We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply gorgeous! ”
Review of Cambridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cambridge House
Ranked #1 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Simply gorgeous! ”
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Walking Coast to Coast we were so thrilled to find our lodgings were over looking the beautiful green Yorkshire hills. Tea and cake was offered on arrival. Attention to detail in the rooms is lovely white bathrobes and a bath in ours! The food at breakfast was cooked to perfection. Our hosts were most accommodating.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank WoosAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this review, 25 January 2015
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    171
    16
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
19
112
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Six of our party of 10 stayed at the Cambridge House in Reeth and as I said before it was the best B & B for our 17 day C2C walk. We were rather wet on arrival but was greeted with a smile, a lovely drying room and then freshly cooked scones and jam/cream. Nothing was a bother for our wonderful hosts!! Highly recommend this for tired C2C walkers.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tasz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kismetkate
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

There is an red phone box in a corner of the garden which and an old morris in the garage of this elegant and welcoming B and B. We stayed two nights here on our walk coast to coast and were very pleased we did. The village is in a beautiful location and boasts 3 18th century pubs along with tearooms and the fabled If erratic bakery. Cambridge house is furnished in keeping with its period and you can put your feet up and read magazines n the pretty conservatory or lounge with tea and cake served on your arrival. As walkers we also appreciated being able to wallow in the big bath and hang our washing in the drying room. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kismetkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your two night stay with us whilst on your C2C holiday. We aim to make our guests very welcome and try to cater for their needs by providing facilities such as a drying room and it is very satisfying when you know guests have enjoyed their stay and have appreciated everything we try and provide in order to make their stay an enjoyable experience. Thank you for your review. We also enjoyed reading your description of Reeth!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Our second stay this year, superb location with ample parking, hospitality amazing, incredibly reasonable prices and great breakfast (especially the Yorkshire crumpets!) also facility for packed lunches . Afternoon tea on arrival was a very nice touch. The hosts, Robert and Sheila are very friendly and knowledgable. The beds are very comfortable and rooms very well equipped. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Richard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warks
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

What a perfect location. Reeth provides an excellent central spot for Swaledale and easy access across the moor to Wensleydale. Many using this guest house are on the Coast to Coast walk and probably only have an overnight stay. If you can stay a little longer do so as you will be well rewarded. Apart from the stunning countryside and superb walks there are interesting places to visit only a short drive away. The surrounding moorland provides great opportunities for bird watching.
Keld and Muker and the Pennine Way are a short drive up the valley and Richmond and its castle within easy reach to the west. Pop south over the moor and Bolton Castle provides an excellent attraction.
Other reviewers comment on the excellent accommodation provided - it is all true. Robert and Sheila are brilliant hosts. Rooms are spotless and breakfasts are everything that you could wish for. Try the haddock with poached egg as a change! There are several eating places in Reeth around the village green but do try The Duck just down the Arkengarthdale Road into Reeth - only about 200m .
We fully intend to return as soon as we can.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaguarWarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014

What a wonderful place! Robert was welcoming when we arrived after a long day's walk on the Coast to Coast. The B&B was lovely! There's a drying room for wet boots and gear. Our room on the third floor had beautiful views of the countryside. The bathroom was a delight--the best on our Coast to Coast walk. Great toiletries, towels, robes, luxurious bath, Aaaahhh! The bed was a tad on the small side. The breakfasts were wonderful--especially the complementary bottle of fresh milk. What a nice surprise. I only wish I could have stayed there another night!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Theresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 night break at Cambridge House and have to say what a find! Sheila & Robert welcomed us to their beautiful home and are so warm and friendly. We stayed in a delightful and tastefully decorated bedroom with wonderful views over the local countryside - lovely toiletries, fluffy bathrobes, chocolates and homemade biscuits even a small fridge and fresh milk daily. Breakfast was delicious with so many choices. Robert and Sheila are wonderful hosts. They are extremely thoughtful and go above and beyond, to ensure you enjoy your stay. The House is a few minutes walk away from a lovely village with a good choice of amenities and local pubs serving good food - more can be found a short drive away. We would certainly recommend Cambridge House :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJLocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Thank you for reviewing your stay with us at Cambridge House. We are so pleased that you enjoyed yourselves, particularly the breakfasts, as our aim is to make all our guests welcome and provide a warm and relaxing environment. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.3 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
11.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
405 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
7.2 mi away
Stow House
Stow House
#1 of 9 in Aysgarth
261 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Charles Bathurst Inn
The Charles Bathurst Inn
#48 of 192 in Yorkshire Dales National Park
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House

Property: Cambridge House
Address: Cambridge House Arkengarthdale Road | North Yorkshire, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6QX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Cambridge House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Arkengarthdale road on the edge of Reeth, Cambridge House is an award winning, Taste Awards 2016 Best Yorkshire Breakfast, Visit England 5* Countryside Guest House with one of the best views in the Dales across Swaledale towards Grinton Moor. Guests are assured of a warm welcome with tea or coffee served in the conservatory on arrival. There are 3 double rooms, 1 twin and 1 single room; all are en-suite and south facing with stunning views. Enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Cambridge House and Swaledale whether you are walking, cycling or just getting away for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing