We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elegant design in calm surroundings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Cambridge
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Elegant design in calm surroundings”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

From the front (the Bodega) it looks ok - drive ( and you will certainly need a car to stay there) around to the hotel behind and the wow factor appears!
Starkly elegant blend of old bodega stone with modern glass that really works.

Gardens are simple and cooling, rooms are large, elegant and well equipped and the pool is glamorous.

A great place to spend a few nights exploring Ribeira del Duero wines - and definitely include theirs in your plans

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cityhoppa11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arzuaga, Director Comercial at Hotel & Spa Arzuaga, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente,

Queremos desde Hotel Arzuaga & Spa darle las Gracias por haber dedicado su tiempo haciéndonos llegar este comentario sobre su estancia y por haberlo compartido con la comunidad de usuarios de TripAdvisor.

Nos alegramos que haya disfrutado de su experiencia en nuestro hotel y nada nos complacería más que poder volver a recibirle en su próximo viaje.

Reiterándole una vez más nuestra sincera gratitud por la confianza depositada en nuestras instalaciones y equipo humano,

Le saluda atentamente quedando a su disposición,

Hotel Arzuaga & Spa
+34,983 68 70 04
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    97
    54
    33
    26
See reviews for
28
219
3
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

This feedback concerns exclusivelly the spa, and the water circuit in particular. I wasn't hosted in the hotel or got any treatment.

The first impression is really good: architecturally is very interesting, with views to the vineyards, all brand new and clean, ample changing rooms, they provide you with slippers, bath caps, shampoo, gel, bathrobe, towels, locker, etc.

Unfortunatelly, the rest was a disappointment. The jets in one of the two jacuzzis (the one with the water jets) as well as on the swimming pool were not strong enough. Both the dry and wet saunas were only half heated, with way lower temperatures than one might expect. The sauna effect was gone, useless. The swimming pool area is very boring, with just a few water jets again not strong enough, and a few bubble beds. The strongest point of this area is the views to the vineyard, unfortunatelly not the water experience.

Finally, a poor service. I tried to reach the staff in a couple of occasions but couldn't find anybody. I had to get out of the spa area into the hotel lobby to ask the lady there to locate the spa staff.

Funny though that the lady from the spa staff spontaeously and promptly appeared 10-15 mins before my 90 minutes circuit ended to let me know I had to start getting to the changing rooms, in spite of the spa being literally empty.

So, in summa, I had heard a lot about this spa and wanted to try it since long before but unfortunatelly overall experience was very poor, by no means worth 45 euros for 90 mins (including my time to chase the staff, power up the two saunas, and the notice to leave at minute 80).

I think a better management, better maintenance and better approach to customers would greatly improve overall customer experience, but as of now and based on my one-time (and last) experience I regret to say I would definitelly not reccomend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meridio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arzuaga, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Spa Arzuaga, responded to this review, 16 May 2014
Google Translation
Estimado Cliente:

En primer lugar, nos gustaría agradecerle que nos haga llegar su opinión a través de TripAdvisor, ofreciéndonos de este modo, una información de un gran valor para nosotros.

Comentarle que tendremos a bien las valoraciones que ha hecho de nuestros servicios e instalaciones, las cuales nos incitan a seguir trabajando para mejorar cada día y que haremos todo lo posible por satisfacerle en una futura visita a nuestro Hotel.

Reciba un cordial Saludo,

Hotel Arzuaga & Spa
+34, 983687004
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Quintanilla de Onesimo hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
NY
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Just visited this beautiful property for our 12th wedding anniversary. The area itself is beautiful. The hotel is an enclave in the middle of the wine region so the views are endlessly amazing. We upgraded our room to a suite for an extra charge but it was worth it. Room 232 is a corner room with excellent views of the vineyards, sunrise and sunset are equally beautiful. The breakfast was included in our room rate and it was, as they are in most of Spain, simply fantastic. You will wake up to fresh squeezed orange juice, pastries, marmalade, local cheeses and meat, eggs and a view from the restaurant that invite you to stay forever. We took advantage of the fabulous Spa. They have different type of saunas, a salted Jacuzzi, a pool with different types of shower heads with the most fantastic views if the vineyard. It seems like you are relaxing right by the grapes vines.....We reserved their signature package called Gran Reserva" which included access to the spa and 20% off any spa treatments. We took advantage of the offer and booked a treatment for 2 called "brindis para dos"....This treatment was very nice, it included a grape seeds wrap, exfoliation and a relaxing massage. You will also visit their property to see where they grow the grapes, and where they also has a hunting area with different animals that you can see up close, this was cool. Of course you will not leave without tasting their wine and knowing more about the wine culture, a fascinating history and a way of life in this part of Spain. I will definitely recommend this place and I'm already thinking of another opportunity to go back....

Room Tip: Go for a corner room in the new side of the hotel. There are two areas, one set of rooms located in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MSoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arzuaga, Director de Relaciones con Clientes at Hotel & Spa Arzuaga, responded to this review, 25 October 2013
Dear client;

From Hotel Arzuaga & Spa, we want to be grateful for taking your time sending us this comment about your stay and for sharing it with the community of users of TripAdvisor. We are deeply glad you enjoyed your experience in our hotel and nothing would please us more than welcome you again on your next trip.

We care about those opinions that every travellers housed in our hotel report us in order to provide every time the best deal to all our customers.

Reiterating once again our sincere gratitude for your confidence in our facilities and our staff,

Yours sincerely;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

My husband and I had a wonderful weekend in Arzuaga Hotel last April. Our room was big and comfortable, adequately furnished, with a relaxing view to the vineyard. The bathroom was also spacy, with nice bath products. The breakfast was really good and spanish (you could choose, for example, fresh scrumbled eggs, tomato deep - a really nice spanish tip for breakfast-, good quality jamon (which is the spanish "prosciutto") etc. The hotel restaurans provided high quality and delicious traditional kitchen. The hotel is very convenient as a base for further excursions in the area,and especially the the wineries .I would definately go again for a couple of days to relax or just to visit the wineries and buy some really good wines in a decent price!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amlAthens_Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2011

My girlfriend and I have been living in Spain for 9 months with work and decided to spend some time in the Riberia de Duero region befoire we left. Looking through the local vineyards and websites, the impression of Arzuaga is great.

In addition to the standard wine and food services, with accommodation, it also offered a spa, which we booked into for a massage.

The experience was quite shocking.

Notwithstanding the cost (€75 for a 1 hour "massage", against €45 for a 1 hour thai massage in central Madrid where we live), the spa experience itself was appalling. Having been given very nice robes and "slips" to change into, my girlfriend and I were then taken to the shared room we were given for our massage.

The first moment of awkwardness was the massage staff (including the young man massaging me) asking my girlfriend to take her top off in front of them ; not protocol I've EVER seen in a "luxury" massage venue with male masseurs. With this completed, we were laid on the massage tables and the treatment began. Having asked for the firmest form of massage available (were told this was "Turkish"), this unfortunately consisted of nothing more, for the next hour, than first tickling us with feathers and then wrapping and unwrapping different parts of our bodies in thin sheets. The actually time we had being physically massaged totalled 5 minutes, and we finished the treatment feeling exactly as we had at the beginning, apart from now bieng 150 less well off.

When we booked the massage, we specifically asked for the strongest massage available (this was described as "Turkish") and received the least effective massage I've experienced. We always try and fit a massage into our breaks and have done so in many countries (the Bains de Marrakech, in Marrakech, was a proper Turkish massage!), so have good experience of what this should and should not involve. This is the worst I have experienced and comes at a very expensive price.

I mentioned this to the desk, and asked to see the manager, who wasn't in. Having left a full written description (as requested by the reception), I was promised a reply and have still received nothing.

I really would give this place a wide berth if you can...

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StefKulik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I wanted to spend a weekend in a swanky hotel and my wife suggested to go to the Hotel Arzuaga. We have seen it a couple of times when we were driving along the road from Valladolid Airport to Aranda de Duero. Advertisement for the hotel is plastered all over the area and it can’t be missed.

We planned to go their as a party of 6 and I wanted to inquire about the different options for our family with 2 children and my parents in law which I wanted to invite for the weekend. I was thinking about a suite and a connecting room for the children and a separate room for the in-laws, but I was open for recommendations by the hotel staff and I asked for the available options and I requested a quote for the different options. The answer I received from the hotel was succinct: Suites available, no connecting door. This reply was my first contact and I was not impressed as they did not address any of my questions and they as the email contained no signature there was no one that I possibly ask for further information. Well I wasn’t hugely impressed and I looked for a review of the hotel and I came across the Tripadvisor webpage. I was alarmed by the large number of bad critics and convinced my wife not book the hotel without checking it out in first place. We own a little cottage not too far away and we can sleep always in our own place in case we don’t like what we see.

So we were flying in from London to Valladolid and we arrived at around Spanish lunch time. After the early flight we were looking forward to some really nice food in a five star hotel in the rural setting. The location of hotel Arzuaga is first place very remote in the middle of some vineyards a couple of miles from the next village. The next door neighbour is Vega Sicilia which is since decades the most expensive Spanish wine and some of the other neighbours are close competitors for Vega Sicillia. So a very promising set up for some very good food. We arrived at around 2 pm at the hotel and had stroll around the bar and the restaurant. The bar and restaurant have a reception desk, but it was not manned by the time we arrived and I think the lady who was in charge of it had chitchat with the colleagues from the kitchen. Nevertheless we had a stroll around and looked the bar. The bar is relatively plain and I might have expected something more impressive. The tapas didn’t look tempting (and I was hungry after getting up a 4am. Later I spoke to friend of mine who visited this place and her comment about the bar was ‘una bar de carretera’ which means literally a sandwhich outlet in a service station next to a motorway. Never mind we came for the restaurant and not for tapas. We looked at the restaurant which is actually split in 2 conservatory type building. The first one that we entered was completely empty. No guests and no waiter. In the second restaurant we found a waiter, but apart from this it was empty. The waiter was fairly busy doing nothing and he didn’t seem to see us. We approached him in Spanish and after some sort of delay he recognised us. As we had no reservation we was handing us over to one of his colleagues who showed us a place in the back of the restaurant with the view to the rear car park. It is fair to say that none of the staff looked welcoming and the place we were offered was quiet dark and there was a sort of a bad smell which was a little bid unpleasant.

Overall I got a poor impression of the place and I sympathise with the idea to rate this place as a 3 star rather than a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenskLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Schaffhausen
1 review
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We traveld around and needed a room for one night.The room was excellent . In the evening we ate at the restaurant. The food was ok but we had to wait a very long time. I forgot my cardigan after dinner. Next morning we checked out and asked about my jacket. I didn't got it back with the explanation the restaurant was cloosed and the receptionist hadn't a key. It was not possible to send it by post to my home. For a 5 star hotel I expect a much more better service than this. Save your money and stay at a other hotel. The service is the price not worth.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hueenervogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Quintanilla de Onesimo
4.6 mi away
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
Hotel Abadia Retuerta Le Domaine
#1 of 1 in Sardon de Duero
412 reviews
3.2 mi away
Castilla Termal Monasterio de Valbuena
10.7 mi away
Hotel Convento Las Claras
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Fuente Acena
Fuente Acena
#1 of 2 in Quintanilla de Onesimo
156 reviews
11.5 mi away
Residencia Real Castillo de Curiel
20.8 mi away
Hotel Boutique Gareus
Hotel Boutique Gareus
#1 of 39 in Valladolid
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel & Spa Arzuaga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel & Spa Arzuaga

Property: Hotel & Spa Arzuaga
Address: Crta. N. 122, Km, 325, Quintanilla de Onesimo, Spain
Region: Spain > Castile and Leon > Province of Valladolid > Quintanilla de Onesimo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Quintanilla de Onesimo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel & Spa Arzuaga 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel & Spa Arzuaga is settled down inside our winery, surrounded by an outstanding scenery. A place where you will be able to enjoy a world that turns around wine. Our facilities are quiet and clam that will make your rest be more pleasant and refreshing. A world full of comforts where we will treat you as if you were a king like we treat our wines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Priceline so you can book your Hotel & Spa Arzuaga reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing