We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Posada Molino del Canto
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Spent a few wonderful days at this beautifully converted mill. Extremely peaceful and comfortable.
Rooms were great, as described before. Javier and his wife were extremely hospitable.Really enjoyed the home cooking, would definitely recommend sampling the cuisine. Hearty tasty breakfasts too. Great area to walk, interesting limestone gorges, friendly locals and great wee bars!
Hope to return another year!

Room Tip: Rooms are all the same, all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsyoohoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
67
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Beautiful situation, superb food and wonderful hosts! The mill is lovely inside and out. The area is peaceful and full of bird life. I recommend Javier's birding trip! Walks in nearby woods or sit and read in the shade of an enormous walnut tree!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pembrokeshire
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely little Spanish farmhouse converted to a mini-hotel in the heart of the Spanish northern mountains. A little hard to find but that adds to it's charm - lost in time with gorgeous antique furnishings and tile floors, a cosy restaurant for guests only and a sunny and shady courtyard and lawn area for relaxing with a well-earned drink after a day exploring. There is fine linen and lace on the bedding, soft wool blankets on the little sofas and lovely recycle, natural, eco-friendly products everywhere. Freshly cooked evening meals and breakfasts - set menu, but that alone was an encouragement to try things we otherwise wouldn't have - which is a real part of our Spanish experience!
The rooms have a mezzanine level for the bed and bathroom and a lower level for a little sitting room with coffee table, sofa, reading lamps and small table and chairs with complimentary mineral water and cookies. Hosts are fantastic - enough English to get by (husband has lots more English than his wife but both are absolutely lovely and bridge the communication gap with humour and enthusiasm!). If you want a taste of real authentic hospitality without undue intrusion then go!!

Room Tip: They're all lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizziej1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanley Swan, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Javier and Valvanera were delightful hosts and we would love to go back again. The Molino is extremely well situated, quiet, comfortable and peaceful. Javier can lead a 4-hour birdwatching trip in his 4x4 which is fascinating, both as a bird watching and a sight-seeing trip. All in all, one of the best places we have ever stayed. Don't go there for the night-life!

Room Tip: All 6 rooms seem to be similar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dajmcunliffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
877 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The beautifully restored miller's house nestles beside the River Ebro in the hidden valley of Zamanzas. Javier and Valvanera gave us a warm welcome and it set the tone for a wonderfully relaxed 4 day stay. Our suite was very pretty, two levels, a sitting room with sofa, table and chairs looking out to a festoon of pink roses in the courtyard below. Upstairs a lovely bedroom with brass bedstead beautiful linen and lace, beamed ceiling and well appointed bathroom. The meadow garden beside the river has various seating scattered in sun and shade under a magnificent walnut tree. We were provided with notes and maps for various walks and lots of information about local wildlife especially birds. We hiked each day without having to use our car and thoroughly enjoyed the dramatic vistas of the valley. Breakfasts and dinners were wonderful. It's quite something to place yourself in the hands of your host and trust his choices of menu. I strongly recommend this idea. It had a sense of theatre as each course appeared and was described. I ate dishes I would never have ventured to choose previously and thoroughly enjoyed them. All the ingredients were delicious and excellent quality and presented with great care and attention. I cannot recommend this beautiful place highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lavarcham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014 via mobile

For the proprietors we would like them to have a stream of visitors. For ourselves we would wish this perfect little place to remain a secret. This old mill building has been sensitively restored using recycled materials and furnishings. Chic design choices and lovely eccentric decorative touches. Each of the six suites has a sitting room and upstairs a bedroom and bathroom.
The location by the mill stream brings you sounds only of the birds and the running water. Enjoy woodland walks - vultures circling overhead. A bird lover's paradise.
And the food......traditional Basque delicacies and inventions of their own that one longs to be able to recreate oneself. And in quantities sufficient for an army.
Take walking shoes and good company. Lie under the lilacs and reconnect with yourself.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woottonwitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrid
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

We stayed at the Posada over the Christmas period, as other family members had rented a house nearby. Everything about the place is truly welcoming, the owner Javier and his lovely family, the woodburning stove in the lounge/dining area and the comfortable accommodation on two floors.
Despite arriving much later than planned on our first evening, Javier was able to rustle up a most enjoyable dinner, which set the pattern for the rest of our 5 night stay. Excellent breakfasts were enjoyed every morning.
The location of the Posada alongside the Ebro river is just beautiful and most peaceful.The whole surrounding area is totally unspoilt and quite spectacular in places, with numerous tiny hamlets scattered throughout.
If we are ever in the area again we most certainly will revisit the Posada.
Sastre, Madrid

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sastreMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bario La Cuesta
5.2 mi away
La Nogala
La Nogala
#1 of 1 in Dobro
63 reviews
23.8 mi away
Casona de Quintana
Casona de Quintana
#1 of 1 in Quintana de Soba
301 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre Berrueza
Hotel Posada y Restaurante Torre...
#1 of 1 in Espinosa de los Monteros
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Balneario de Corconte
Balneario de Corconte
#1 of 1 in Cabanas de Virtus
98 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Gandara
La Gandara
#1 of 1 in Crespos
79 reviews
5.6 mi away
Casa Rural Torres
Casa Rural Torres
#1 of 1 in Valdenoceda
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Posada Molino del Canto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Posada Molino del Canto

Property: Posada Molino del Canto
Address: Molino del Canto s/n, 09146 Bario La Cuesta, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Burgos > Bario La Cuesta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bario La Cuesta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is located in a precious corner of the Valley of Zamanzas, in the border of the Ebro river, to fifty meters of the mill that gives name it. During hundreds of years it was the place of work of the millers, and now, after a well-taken care of restoration, we have turned it a rest place. For the restoration of the buildings, one has considered all those aspects that cause that the inn totally is integrated in the means that surround it, agreed in construction equipments with the own ones of the zone, wood of oak and limestone . The property consists of three buildings, the old house, today Inn, where are the rooms, the dining room and the kitchen. The old oven, today office. And the wonderful Mill, today recovered and fixed, continues being the Mill, although now already nobody brings wheat to grind, but you will be able to see its operation.Like the construction of the Inn, we have tried to dress it in its interior in furniture and old and recovered elements. In the ground floor, the hall, with a small library, specialized in books of routes, birds and ethnography of the region, takes step to the dining room chimney and with capacity for twelve people, or eighteen to us in the case of groups. The elm tree stairs give access to the first plant in that are the six rooms, to the being all type duplex, enters first a private hall and in the top plant it is the dormitory and the bath with bathtub, this top plant is with an attic and counts on a great window in the tile roof that contributes to light and romanticism in the nights with moon. We have rooms with double beds and others with two beds, in anyone of the two cases the beds ample and are dressed in sheets and bedspread cotton. All the rooms have the possibility of installing extra beds, reason why the capacity and distribution can be varied, consult us for groups or families. In the outside there is a porch and an ample garden next to the Ebro river, as well as a gigantic walnut that coolness in summer gives us.The Molino del Canto is located within the Parque Natural de las Hoces del Alto Ebro y Rudrón nature reserve.The Posada is the starting point for all our birdwatching walks, and it is easy to see why. Just by leaning out of the window you can see Griffon Vultures, Golden and Short-toed Eagles on the cliffs or in the sky above. The river Ebro runs past the door, with Herons, Dippers, Cormorants, Wagtails and others. In the garden are a tremendous variety, including Iberian Chiffchaff, Bonelli’s Warbler, Woodpeckers, various finches and tits, and other species. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Posada Molino del Canto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing