We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyable stay !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 July 2013

My family absolutely enjoyed our 4 nights stay at Cha Cha. Unfortunately,we did not meet Raf and Reiko as they were on vacation. The English caretaker, Allan and all their local staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome and took care of all our needs.

Cha Cha is a small cosy resort with a communal dinning concept. This made interaction with the staff and other guests very easy. We made lots of friends. The resort is very quiet, isolated and really good place to chill and relax. We did a lot of snorkeling and the water in Bunaken is very clear and clean.

Food is good. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Although one of our rooms had some problem with the air-conditioning, it did not really mar our overall stay. Do note that air conditioning do not work from 12 midnight to 6am if you are a air conditioning lover. This is due to energy conservation efforts. Over all , I would recommend Cha Cha to travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (181)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

70 - 76 of 181 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for excellent atmosphere and friendliest staff I have met, look no further! Dives are close to perfect and expect to see Giant turtles frequently. Food is excellent and the total price of everything included is good. So if you are planning to go to Bunaken , I highly reccomend it!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HinniHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

This was the 2nd time I was returning to Bunaken, returning to Cha Cha. Finally met Raf and Reiko, who were a lovely couple running the resort, as well as the dive centre. From the moment our feet stepped onto the island, I knew we were in safe hands. They gave us a big warm welcome on the day we arrived, and waved us goodbye until our boat disappeared from their sight when we left. We were lucky enough to get their best cottage, with the whole window right facing the sea. I would never forget the morning I woke up into a room filled with golden sunlight. Attention to details made the whole stay homey feeling yet special. Every meal was a surprise. You would never guess that this little resort hided the best Nasi Goreng and Soto Ayam I've ever tried. Although our stay was short, we got the maximum relaxation, with a few dives in between. The national park's well-conserved dive sites would never disappoint you. If you ever visit Cha Cha, be sure not to miss Raf's post-dinner stories. Better than any story book!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MomoLu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2013

My wife and I just got back from a family vacation of 5 nights at this resort with our two kids (ages 6 and 10) and have nothing but positive things to say about our experience at Cha Cha's. The two expats that own and operate this resort have put their efforts in all the right places from the rustic, but comfortable cottages (w/ A/C where it matters), to the quality and varied food, to the helpful and extremely professional staff. If you have a young family and want to enjoy snorkeling with kids this is the place to do it (You can also mix in diving in the same excursions if you are a diver). My kids enjoyed the snorkeling and when they got tired, just hung out comfortably on the boat with the friendly crew while my wife and I continued to float around enchanted by the amazing marine life in this incredible location. If you go, which I highly recommend, be sure to ask Raf to regale you with stories of Fred!

Room Tip: The resort is situated on a somewhat steep hill so be sure to discuss any special needs you may have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JoePollara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We stayed here 10 nights in April.

As North Sulawesi is a somewhat underdeveloped (from both an economic and a tourism perspective) part of Indonesia, and the resort is within the boundaries of Bunaken NP as well, we weren't expecting as "polished" an experience as in say a resort in the Maldives.

However, we were pleasantly surprised by our Cha Cha experience. The (large) rooms and common areas were tastefully furnished, and tidiness and hygiene were excellent, as were punctuality and honesty (it was never an issue to leave the room unlocked, or leave the key in the lock, or to leave little bits of kit such as cameras on the boat or in the common areas). A/C, water (hot and cold) and the internet worked perfectly, no mean achievement in this part of the world. The food (mostly local dishes) seemed authentic and enjoyable, and I enjoyed the good selection of (mostly Italian) wines on offer. Staff were welcoming and friendly throughout.

One of the reasons we came to Cha Cha was its claim to welcome divers of all abilities and non-divers alike and we were not disappointed. As we came at a time with relatively few guests, there was just one boat with both divers and snorkellers. Even so, the locations chosen by the boat crew had plenty of interest for both. The divers (including my other half, who completed her PADI Open Water certification here) were extremely pleased with the divemasters and the boat crew provided excellent support for the snorkellers as well. Options for people not wishing to get into the water at all (and we met some such guests) are less extensive but there are some nice walks on Bunaken itself, beachcombing is fascinating, and the owners are experienced at arranging trips to the mainland (the trip they organized for us to Tangkoko NP went without a hitch).

What sets this resort apart from the others is, as many other reviewers have noted, the personal attention given by the owners (Raf and Reiko) to the running of the resort, which is run as an extension of their own living space and indeed of their personalities. Their enjoyment at seeing their guests having a good time is obvious and infectious. Even if you aren't fully paid-up members of the "Raf and Reiko fan club" you will feel well taken care of. However, we really appreciated this unique atmosphere, and left feeling privileged to have shared it.

We're planning our next visit already :-)

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank artoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We, My wife, our grandson and I spend 5 nights at Bunaken Cha Cha. I was great ! ! Huge rooms which was cleaned every day, nice and clean toilets. Tastefull restaurant and wonderfull meals EVERY TIME !!!!!. From our booking till the end of our stay everything worked perfect. The staff, the guide and the captain was all very kind and professionell.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephenlindenhoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Bunaken Cha Cha is fondly memorable for the following reasons:

1. The hosts - Raf and Reiko, a great team that run the place efficiently and with a fun attitude. A nice touch is that they eat with the guests every meal so that you have a sense of belonging right away. A friends birthday during our stay prompted a birthday cake and was presented by Raf which was a lovely surprise and a good reflection on the hosts attention to details and making the effort to ensure your stay is extra special.
2. Mellow location and great food - a boat ride to the resort from Manado which immediately puts you on island time. The communial area and balcony are lovely, but the location is still relatively wild, so bugs need to be expected. The rooms were fine, with air con and fans as well as large mosquito nets. The resort is based on a steep hillside, so you get a workout going from the communal area to your room, useful after the delicious meals that were served 3 times a day (with afternoon tea an added bonus). The tuna sashimi we were served first night was melt in the mouth, with the other asian dishes continuing to impress, meal after meal.
3. Diving - waking up every morning with the prospect of diving with an experienced crew can motivate even the worst morning person! The diving in this national park is some of the best I have done over many years and the dive masters were fantastic for guiding us safely where there were strong currents. Highlights were turtles +++, a raft of colourful coral formations, steep walls and beautiful tropical fish. The downside is typical of Indonesia which allows rubbish to pollute it and will ruin this place if not addressed.

Room Tip: Air con is not on at night, so a fan is useful as the rooms can get warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank traveldragon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bunaken Island
1.9 mi away
Onong Resort
Onong Resort
#3 of 44 in Manado
185 reviews
1.2 mi away
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
Two Fish Divers Bunaken
#3 of 16 in Bunaken Island
359 reviews
7.4 mi away
Thalassa PADI Dive Resort
Thalassa PADI Dive Resort
#10 of 16 in Bunaken Island
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Siladen Resort & Spa
Siladen Resort & Spa
#1 of 2 in Siladen Island
520 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bunaken Divers - Sea Breeze Dive Resort
2 mi away
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
Mamaling Resort Bunaken
#2 of 8 in Bunaken Island
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort

Address: Tanjung Parigi, Bunaken Island 95000, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Sulawesi > North Sulawesi > Bunaken Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Speciality Lodging in Bunaken Island
Price Range: £141 - £617 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel/Resort situated on the clean and tranquil side of Bunaken Island comprising 3 Villas, 2 Superior Cottages and 3 Standard Cottages tastefully decorated, all with hot fresh water showers & A/C, exceptional views over the surrounding islands and mountains of the mainland. Cha Cha boasts its own quaint private beach, house reef and in-house Padi Diving Center. The Sea Top restaurant offers a variety of Indonesian, Japanese and fusion dishes with emphasis on healthy eating. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bunaken Cha Cha Nature Hotel Bunaken Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing