We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good”
Review of Hackney House

Hackney House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Reeth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hackney House
Ranked #6 of 10 Reeth B&B and Inns
London
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We received a nice welcome with tea and cake. The rooms are well appointed and clean but the conversion to a B and B means that the rooms are rather small. The shower cubicle in one of our rooms was so small it was impossible to turn round. We felt that the landlady was a bit overworked and could have done with some help. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GreyNomad27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    28
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Porpoise Spit Oz
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is a very well run B&B.

The landlady, Rebecca, is one of the most helpful and friendly we met on our Coast to Coast trek. She was one of the very few to offer us a cup of tea and cake on arrival.

Our room looked newly decorated and was spotless, airy and bright. The bed was one of the most comfortable we had. Even though we were at the front of the property we had no traffic noise overnight. The B&B is just a few steps into the village. Breakfast was excellent.

I can highly recommend Hackney House as a stopover on your C2C.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeWobbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bodo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Stayed here during C2C walk. Greeted by the owner on arrival and given a very nice twin room on the top floor with a superb view. Very clean B&B. Nice rooms, good breakfast with a selection of stewed fruits in addition to cereals or porridge. Nice friendly people. Highly recommended for any type of traveller.

Mike J. October 2013

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

Clean and tidy and quite pleasant, but amongst many outstanding C2C B and Bs it doesn't stand out. Our room was an awkward layout born of compromise from being on the top floor, with a TV located in a place where no one could watch it properly because it was too high. Owner was very pleasant.

Room Tip: Try to avoid staying in the top floor twin if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Walked from Keld to Reeth and arrived to a great welcome from Rebecca, even though a new carpet was being layed she welcomed us with tea and scones.

Very clean and great breakfast.

Would stay again as the place is very neat and tidy.

Walkers welcome and nice and hot shower etc.

Thanks Rebecca and we will return soon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flintshire, North Wales.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Arrived here from Keld on the Coast to Coast walk and received a warm welcome from Becca.
We had a twin room with shower, tea and coffee making facilities, which was clean and comfortable.
A nice cup of tea and a slice of cake went down well after a days walking.
Breakfast was excellent with a varied menu.

Would recommend this place and certainly stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taffphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Lovely days walk from Keld to Reeth, which I would descibe as a small market Village. Becca at Hackney house welcomed our arrival with a cup of tea and a slice of cake. Rooms were clean and tidy and modern fittings in en suite. Lovely breakfast. Small but well stocked corner shop next door but one, and village pub sold some real ales... heaven

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulmulraney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Reeth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arkleside Country Guest House
0.0 mi away
The Laurels Reeth Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Reeth
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ivy Cottage B & B Tea Room
0.0 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hackney House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hackney House

Property: Hackney House
Address: Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6TW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Reeth
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Hackney House Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing