We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely rooms”
Review of The Buck Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Buck Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Certificate of Excellence
Meriden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely rooms”
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A lovely warm welcome was given even though we arrived very late in the night. Stunning room with four poster bed overlooking the dales. Very friendly atmosphere.
Breakfast was good although very greasy but plenty fruit, cereals etc.
We ate in the evening there twice, good food for pub but very samey. Would definately go back.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a super view over the dales.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    79
    25
    22
    10
See reviews for
43
125
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Thirty years ago we spent the first two night of our honeymoon here so it made sense to go back for our anniversary, the current owners have been in about three years or so. The cost for two of us for one night B&B was £84, now we booked late and got the last available room. The room was nice enough if a bit small, the bed seemed small and the mattress didn't fit the base which was weird but the bathroom scruffy and needed a makeover.

The staff were lovely and friendly especially the lady serving breakfast although I must admit I didn't particularly like the breakfast.

The view from our bedroom window was spectacular.

Room Tip: We booked late and ended up with the room above the bar which could be noisy so check first which ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

Found the buck ideally located in the centre of Reeth. Was able to check in early having completed my walk for the day early. Room was clean and functional. Food in the bar and for breakfast was okay without being fantastic. Packed lunch for the coast to coaster was average. Great bar with some interesting beer and cider selections

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank johngiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We liked this so much we came back to eat on the second night of our stay in Swaledale. There were good veggie choices as they do a range of pizzas as well as the main meals. Much improved on the previous occupants - last time we stayed we didn't eat there because the vegetarian options were so limited.The staff are friendly, the range of single malt whiskies is huge, and the outside tables have views of the village green, and across Reeth and some of Swaledale. The village is pretty with a good icecream shop and other pubs as well. We stayed in Park End Guest House, about 3 miles away which has views across the dale from the patio and a very friendly host.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LesleyHedges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

stayed over at the buck for one night. Lovely room(no.8) four poster lovely view of t he green and very spacious. The staff were really helpfull nothing too much trouble. Lots of lovely walks from the front door, breakfast was better than most you could have anything u wanted full english,omlette,bacon sandwich, smoked haddock etc. Would definatly stay again reeth is a proper dales village lovelly atmosphere for a night out, ther are another couple of pubs and a cafe come bistro if you want something other than pub grubb.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dollywagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blyth
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013 via mobile

We called in for lunch after it was recommended to us by a business in the village. We were not disappointed at all. We were made very welcome by Abi, who came over after we had ordered and had a lovely chat with us, I visited with my mum and my daughter on Monday 20th May. The food was excellent, I had the steak pie, my mum a kids bangers and mash, and my daughter had a mixed Kebab. We were not kept waiting, the food was served without any delay. Abi came over whilst we were eating o check everything was ok. We could not fault The Buck Hotel.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank BewickBlyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2013

Wholesome food reasonably priced - good choice of beers and friendly atmosphere ( we did not stay here so cannot comment on the guest rooms)

We have had a drink here on several occasions and beer of a good quality.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjhall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Reeth
13.2 mi away
Burgoyne Hotel
Burgoyne Hotel
#1 of 2 in Reeth
235 reviews
11.1 mi away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
393 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Red Lion Hotel
Red Lion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Burnsall
787 reviews
23.9 mi away
The Devonshire Fell Hotel
0.0 mi away
Kings Arms Hotel
Kings Arms Hotel
#4 of 10 in Reeth
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Buck Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Buck Hotel

Property: The Buck Hotel
Address: Arkengarthdale Road, Reeth, Yorkshire Dales National Park DL11 6SW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Reeth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Reeth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Buck Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buck Hotel is a former Coaching Inn which dates from circa 1760 and is located at the village of Reeth's main cross roads and where a turnpike was in operation two centuries ago. The C2C goes past the front door, so the Buck is very popular with walkers.The Buck retains its traditional oak beamed bar with interesting horse brasses and an amazing collection of door knockers! Plus the tour de France passed the front door in 2014 so has now become very popular with cyclists. With an excellent reputation for real ales and ciders the Buck has been awarded the 2015/16 Cask Marque [for quality Real ales] and is featured in the CAMRA Good Beer Guide 2015.There is a good and varied menu with daily specials, which includes everything from Steaks to Fish & Chips and Game when in season.If you like a whisky, there are over 50 to choose from and the wine list is very popular. Dogs are welcome and there is overnight storage for cylcles. With a roaring log fire, the Buck offers the genuine Yorkshire welcome. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Buck Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Buck Hotel Reeth, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing