We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yorkshire Dales Country House”
Review of Burgoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burgoyne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level Contributor
141 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Yorkshire Dales Country House”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Burgoyne Hotel has a comfortable well appointed country house atmosphere. Staff helpful, welcoming, breakfasts cooked to order with excellent choice, superb quality food.
Nearly all rooms look out over the village of Reeth to the hills beyond, a delight to sit in the window seats to chill.
Comfortable beds and pillows, the house was warm too which is nice after spending the days walking the Yorkshire Dales.
Food and drink can be obtained at any time along with afternoon tea if wanted.
The area is outstandingly beautiful, much history to learn about in the area and there is a small museum in Reeth.
This a real get away spot relaxing, there is NO 02 service on mobile phones but orange picks up.
Plenty of cafes, pubs etc doing meals at other times of day.
This is a good place for couples or adult family groups, its a treat for grown ups wanting down time.
The whole area is delightful but to find a small but quality hotel like this is a dream.
WE would go back.

Room Tip: NEARLY all rooms look out onto a wonderful vista but ask. As far as we saw the rooms are well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fussy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
154
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We recently spent two nights at this lovely welcoming hotel in Reeth. It has a commanding location at the top of the village green with splendid views across the Yorkshire Dales. The owners Julia and Mo go to great lengths to make sure that all your needs are met.
We stayed in the large and very lovely Ivelet suite right at the top of the hotel with fabulous views from the window.
All the staff were pleasant and professional and we had a fine dinner in the hotel with locally sourced and well cooked food. We did a lot of walking nearby and it was good to return to somewhere so cosy and comfortable each evening. It is a great spot to relax in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

After a thoroughly unpleasant 0545 start from Guildford on a cold, windy and rainy morning we arrived in Reeth in time for a late lunch. Although we had already had good reports of the hotel, from start to finish it was to impress us extremely favourably. From the blazing log fire in the lounge and the sandwich lunch on arrival, to the excellent breakfast prior to our leaving, the whole experience was absolutely faultless. Set in the beautiful village of Reeth with delightful views it provided everything that we could ask for in a hotel. The food and the service were really excellent and the attention from all staff was outstanding. I suppose I am really saying that the hospitality was quite unlike any I have experienced in a lifetime of travel.
Fortunately the improvement in the weather enable us to see as much as possible of the beautiful Yorkshire Dales in our two days but the Burgoyne was undoubtedly the highlight of the trip.

Room Tip: Best to make sure of a room with ensuite facilities. Although it was not really a problem it is obvi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ranald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

We stayed at the Burgoyne for 4 nights, Dinner Bed & Breakfast.
When we arrived, Julia showed us round, and took us to our Ground Floor Superior room. It was warm and welcoming, and tastefully furnished etc. We even had an electric faux log burner. The Bathroom was spacious.
There was a French Window, which opened out onto the Garden, but unfortunately , the weather wasn't kind to us , but I can imagine, sitting out, when it is a little warmer.
Our Evening meal was a delight, we sat in front of a log fire in one of the Lounges, to study the Menu.The food is definatly 5 star ,all freshly prepared, and homemade.And the menu choice was varied over each night.
The Breakfasts were the same-Quality all the way, and a fantastic choice once again.The owners of the Hotel-Mo and Julia are a wonderful and caring couple. After the 4 nights, we asked if we could stay for another night ! But unfortunately they were booked up.This is the first time -ever-that we have wanted to stay longer anywhere. We enjoyed our stay that much.
We will definatly go again-cant wait.
The food was exceptional, and plenty of it. The beds were very comfortable. Plenty of hanging space for clothes, and drawer space .
Please book for this lovely Hotel, you will not be disappointed.
Mo & Julia, have a knack of making everone feel special .

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LuxorJacqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2013

I’ve stayed at the Burgoyne on a number of occasions once for a week’s holiday. We had the suite with the four poster on that occasion and we had a great time.

The food and the service are out of this world. We did some walking in Swaledale and, when we arrived back in the middle of the afternoon there was plenty of hot water for two baths.

It is a little on the pricey side but, for the food and service we received, it was well worth it.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bob R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ilkley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

My wife and I have become quite discerning when it comes to hotels and holidays. The Burgoyne surpassed our already high expectations and made us feel comfortable, relaxed and very contented from the moment we stepped inside.

We recognised Reeth to be a beautiful and restful village as soon as we drove in. The hotel stands at the head of the village green, overlooking the village and hills beyond. All of the rooms are spotlessly clean and furnished in keeping with the period and style of the building. We were shown to our room by a very friendly lady and told about meal times, etc. Our room (Redmire) was beautiful with an extremely comfortable bed, tea and coffee making facilities (including a cafetiere and pottery teapot!) plenty of clothes hanging space, a generously sized bathroom with separate shower, Molton Brown toiletries, bath robes and slippers. The view from both rooms was lovely. As with other reviews I should recommend a front facing en-suite room.

Meal time brought new pleasures of its own. Absolutely delicious and plentiful food, a good selection of wines by the glass, half and full bottles and a friendly, attentive service.

I cannot speak highly enough of the Burgoyne. The owners, Mo and Julia, clearly altruistic in nature, could not have done more to make our stay any happier; they are a lovely couple who care about their guests' comfort and enjoyment.

My advice to anyone looking for somewhere to stay in the Yorkshire Dales is to give the Burgoyne Hotel a call now and get a room booked - you'll not regret it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snobsrus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2013

I should have written this review months ago, sorry. I visited this hotel last year with family for a cousin's reunion; It was recommended to me by a friend who used to live in Reeth. It exceeded expectations in every way; comfortable and warm with a very calm relaxed atmosphere. The welcome we received was second to none and my room, and that of all the others, was charming.
(my dog honestly thought he lived there!)
We stayed for three nights and the food every night was superb, as indeed was breakfast.
I loved it so much that I shall certainly return, and have already booked my son and his wife in for a birthday trip. I am quite sure they will enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAKSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
23.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
13.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.6 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgoyne Hotel

Property: Burgoyne Hotel
Address: On The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Burgoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgoyne Hotel Richmond
Burgoyne Hotel Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing