We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location but too expensive”
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Lower Langford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful location but too expensive”
Reviewed 12 July 2011

So disappointed in the 'standard' room we had chosen it was tiny and very poor value, but to upgrade with a sea view was a lot more money. It overlooked the car parking area. Breakfast was good with lovely views from the hotel terrace which was also lovely to sit on in the shade during the day. No swimming pool or children's facilities. The beach opposite the hotel was accessed by over 100 steps and was tiny, ok for couples but no good for children. The other beaches in Calella also accessed by steps but larger and very crowded. The sea was very clean, lots of rocks to lie on or climb over. We found 2 very good restaurants in the back streets of Calella, Xanuba and Sali's. The hotel staff were welcoming and some spoke English and were friendly. No private car park, street parking taking pot luck.

Room Tip: Do not recommend 'standard' rooms for more than 1 night, but feel sure the more expensive ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RosieSomersetUK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    108
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
196
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend with some friends. We have been to this area many times but it was their first trip. We had a standard room without sea view and they had a great room with sea view and terrace. obviously they paid more but loved it. I was also very satisfied with our room. The staff were great and I have to say this was our favourite hotel in the area.
The views from the breakfast terrace were superb.
Our friends fell in love with the hotel and Calella.
We did not eat here as I knew lots of other places to take them. We thought the price of drinks very reasonable.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albertville, France
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for a weekend in early June. To get a room with a sea view you had to book half board. At around 107€ each, this was a bit of a rip off. The food was fairly average, especially compared with the excellent restaurants beside the beach further down the hill (e.g Tragamar), To make matters worse, if you wanted to eat on the terrace or in the garden, you had to pay a supplement. Not a great way to encourage guests to stay again. We come to Calella every year, often with friends, but next time we'll probably book elsewhere and just pop in for a drink. It's a shame though, because the Hotel Sant Roch is in a great spot perched on the hillside overlooking the fishing village. It has a faded 1950's charm, lovely views and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms seem to get tables by window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamJLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

The views from this hotel are amazing very romantic we had room 203, also staff were so friendly and lovely,we had half board and the food was actually very good, we do eat out a lot and would compare favourably to some good restaurants in France . Read an earlier review about someone having view from car park think have to pay more to get a sea view and is so worth it !!! Didn't want to leave and certainly would go back !

Room Tip: Pay the extra for sea view is worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meredithEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2011

A friend and I stayed in the hotel for three nights this June. We were so looking forward to our stay as we both love the hotel location.
We booked 2 single standard rooms with half board. Our rooms were at the back of the hotel with a view to the carpark. My bathroom was very much below standard , in order to use the shower/bath or the WC you would need to very agile and of slim build.
The first night of our stay we were so looking forward to dinner, WHAT A DISAPOINTMENT, the food was of such a low standard, in fact it was terrible. Unfortunately the food did not improve. What a pity, as the hotel location is superb and the staff are very nice and friendly.
We will certainly visit the hotel for coffee/drinks but wiil not be staying there again.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Presteigne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
263 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I popped down to Spain from our home in the south of France for a break and change of scene. We were recommended the Hotel Roc but it being a 3* hotel we were a bit dubious as, due to past experiences, we usualy stay in min 4*. It was lovely. It's position is on the edge of a small cliff over looking the sea and the beach area of Calella De Palafrugell with its little resturants and shops. Its little cafes in the old fishermans sheds that sit under the pavements of the town (beach lower than town) with their brightly painted shutters were right on the beach itself and were so sweet. Be sure to ask for a room with a view of the sea. We had a 'Gastronomic Special' offer which gave us an amazing meal with 8 courses and wine on one of our nights. We sat overlooking the sea and the sparkling lights of the town. The food was truly incredable and good value for money. I must say though that the food on the next night wasn't quite as good! A lovely break away.

Room Tip: Just ask for a sea view at the top of the buildin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bessiegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
santiago, chile
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2010

We have stayed in various other hotels in Calella, but this has turned out to be the best overall. We took the offer of 3 nights for the price of 2 in a superior room with half board. Our room 206, I think was far better located than those directly facing the sea as the ones on the side, where ours was, have the perfect view of all Calella as well as the sea. Rooms are small but comfortable and have been remodelled recently. The breakfasts were OK, but nothing special. They do need to invest in a new toaster as they only have one, very old machine that seems to take forever to toast and as the toaster only holds 4 slices, it can mean having to wait and wait and wait while toast for others is cooking. Coffee is great though. Bread is not good either at breakfast or with meals. The meal at Euros29 included in the half pension , is OK, but nothing special. We decided to have the fixed meal for lunch as it´s a good price compared with the overpriced restaurants in Calella, and then order a la carte from the better restaurant they have, and perhaps order 2 good dishes instead of having the 3 mediocre ones form the fixed menu. What I personally didn´t like was the smell of cooked fish throughout the hotel, which seems to happen at each meal time as fish is always on the menu. I love fish but not the smell as it flows through the hotel. Overall though it´s the best bet in Calella.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hardtoplease002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
368 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
552 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Property: Hotel Sant Roc
Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel
Hotel Sant Roc Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing