We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Atmospheric, friendly and spotlessly clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Juan II, Toro
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Toro
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Arranged via Brittany Ferries. No English spoken except by one very friendly waitress but all staff were as helpful as possible. Great views from our immaculate (not luxurious) room. Strange (possibly illegal?) lack of fire drill info in room. Bathroom spotless and none of that "help us save the world by not changing your towels" nonsense. Restaurant seemed a bit formal and pricey but the cafeteria food was excellent value and lots of locals used it and the bar. Great if you want comfort and a good location but don't expect super luxury.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cheltonianCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (166)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Juan II, Toro
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 166 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2008

We have stayed at this hotel before with a trip arranged by the Panther Car Club. This year the club wanted to revisit this hotel.
We find the staff really helpful and always cheerful. The manager, who we discovered has been there for about 20 years, is always ready to sort out any problems. Be prepared to use your Spanish as not much English is spoken here - this leads to some entertaining moments in the hotel restaurant.
The town of Toro is a hidden gem, it's the place I would go if retiring in Spain. The residents are always friendly and as it's relatively small everyone knows everyone else. Visit the Farina winery if you have time. Their export director, Nicola, is an ex-pat and is a delight to talk to. For the best food in Spain try to get in there for lunch.

Andy

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2008

I have stayed in this Hotel a number of times, mostly I have turned up on my Motorbike and have met with a courtesy and welcome that was as good as if I had come in a Rolls. The rates are very good (this year I paid 3 euros more for a balcony room overlooking the Duero - VERY WELL WORTH IT) The restaurant downstairs is excellent, the position so close to the heart of Toro fantastic, the views here from the bluff above the river and next to the church are breathtaking and seduce one into watching the whole sunset till darkness dims the light of the river if not the roar from the weir under the old bridge below. If you want to see Salamanca and Zamora you can do it from here. The local wine is great - try the Penas Rejas - Roble!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Dunecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 days ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Primer piso habitación 101, esquina a la Colegiata y a la vega del Duero
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank TerrassaBasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
4  Thank currar l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mikel L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_JuanII, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Juan II, Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Esteban7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
H_JuanII, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Juan II, Toro, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Toro
5.7 mi away
Valbusenda Hotel Bodega & Spa
0.1 mi away
Hotel Zaravencia
Hotel Zaravencia
#2 of 4 in Toro
86 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Maria De Molina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Parador de Zamora
Parador de Zamora
#1 of 14 in Zamora
735 reviews
18.1 mi away
Hotel Horus Zamora
Hotel Horus Zamora
#3 of 14 in Zamora
395 reviews
11.6 mi away
Hotel Spa Convento I
Hotel Spa Convento I
#1 of 1 in Coreses
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Juan II, Toro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Juan II, Toro

Address: Paseo del Espolon, 1, 49800 Toro, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Zamora > Toro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Toro
Price Range: £50 - £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Juan II, Toro 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel Juan II is located in the old town next to the Monumental Collegiate and 50 meters from Plza Mayor which is full of art houses and bars with traditional tapas and the famous wines of Toro. The hotel has 42 spacious and comfortable rooms some oh them has view to the Collegiata and others to the Douro valley. There is a restaurant with typical dishes and a wide panoramic terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Juan II, Toro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing