We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great wine, excellent cheese platter!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ghost Rock Vineyard

Ghost Rock Vineyard
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
“Great wine, excellent cheese platter!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014

What a lovely way to spend an afternoon! Tasting excellent Tassie wines enjoyed with a generous cheese platter overlooking the scenic winery next to a blue vista of Bass Strait, magic.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Deb W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    28
    3
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great lunch stop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

We had stopped at quite a few vineyards in our travels around Tasmania, and Ghost Rock is one of the more established ones. The tasting was informative and allowed us to choose some wine to drink for lunch with a beautiful platter as well as choosing some great wines to take home. Tables are set outside with a beautiful view over the vineyard- most relaxing.
Also has a small gift shop- but the real stars are the wines- our Tasmanian hosts were most impressed with our purchases!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank suziehbabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
163 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Nice wines, lunch average”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2014

Dropped in by chance and we were pleasantly surprised. We were warmly greeted and invited to enjoy a tasting of the wine available. This was informative and not rushed allowing us to savour the different flavours. We decided to sat for lunch and enjoyed the jazz musicians who were performing for Sunday lunch. There is a limited menu available but enough choice from the variety of platters and dessert offerings to satisfy. We chose to share a Tasting platter which for $45 was quite small but fresh. Perhaps for the money the plater could be improved when comparing similar experiences elsewhere. However the view across the vineyard is lovely.
The wine can be bought by the glass to accompany lunch which we did and then bought some to take with us.
There is also a small gift shop attached to the complex.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank deborahbC3444RB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hobart
Level Contributor
218 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Our group of 8 popped in yesterday for a wine tasting before we sat down for lunch.
We were welcomed by the staff and taken through all of their wines without being rushed.
Lunch was simple but very enjoyable,
Antipasto platters were the order of the day and a couple of these we're washed down with the Ghost Rock Reisling, Pinot Gris and Pinot Noir.
This is a lovely spot for a light lunch and apparently the Sunday music sessions are popular.
Our pockets were lighter on departure but our car boot had some nice bottles to enjoy at a later time.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank ushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous boutique wines, great staff and excellent food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

Ghost Rock Winery is a wonderful representation of the best Tasmania has to offer in terms of location, wine, food and service. I recommend the lunch platters and the wonderful entertainment that represents the local talent. Take time to become a member and enjoy really good benefits. Great wines, great service and a place I will continue to visit time and time again. Well done.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bronwyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ghost Rock Vineyard also viewed

Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Ghost Rock Vineyard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing