We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our first visit for a special occasion” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Burgoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burgoyne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
Rotherham
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our first visit for a special occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We wanted to give our special friends a very special gift to mark their Golden Wedding Anniversary. The Burgoyne proved to be exactly what we wanted. The setting overlooking the green and glorious weather gave us the perfect start.

Julia made us most welcome and showed us to our rooms. The rooms were just perfect with space and comfort. Tea, fresh milk and biscuits as we sat looking out over the dale. The two dinners we enjoyed in the evenings were chosen from and excellent menu. Indeed it it was extemely difficult to chose from the range of inviting dishes. Breakfast is a buffet with an excellent range of juices, fruit and cereals before you have to choose from the extensive breakfast menu.

All the staff, including the chef, work hard to ensure all the guests enjoy their stay.

The sun shone and the hills across the valley deepened in colour as the heather blossomed. We enjoyed every minute. Julia brings her smile and presence to ensure the ambience reflects
her personality and vision for a special hotel.

Our stay proved to be the special occasion we wanted it to be.

Room Tip: The two rooms we had overlooked the green and across the valley of Swaledale. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David2732
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
152
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Katoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013

We have been staying at the Burgoyne for over 20 years. We first stayed shortly after Derek and Peter took it on and have seen it evolve over the years. In the recent past we have witnessed the passing of Peter and a few years later the arrival of Julia and Mo, when Derek retired.

Julia and Mo had only been at the hotel for 2 weeks when we stayed in June 2011. In August 2012, they were finding their feet. Now we can see that they have settled in well.They have retained all the excellent aspects of the Burgoyne and made subtle and well received improvements. We were pleased to see that many of the staff have stayed with them, especially Paul and Chris in the kitchen and Allison still waiting on table.

Our view is that the Burgoyne is as good as it ever was and the food is probably even better than before.

We know that we can till rely on the Burgoyne to be our home from home for the years to come.

Room Tip: The 3 best rooms are Marrick with the four poster bed, Redmire and Gunnerside. They all have wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

I wonder if there is a better hotel in the Yorkshire dales. If there is it must be exceptional because the Burgoyne takes some beating. A major factor is the quality of service. Nothing stiff or stuffy, nor too familiar - just friendly,efficient and professional. In the kitchen there are some artists at work. As to rooms, nothing is left to desire ( I don't sympathise with the report complaining that there were no biscuits with the tea-tray- some people look for trouble!);And there was no "atmosphere" in the dining room other than friendly chatter and good service. The hotel is beautifully decorated and furnished with every comfort. We shall certainly return because Reeth is the ideal place to visit if you want to explore the Dales. The only naughty bit is the addition of a charge for coffee after dinner - include this in the price, please as it looks mean. Otherwise, super!

Room Tip: Ask for "Redmire" - the large bedroom overlooking the Reeth Green. It has a superb en-suit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank richard p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

We enjoyed a pleasant overnight stay here but sadly it did not live up to our expectations. Friendly attentive staff, Lovely Room although bathroom very outdated, with an oddly behaving shower, which was not the luxury we were expecting for the price. Nice touch that you could ask for fresh milk in your room, a biscuit to enjoy with your drink would have been appreciated. The evening meal is delicious although not outstanding we felt there was an odd atmosphere in the dinning room.(but that might just have been us!) Couldn't believe that we were charged for coffee after dinner (considering we had just paid £39 a head!) . Good breakfast with a choice of hot and cold dishes served by a very friendly waiter.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alecargeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2013

We had a very pleasant stay at the Burgoyne on the Bank Holiday weekend in May. It takes a bit of getting to Reeth but it was well worth the effort. The hotel is extremely elegant and well appointed and our room, Gunnerside, was lovely. It was very spacious with a large window seat where you could sit and look at the amazing view over the green to the dales beyond.

We had dinner at the hotel which was excellent as was breakfast the following morning and the service could not be faulted. We felt very spoilt.

Because our time in England was limited, Mo and Julia very kindly let us stay just the one night even though it was a Bank Holiday when a two night minimum would normally apply. We are very grateful that they did and gave us the opportunity to experience their hospitality.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
104 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2013

The Burgoyne Hotel has a comfortable well appointed country house atmosphere. Staff helpful, welcoming, breakfasts cooked to order with excellent choice, superb quality food.
Nearly all rooms look out over the village of Reeth to the hills beyond, a delight to sit in the window seats to chill.
Comfortable beds and pillows, the house was warm too which is nice after spending the days walking the Yorkshire Dales.
Food and drink can be obtained at any time along with afternoon tea if wanted.
The area is outstandingly beautiful, much history to learn about in the area and there is a small museum in Reeth.
This a real get away spot relaxing, there is NO 02 service on mobile phones but orange picks up.
Plenty of cafes, pubs etc doing meals at other times of day.
This is a good place for couples or adult family groups, its a treat for grown ups wanting down time.
The whole area is delightful but to find a small but quality hotel like this is a dream.
WE would go back.

Room Tip: NEARLY all rooms look out onto a wonderful vista but ask. As far as we saw the rooms are well appoi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank fussy011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

We recently spent two nights at this lovely welcoming hotel in Reeth. It has a commanding location at the top of the village green with splendid views across the Yorkshire Dales. The owners Julia and Mo go to great lengths to make sure that all your needs are met.
We stayed in the large and very lovely Ivelet suite right at the top of the hotel with fabulous views from the window.
All the staff were pleasant and professional and we had a fine dinner in the hotel with locally sourced and well cooked food. We did a lot of walking nearby and it was good to return to somewhere so cosy and comfortable each evening. It is a great spot to relax in.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
0.0 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
23.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
4.0 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
8.4 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgoyne Hotel

Property: Burgoyne Hotel
Address: On The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Burgoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgoyne Hotel Richmond
Burgoyne Hotel Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing