We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite place in Costa Brava. Peaceful with unbeatable views”
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very nice people manages it, making you feel totally at home. Views, particularly from the terrace (breakfast) are second to none.

Room Tip: Rooms with see view, specially the corner one are a lot nicer, even if pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jordi_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel, but had 2 restaurant experiences. First we stayed for lunch. Food's fine, although the waiter brought the white wine without a cooler. After some time, I asked for a cooler, he nodded, but no cooler. Only when asking another waiter did we finally get a cooler. Still, only a very minor nuisance, so next night, we booked for dinner. We arrived at half past eight, got the menus and were left waiting. After more than 15 minutes we said we wanted to order. Still had to wait, but could finally make our order, including wine. After 10 minutes more waiting, we said we really wanted to drink some wine already. Still 5 minutes later, no wine, in total more than half an hour sitting at a table with nothing in front of you, we left. And it wasn't even that is was terribly crowded, but just that staff didn't know what to do when. When the head-waiter asked why we left, we gave our reasons, and were hissed in response "hasta nunca" / "till never". We agreed with him. In the village, quickly found a nice restaurant with good and fast service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If money is no option, a top floor/seaview/balcony room is recomended. Breakfast is good and on the balcony it is a bliss with the view, smell and sound of the sea just below. In high season, Calella is really crowded, to be avoided if possible. The hotel has probably the best location of the Calella hotels and certaily knows to charge the guests for this advantage throught the roomrates and compulsary half board in the peak season. The à là carte dining for an extra fee, proved no better than the daily set menu - a waste of money. Wines OK though.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Curiousityrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here with our adult daughter in June. The rooms were quite disappointing, considering the price that we paid for them. We had travelled all over Spain and this was our one splurge. However, some 2 and 3 star hotels that we had stayed in had much nicer rooms for half the price. Nor were we keen to pay the considerable extra for a sea view room. However the location was superb and the terrace an amazing place to sit and enjoy the view whilst reading or having a drink.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank westli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2011

So disappointed in the 'standard' room we had chosen it was tiny and very poor value, but to upgrade with a sea view was a lot more money. It overlooked the car parking area. Breakfast was good with lovely views from the hotel terrace which was also lovely to sit on in the shade during the day. No swimming pool or children's facilities. The beach opposite the hotel was accessed by over 100 steps and was tiny, ok for couples but no good for children. The other beaches in Calella also accessed by steps but larger and very crowded. The sea was very clean, lots of rocks to lie on or climb over. We found 2 very good restaurants in the back streets of Calella, Xanuba and Sali's. The hotel staff were welcoming and some spoke English and were friendly. No private car park, street parking taking pot luck.

Room Tip: Do not recommend 'standard' rooms for more than 1 night, but feel sure the more expensive ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RosieSomersetUK_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend with some friends. We have been to this area many times but it was their first trip. We had a standard room without sea view and they had a great room with sea view and terrace. obviously they paid more but loved it. I was also very satisfied with our room. The staff were great and I have to say this was our favourite hotel in the area.
The views from the breakfast terrace were superb.
Our friends fell in love with the hotel and Calella.
We did not eat here as I knew lots of other places to take them. We thought the price of drinks very reasonable.
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolnottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed for a weekend in early June. To get a room with a sea view you had to book half board. At around 107€ each, this was a bit of a rip off. The food was fairly average, especially compared with the excellent restaurants beside the beach further down the hill (e.g Tragamar), To make matters worse, if you wanted to eat on the terrace or in the garden, you had to pay a supplement. Not a great way to encourage guests to stay again. We come to Calella every year, often with friends, but next time we'll probably book elsewhere and just pop in for a drink. It's a shame though, because the Hotel Sant Roch is in a great spot perched on the hillside overlooking the fishing village. It has a faded 1950's charm, lovely views and the staff are very friendly.

Room Tip: 3rd floor rooms seem to get tables by window
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamJLH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
256 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
311 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
616 reviews
6.6 mi away
Park Hotel San Jorge
Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,923 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range: £101 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel
Hotel Sant Roc Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing