We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All I needed on the Coast to Coast”
Review of Hackney House

Hackney House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hackney House
Ranked #6 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
Cambridge
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“All I needed on the Coast to Coast”
Reviewed 28 July 2011

I may be a bit biased - I was bumped up to an en suite for no extra charge. The en suite was tiny but everything worked as it should. Rebecca is a cheerful soul and was a good host - though she did just have one other couple staying this night. Dried my boots by the Aga and washed my trousers. Bed was very comfortable and cooked breakfast was faultless. Wi Fi was available which was an unexpected bonus. Good pubs to eat in town - 5 mins walk away. Happy to stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walkoverover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

Right on route and really caters for walkers.
Room comfortable with ensuite.
Breakfast good and very efficiently prepared and served.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrahamC2C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2010

Hackney House is a nice B&B on the outskirts of the village. Good big rooms, nice and quiet, good comfortable bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Muzando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire , england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 September 2010

WHAT A FREINDLY FAMILY RUN B&B , Great service , Good breakfast , just what the doctor ordered before the rest of our journey , RECOMMEND to all in and around North Yorkshire , WILL BE BACK SOON WE HOPE

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed here as part of our Coast to Coast trip in June 2010. It's a good location near the centre of Reeth which is a gorgeous Yorkshire village. The owner was very friendly but we felt the service let it down. We got tea and cake on arrival which was very kind. Our room was right at the top of the house with a couple of awkward diagonal beams in it which made it quite difficult to move around. The room lacked towels when we arrived and was also low on tea and milk. The owner asked what time we wanted breakfast and took our order the night before as we wanted an early start. We offered to write it down but she said she'd remember. However the next day breakfast was very chaotic. Although people had booked breakfast for different times the owner was very slow so lots of people ended up waiting in the breakfast room at the same time. We'd ordered porridge which took ages to come. Then our cooked breakfasts arrived but one was wrong. This meant my friend had finished hers when mine still hadn't arrived. We shared a table with four gentlemen who were in a walking group. We had one small pot of coffee between the six of us and when I eventually left, only two of them had got their breakfasts after waiting nearly half an hour! She really needs to get organised and to get more help in the mornings.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackson, Wyoming
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2009

We stayed in 14 B&B's and lodges, each for one night, during our Coast to Coast walk in autumn 2009. Winner was the Keld Lodge. At the bottom was Pottergate in Richmond. Is it fair to rank a place on the basis of one night? Perhaps not, but first impressions sometimes mean a lot.
Hackney House wasn't a bad place; it just wasn't much beyond the ordinary, either. Dorothy was a very nice innkeeper, but our room on the third floor was a bit tiny. If I remember correctly, the porridge here was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reeth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
261 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arkleside Country Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Reeth
231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
0.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackney House

Property: Hackney House
Address: Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hackney House Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing