you for reviewing our Resort and so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay, it was unfortunate that my wife and I were not here during your stay (small vacation for us too) but happy to hear that over all our staff made your stay comfortable. Regarding the Wifi, you are correct in assuming that in this day and age wifi should be FOC but unfortunately being on an island has its limitations and we are forced to use one provider at a cost of $600.00 per month, a cost that, at least in part, we need to recover from our guests, as I am sure you will appreciate. Those on the island that do not charge use a different system that is extremely slow and basically unusable if you are used to "normal" internet connection speed.
I hope that we will have the opportunity to see you again at Cha Cha in the near future and once again thank you for taking the time to write the review.
Kind Regards
Raphael Downey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We stayed at the Cha Cha for almost a week.
During these days we really had a great time!
The diving guides Yuko and Sam showed us the wonderful underwater world of the Bunaken Natural Park. Sometimes the currents were a little strong for me as a beginner. But still it was an unforgettable!
The owners of the resort - Raf and Reiko - are very nice and funny people. Raf helped us a lot - like organizing tickets for our way to Makassar. Since, we had our flight back from Manado Raf offered us to leave our diving equipment for one week at the resort.
Thanks again for the wonderful time!
We're looking forward to come back!

Kerstin and Robert

Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
2  Thank miezos2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

If you love nature and want to get away from it all, Cha Cha's on Bunaken Island is the place for you. Best coral reefs we've seen, including Hawaii and Belize, outstanding marine life diversity. Owners and staff are very responsive to your needs and the small size of the resort, plus the fact that everyone shares meals in the dining hall, means that your experience is highly personalized. Rooms are simple but beautiful and spacious. Meals are very good with both Asian and Western cuisine.

Room Tip: All rooms have ocean views but the higher rooms have lots of steps
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mickySanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We stayed at Cha Cha for 3 nights... wished we could have stayed longer. The setting is great for a back-to-nature experience, with the marine reserve literally at its door step, and city life far far away.
As novice divers, we really appreciated the patience and thoughtfulness of Raf and his team in guiding us through the first few dives. We met other divers who were extremely helpful too (Thanks Frederick and Magaly !!)
Dinners were always interesting, where many stories were shared between Raf, Reiko, and the guests. Good food paired with wonderful humour.
The rooms are spacious, well-kept and well-appointed. Housekeeping also does an excellent job of making the rooms regularly.
Cha Cha comes alive because of the simple comforts, its modest scale, and the enlivening personalities.
We will definitely go back!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank leekaylian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews