We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfection”
Review of Burgoyne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burgoyne Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfection”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

My partner and I have spent NewYear at the Burgoyne for the last three years and will be going again for the end of 2014 and the start of 2015. The hotel has a very warm and friendly atmosphere, with views looking out across the Yorkshire Dales. The owners and staff make you feel really welcome, the bedrooms are comfortable and each has its own facilities. Last but by no means least the food is fantastic with an excellent wine list. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    32
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
154
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
233 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We stayed in the Ivelet room, I should say rooms as we had a large bedroom, a sitting area, very useful for my insomniac husband and me, and a bathroom. Bath and shower.
Televisions in the bedroom and sitting room.
Traditional decor.
Good points:
Fantastic view of the village and The Dales from our bedroom
Double glazing so very quiet room
Morton Brown shampoo, body wash and soap
Hair dryer, slippers and dressing gowns
Plenty of coffee, tea, chocolate in the room but no herbal teas
Large and very comfortable bed
Only one sitting for diner but the food was freshly, beautifully cooked and reasonably priced
Friendly staff in dining room especially Sophie and Eileen
Not so good:
When we arrived the lady at the reception was on the phone, as soon as she put the phone down, it rung again, nobody apparently at the other end so she criticised people who are using their mobile phones where there is no reception!!! This was our welcome! After a 6 hours's journey we expected something more courteous! It was a shame as everybody we met afterwards was very friendly and polite.
Wifi available only sitting downstairs near reception
No vodofone reception
Overall an excellent stay.

Room Tip: A room in the front of the hotel with the wonderful view of the Dales. Beware some bathrooms are no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thera1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

My husband and I have just spent a couple of nights in the hotel and enjoyed our stay. The room was very clean and a good size (Gunnerside). My only complaints being the bed was rather hard and the floodlight on the front of the building prevented a realty good nights sleep. The food was excellent we enjoyed an evening meal on our first night, the quality and portion size were good although desserts were smaller than I would have liked. Everything was well cooked and well presented. Breakfast was excellent. We would definitely return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We came across the Burgoyne by chance having got last minute notice that babysitters were on hand to look after our 14 month old son for the weekend. There was no room at the inn at some of the other hotels we have previously stayed at or heard about and a wider search lead us to the Burgoyne where there was 1 room available. A quick glance at Tripadvisor indicated this wasn't a dud so we booked...The weekend we chose was blessed with glorious sunshine and The Burgoyne takes pride of place on the village green, with beautiful gardens. We stayed in Thwaite which was a decent size with simply stunning views across the green and into the Dales beyond. Our only slight disappointment was that the bathroom was across the corridor which we didn't know when we booked the room. The bathroom was stocked with Molton Brown miniatures but was a little old-fashioned and not really up to spec with what you've come to expect but it had a bath, shower and plentiful hot water so minor niggles. What really makes this hotel is the location and service. Pre-dinner drinks in the gardens are idyllic and waking up in bed to see the Dales from your window is a view which makes every penny of the room rate worth it. The staff are really accommodating and genuinely go out of their way to make you feel happy and comfortable especially Paul (the chef and DVD repairer!) and Eileen the manageress. The 4 course £40 menu has lots of choice and is very tasty but for more than 1 night, it would be pricey and too filling and would be nice to have the choice to pick if you want a starter etc...On our first night we ate in The King's Arms over the road which was delicious pub food and a nice contrast to the Burgoyne's more grand offering.
Having stayed in a fair few boutique hotels, the Burgoyne may feel a little more traditional but is all the more charming for it. It isn't trying to be hip or trendy - it just makes the most of it's gorgeous surroundings and delivers exceptional service so you are made to feel special and welcome - what more can you ask for (well maybe more of those delicious buttery shortbread biscuits on the second day - I was very upset to open the tin and find it empty!!)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CLM78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here 1 night whilst walking the 76 miles "Innway Circular" Lovely warm welcome from Sophie who couldn't do enough for us, a spectacular luxurious room with great attention to detail, a marvellous view over Swaledale and a full breakfast of every fruit, yoghurt, cereal imagineable followed by a wide choice of cooked English and continental dishes. Wonderful.

The plush surroundings were spotless, a lovely old historical building with an interesting past, dinner was £40 a head, so we skipped that and ate in the pub! Our labrador dog was made very welcome, we took extra care that he remaioned on his best behaviour in such a salubrious environment! We were given a "good deal" here as a gesture from the Burgoyne which we really appreciated, as we had not managed to find anywhere else to stay in Reeth that night.

If you have a few quid and want to really treat yourself, then this is the place! Faultless.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front offer spectacular views across Swaledale
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful view out our window across the green! Comfortable room with plush towels, linens and robes. We enjoyed a glass of wine and played cards in one of the two lovely lounges with fireplaces before dinner. The chef outdid him/her self with course after course of delicious food artfully presented. Our only regret is that we could only stay one night.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We were showing my sons girlfriend the Dales her first visit, we stayed at the Burgoyne and that made our visit complete, it is a really beautiful place set in beautiful surroundings I wish we could have stayed longer. The staff were really helpful and very attentive Our evening meal was a 4 course at £40 each the food was really good. I chose lamb it was cooked to perfection I also chose Lemon cream meringue, summer fruits honey and pistachio nuts need I say more. Please go and stay there you will not regret it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosemary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
23.7 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
390 reviews
16.3 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
13.2 mi away
The Buck Hotel
The Buck Hotel
#2 of 2 in Reeth
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.1 mi away
Simonstone Hall Country House Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Frenchgate Restaurant & Hotel
4.6 mi away
Middleton Lodge
Middleton Lodge
#3 of 8 in Richmond
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burgoyne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burgoyne Hotel

Property: Burgoyne Hotel
Address: On The Green, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Burgoyne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burgoyne Hotel Richmond
Burgoyne Hotel Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing