We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent weekend break!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burgoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burgoyne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
198 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend break!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Everything about this lovely georgian property exudes luxury and excellence. Immaculate attention to detail and spotlessly clean. Services levels excellent. The staff cannot do enough for you. The food was also fantastic. The only minor negatives were 1, the bathrooms although spotless could probably do with updating. Having said that because it is an old property ,it gets away with it. 2, there is only one sitting at dinner which is 7.30pm and breakfast is only served 8.30 to 9.30 am. It is a little restrictive however I would return and stay there again. We both thought the stay was a 9/10 which equates to 4.5 stars .... Since I can only pick 4 or 5 stars on Tripadvisor, I feel it's unfair to downgrade to 4 therefore I have chosen to mark it 5 star!!

Room Tip: All the rooms can be viewed on their internet site. Pictures or virtual tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
27
152
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
hull
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We had intended visiting as a group for sometime but our expectation was surpassed when we actually styed for two nights recently.Th welcome was warm and friendly from Julia Mo and Eileen as well as the two dogs. We had 2 fabulous dinners and great breakfasts with lots of choices. Dinners were fine dining standard and the chef is very good.
The room we had was on the ground floor with escape to the garden for our two dogs whilst our friends had lovely views from upstairs rooms overlooking Reeth Green and the hills.

Room Tip: Garden room suited us with dogs but for views ask for the front rooms upstairs.j
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank john w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We booked the Burgoyne to celebrate our 1st wedding anniversary. We were made to feel welcome as soon as we stepped through the front door when we were greeted by not just Julia and Mo. but Lola and Belle their beautiful black Labradors, I could not have asked for a better welcome as I am a massive dog lover.. The hotel is very homely and comfortable and could not be in a better position right at the top of the village green. The food,( we had breakfast and evening meal,) was beautifully cooked and very well presented and the service we received from all the staff was second to none and we could not fault any part of our stay. We will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 030513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

We recently stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary. It is right at the top of the village green. We were given a front facing room which was more like a suite than a room with huge windows looking right across the village and out across the dale. The bathroom was nearly as big! Very clean and very nicely furnished (four poster bed). The staff couldn't have been nicer (and the house dogs!) and welcomed our dog Alf (who was allowed to stay in the room overnight and whilst we ate.

Food was very good particularly the full English breakfast. really, really recommend this glorious place we will most certainly visit again.

Room Tip: Stay in the Marrick room or another room at the front for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morrisNorthEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I booked the Burgoyne Hotel on a recommendation of a friend who lives locally to the hotel, We found the staff very help full, the room was very nice and evening meal excellent. For a special break I would recommend staying at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bishop B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hordle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just returned from spending 4 days at the Burgoyne. We had a great time and were made to feel so very much at home. Mo and Julia the owners were delightful and nothing was too much trouble. Their staff are so delightful and customer service is second to done. The food was excellent also the wine selection. Our room, we stayed in Marrick was wonderful and spacious. Our window overlooked the green and the rolling hills beyond. How wonder ful to wake up each morning to that view. Thank you to everyone at the Burgoyne for making our stay memorable.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in Marrick
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grays Thurrock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We came to the Burgoyne Hotel, Reeth with 2 friends who had stayed here on another occasion and had said how nice it was. We were not disappointed. The Burgoyne Hotel is situated in a peaceful town, ideally placed to explore this lovely part of the Yorkshire dales. Our comfortable, en-suite room, Gunnerside, overlooked the village green and was well equipped with tea and coffee making facilities. Breakfasts were excellent with a good selection of fresh fruits, cereals and cooked breakfasts to order. The evening meals were also superb. There are cosy lounges with fires and comfy chairs which are ideal for that pre-dinner drink. The owners and staff were very attentive and did all they could to make our stay enjoyable. We wouldn't hesitate to come here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DougandMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
23.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
381 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
243 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
24.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
27.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgoyne Hotel

Property: Burgoyne Hotel
Address: On The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Burgoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgoyne Hotel Richmond
Burgoyne Hotel Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing