We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely helpfull staff!”
Review of Fuente Acena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Fuente Acena
Certificate of Excellence
Turnhout, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Extremely helpfull staff!”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A great compliment for the staff at Fuente! When ordering a bottle of wine or a cheese platter, the staff comes and brings it to your personal terras (if you are on the lower floor).
Also when you are interested in visiting some vineyards, the staff will call and make the reservation for you. This time the restaurant was closed (... again...??) but breakfast is just great.

The rooms are nice, clean and spacious. Compared to some registered big brands: here you get value for your money.

Great place to stay and a base experiencing the great wines in the Duero area... and if you have time (and some counts left...) go for diner at the Abadia (about 2 km distance)!

Enjoy!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower floor have terras....
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne_DB58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    67
    6
    5
    1
See reviews for
23
83
2
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

The Posada Fuente de la Acena is not hard to find (thanks to GPS!!) We stayed two nights and ate two breakfasts, one late lunch and one dinner at the hotel. The food was very good!! The rooms were large and had all of the amenities. We stayed here as part of our Winery crawl of the Ribera del Duero. Perfect location!! Don't miss the walk to wine tastings around the hotel. And don't miss the Protos Winery designed by Richard Rogers and Castle in Penafiel.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KansasCouple66047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Catalonia, Spain
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This cozy hotel is located in Quintanilla de Onésimo, a small village in the Rivera del Duero wine region. Modern minimalist rooms, simple but comfortable, located in a refurbished flour mill next to Duero River. Friendly staff and excellent restaurant with regional specialities and a wide selection of local wines. Free parking and wifi service. The best choice if you want a quiet place to stay and a convenient base to visit the region.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

I found this posada thanks to the Maribel guide and I was very pleased with our stay. The posada is a quaint and beautifully designed bed and breakfast in a small town about 30 minutes drive east of Valladolid center. If you favor Dwell or Wallpaper magazine, you will appreciate the design of the hotel, with clean lines and a heavy emphasis on limestone and wood. As the posada used to be a watermill, it is located literally next to the river, so you have a very picturesque view when you arrive of the Duero rushing by. I think this is what makes this posada very unique from the other hotels and bed/breakfasts I researched in the area.

Our room was quite spacious, even by American standards, with a full sized bathtub and a spacious desk/seating area. For those who have rooms on the ground floor, there is a shared balcony overlooking the river that is very quaint.

Breakfast is included and contains the usual European fare (cereals, meats, cheeses, pastries, fresh fruit). Though selection was not abundant (though plenty sufficient), quality was evident with freshly squeezed orange juice and pastries that tasted like it was baked earlier that morning. Additionally, the room contains complimentary bottles of water, juice and a snack.

In terms of location, the posada is at the start (or end, depending on where you are) of the wine region encompassing Valladolid and Burgos, so if you want to be in the "center" I would recommend staying in Penafiel. However, despite not being centrally located, there were plenty of bodegas within very short drive. The staff were all very helpful in arranging reservations. The region itself is not that huge if you have a few extra days to spare. It only took us maybe 20 minutes to Penafiel and an hour to drive to Aranda de Duero, if that helps.

We had a very pleasant stay and I would definitely stay here again. The selling point for me was definitely the design of the posada, the quiet location and being adjacent to the river. Of note, for those who like nature hikes, there is a very nice walking trail on the other side of the bridge, which is parallel to the river (turn right when you cross the bridge and look for steps leading down to the river).

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

This hotel is basic but it is good value for money. It is situated next to a creek which in the summer on a nice day should give it a nice setting in nature. What sets this hotel apart is the restaurant. It offers good traditional dishes and is served by friendly, even if a bit too hurried, staff. I would recommend the place for a family and as a base for visiting the famous Ribera del Duero wine region.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room at the back on the 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adolfoMontreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
319 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 203 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This is a very modern, comfortable hotel by the peace of the river Duero. The service is very good and the wi.fi. in all rooms and free parking appreciated. The breakfast was reasonable.
We had forgotten the plug adapter to fit our US plug into the Spanish receptacle and they provided us with a spare one. Very nice touch. The accessibility to a restful stroll by the margin of the river and the old stone bridge was welcome after a long drive.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinezcm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2013

I stayed twice in this hotel and I even decided to celebrate my birthday there last year. The location and the building are wonderful. The place and the rooms are very elegant. We loved the restaurant where the food is refined and excellent.
It's a human-sized hotel where the staff is extremely courteous and helpful.
I decided to organize a family reunion for my birthday last year (50 people) and they did a fantastic job.
Definitely a place I recommend.

Room Tip: All the rooms are large, nicely and modernly designed, with a nice terrace along the canal where you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loic M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quintanilla de Onesimo
2.6 mi away
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
#1 of 1 in Sardon de Duero
404 reviews
5.2 mi away
Castilla Termal Monasterio de Valbuena
2.0 mi away
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
#2 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.7 mi away
Hotel Convento Las Claras
13.6 mi away
Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
12.7 mi away
LaVida Vino Spa
LaVida Vino Spa
#1 of 3 in Penafiel
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fuente Acena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fuente Acena

Property: Fuente Acena
Address: Calle Molino s/n, 47350 Quintanilla de Onesimo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Quintanilla de Onesimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Quintanilla de Onesimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Fuente Acena 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fuente Acena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing