We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent all round”
Review of Cambridge House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cambridge House
Ranked #1 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a little gem to find on our route of the C2C walk, shame it was only for one night. Very comfortable, all little extras have been thought of, hosts were delightful and welcoming. The extra effort to soak the porridge oats for our breakfast was fantastic, we had been missing decent porridge! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 227Phil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Cambridge House during your Coast to Coast holiday.
We are so pleased you enjoyed your porridge; soaking the oats overnight does help to make it so creamy! We aim to send all our guests off for the day feeling replete after a hearty breakfast!
Perhaps you will be able to stay with us for more than one night at some point in the future so that you can explore Swaledale further; alot of our guests arrive by car and it stays in the car park for several days while they go off walking or cycling.
Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (197)
There are newer reviews for Cambridge House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 197 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2014

We were booked here by macs while walking the C2C together with another couple. We had been booked a double and our friends were expecting the twin for the night. On arrival we had been allocated the twin room and our friends the double ( they were arriving about 30 minutes after us) This was not a big deal but when we mentioned this the way it was handled was poor. There was no way the host was going to enter into a discussion, we had the twin and that was that. Overall this is a well presented B and B,very clean with a lovely bathroom and situated on the edge of Reeth with lovely views. A 5 minute walk brings you to the centre with lots of dining options. Breakfast which was very nice is around a large communal table. We arrived a little late for the afternoon tea so can't comment about that . While this is a very well presented B and B our initial experience with the host, who did not give us a chance to discuss the mixup, soured our impression .

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank GeoffKarenC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Cambridge House. We were surprised by some of your comments as we were not aware of any problems with the allocation of rooms as this was not raised with us at any time.
Your rooms were booked through your travel company which was aware that the rooms would be a double and a twin but no specific room type request was provided or that you were travelling together as one party.
Your travelling companions arrived first and happily accepted their allocated double room without hesitation or discussion. You arrived about a half hour later and were shown the twin room which you accepted and as far as we were aware there was no issue with the room. Since all our double rooms and the twin room benefit from having the same ensuite facilities, stunning views across Swaledale, hospitality provisions and luxury toiletries, had we known beforehand, then a room swap would have been easy to arrange with the agreement of all parties concerned.
We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and breakfast at Cambridge House; your travelling companions also enjoyed their stay and left a very pleasing comment in our visitor's book thanking us for ' a fantastic stay and being superb hosts.'
Our policy with room allocations for groups if booked with us in one name, as was not the case in this instance, is to let our guests decide on the room allocation on their arrival if no specific information is given at the time of booking.
Thank you for your comments and we will in future ask for more information from holiday companies when taking bookings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Lovely facility with attractive antiques and furnishings. Well located. We were Coast to Coast Hikers and managed that day to get a bit lost. We did call ahead to say we would be late; arrived around 7:00 pm and again apologized. Owners were visibly annoyed and rude despite our apologies and it spoiled an otherwise pleasant evening. Perhaps with more experience in customer relations the atmosphere will improve.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Stark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to provide a review of your stay at Cambridge House. We accept that whilst almost all our guests are delighted by their experience of Cambridge House, one review describes us as 'Best BnB on the C2C', there always have to be exceptions.
In response to specific issues, we have had only one late arrival of Coast to Coast walkers in July and that was during the first week , Tour de France week, a very busy week in Reeth. As a consequence, in order to make sure our guests could get an evening meal, we 'phoned ahead to ask if they would like a table booking for the evening of their arrival which was greatfully accepted.
In the afternoon of their stay, all our guests arrived and were welcomed with our usual hospitality of tea and cakes apart from the last couple for whom we had made the table reservation. We waited for them to arrive, the time passed that of the reservation and still no guests arrived. At about 8p.m., the manager of the inn 'phoned us to tell us that our guests had arrived in Reeth late afternoon and had changed their reservation. We continued to wait until after 9p.m. when eventually the first person arrived at 9.15pm and his partner at 9.45p.m. having had a 'fantastic time watching the celebrations'. They were both perplexed when they asked why we hadn't gone to watch and we explained that we had been waiting in for them to arrive.We accept that our welcome may not have been as warm as it would have been if they had arrived earlier, but we had been waiting for them for over 6 hours; courtesy and consideration should be shown by everyone!
We take exception to being called 'rude and needing more experience in customer relations' as previous reviews highlight our welcome and how we are 'great hosts', 'very friendly and knowledgeable'. We both have considerable experience of working with people in various contexts.
As a guest house on the C2C route, we are aware that some walkers take longer and fully support the advice which states that walkers should contact their accommadtion if they are going to be later than normal to avoid unnecessary worry or phone call to the emergency services.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

Great location slightly out of the village and great views. The rooms were extremely comfortable and clean with little added luxuries like nice toiletries etc. The owners were lovely and the breakfast was amazing - we can highly recommend staying here!

Stayed: July 2014
Thank 85walker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and found our breakfasts amazing! We hope you will come and stay again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Cambridge House was a pleasure to stay in during the coast 2 coast, even if we did have to lug our bags up to the top floor ! Terrific cakes and tea on arrival, marvellous bedroom facilities, from cotton buds to dressing gowns. Breakfast terrific. Thank you.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gus-n-Nic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us whilst on your coast 2 coast holiday. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and our tea and cakes on arrival! We do try to anticipate what people need and we are pleased you found the little extras useful.
We are always willing to help guests with their luggage but we have been advised not carry it upstairs ourselves but to wait to help guests on their arrival.
We hope you will return to the Yorkshire Dales in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

Walking Coast to Coast we were so thrilled to find our lodgings were over looking the beautiful green Yorkshire hills. Tea and cake was offered on arrival. Attention to detail in the rooms is lovely white bathrobes and a bath in ours! The food at breakfast was cooked to perfection. Our hosts were most accommodating.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
Thank WoosAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheila m, Owner at Cambridge House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2015

Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Six of our party of 10 stayed at the Cambridge House in Reeth and as I said before it was the best B & B for our 17 day C2C walk. We were rather wet on arrival but was greeted with a smile, a lovely drying room and then freshly cooked scones and jam/cream. Nothing was a bother for our wonderful hosts!! Highly recommend this for tired C2C walkers.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tasz00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
13.3 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
249 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
269 reviews
6.4 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
417 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
5.4 mi away
The Old Town Hall Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cambridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cambridge House

Address: Cambridge House Arkengarthdale Road | North Yorkshire, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6QX, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Price Range: £76 - £443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Cambridge House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on Arkengarthdale road on the edge of Reeth, Cambridge House is an award winning, Taste Awards 2016 Best Yorkshire Breakfast, Visit England 5* Countryside Guest House with one of the best views in the Dales across Swaledale towards Grinton Moor. Guests are assured of a warm welcome with tea or coffee served in the conservatory on arrival. There are 3 double rooms, 1 twin and 1 single room; all are en-suite and south facing with stunning views. Enjoy the peace and tranquillity of Cambridge House and Swaledale whether you are walking, cycling or just getting away for a relaxing break. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cambridge House Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing