We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly family run hotel with great seaview”
Review of Hotel Sant Roc

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Sant Roc
Certificate of Excellence
london
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“friendly family run hotel with great seaview”
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We stayed for two nights on a walking package. We had a sunlit traditionally furnished sea-view room with a good sized balcony and small but serviceable bathroom - take care not to book a room overlooking the road and car-park. ( The hotel website is worth a look as it shows quite a variation in room type and standard.) The lounge bar area with open fire-place for chilly evenings is convivial. There is also an indoor play area for little-ones. For a three star restaurant the half board dinner was perfectly OK as was the buffet breakfast though the breakfast coffee was awful. I think this might depend on who is serving the breakfast rota. On the second morning we asked for coffee from the espresso machine but this was an extra and not hot. The hotel fronts the GR92 coastal trail and a short scenic stroll to the right takes you to the most beautiful little sandy coves. For braver souls a walk through the country-side to Palafrugell is well worth the effort.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophie83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    108
    32
    8
    9
See reviews for
52
196
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned for a two night stay in San Roc, I visited Calella De Palafrugell many times in the past but it was my partners first visit to the area and my first visit to the hotel. The hotel is delightful, they upgraded our room free of charge (with thanks) to a sea view. This is definitely worth the extra money. Its a stunning coast line and Calella has wonderful restaurants and atmosphere.

The room was perfect, lovely double bed with decent mattress, large balcony with table and chairs, modern contemporary shower room suite with jet shower and ambient lighting and the staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing is too much trouble. The buffet breakfast is excellent and everyone who was staying lingered over the buffet and there was no rush. always a relaxed atmosphere. The standard of food is wonderful and the barman was great and very friendly, pours a fantastic cocktail. If its out of season like April the fire is light at night which gives a lovely aroma and the outside patio heaters are on to keep you warm if sitting outside.

On our last morning we had room service and our breakfast on the balcony......perfect.

I will definitely be back at the San Roc and would recommend to anyone of any age to stay here it will make your visit even more special.

Many thanks to the owners and staff hope to visit again soon.
Alison & Don (Scotland)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view, its a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scottishcouple186534
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2011

After a long study about Costa Brava we went to Sant Roc for a long weekend. I could not book over the web as they do not accept one night booking and I wanted to test first the hotel.
We have got the top quality room, balcony and seaside for 174 Euro (eventually billed a bit lower..very kind of them) and we ended up staying three night.
The hotel is beautifully located on the west end of Calella de Palafrugel (not to be confused with Calella beach) high on the rocks. View from the room was superbe and the hotel terrace and veranda restaurant area panoramic as well. Parking in front in October was easy and free.
it is possible to reach a very small beach and some rocks walking straight down the stone stair from hotel and have a swim there in season.
Calella is at short walking distance and offers several options for dining.
Check in was kind and warm and the room was simply decorated. The bad point - i suggest them to arrange soonest - was the double bed, not a splittable one, set by two mattrass that cant stay together and are unconsistent. So quality of sleep was not good. Decoration itself is not charming, Bathroom is large enough and perfectly equipped although not elegant neither of good design.
Anyway this is a three star hotel, so once again I would consider unfair to complain but I had the feeling they could make of it a perfect bird nest by a small effort.
it is truth also that corridors have a special smell, not a good one, and it should not be difficult to solve the issue I read in another review.
Breakfast was more than correct in terms of food and beverage available and service at top: quick attention, freshly dressed table (of your choice: in - out - veranda - view... I much appreciated such attention!).
We never had dinner or lunch at the hotel but the menu sounded good.
As a conclusion - after having had a direct look to many other options along the coast and inland too - it is the best choice if one wants a view and can accept some minor disconfort. I am aware I am an highly demanding traveller so I want to be fair.
We went to have a look to Far De San Sebastia just in front and although highly rated did not look such a better option.
It deserve a note the price for the bar consumptions: we had few things and prices were correct in line with hotel standard, that is not always the case.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carlo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2011

Very nice people manages it, making you feel totally at home. Views, particularly from the terrace (breakfast) are second to none.

Room Tip: Rooms with see view, specially the corner one are a lot nicer, even if pricey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jordi_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2011

We didn't stay in the hotel, but had 2 restaurant experiences. First we stayed for lunch. Food's fine, although the waiter brought the white wine without a cooler. After some time, I asked for a cooler, he nodded, but no cooler. Only when asking another waiter did we finally get a cooler. Still, only a very minor nuisance, so next night, we booked for dinner. We arrived at half past eight, got the menus and were left waiting. After more than 15 minutes we said we wanted to order. Still had to wait, but could finally make our order, including wine. After 10 minutes more waiting, we said we really wanted to drink some wine already. Still 5 minutes later, no wine, in total more than half an hour sitting at a table with nothing in front of you, we left. And it wasn't even that is was terribly crowded, but just that staff didn't know what to do when. When the head-waiter asked why we left, we gave our reasons, and were hissed in response "hasta nunca" / "till never". We agreed with him. In the village, quickly found a nice restaurant with good and fast service.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bergen
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

If money is no option, a top floor/seaview/balcony room is recomended. Breakfast is good and on the balcony it is a bliss with the view, smell and sound of the sea just below. In high season, Calella is really crowded, to be avoided if possible. The hotel has probably the best location of the Calella hotels and certaily knows to charge the guests for this advantage throught the roomrates and compulsary half board in the peak season. The à là carte dining for an extra fee, proved no better than the daily set menu - a waste of money. Wines OK though.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Curiousityrules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bunbury , Western Australia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

We stayed here with our adult daughter in June. The rooms were quite disappointing, considering the price that we paid for them. We had travelled all over Spain and this was our one splurge. However, some 2 and 3 star hotels that we had stayed in had much nicer rooms for half the price. Nor were we keen to pay the considerable extra for a sea view room. However the location was superb and the terrace an amazing place to sit and enjoy the view whilst reading or having a drink.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calella de Palafrugell
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mediterrani
Hotel Mediterrani
#1 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
231 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Garbi
Hotel Garbi
#3 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
236 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Alga
Hotel Alga
#4 of 7 in Calella de Palafrugell
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
368 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#5 of 14 in Begur
550 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Terramar
Hotel Terramar
#2 of 6 in Llafranc
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sant Roc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sant Roc

Property: Hotel Sant Roc
Address: Placa Atlantic 2, 17210 Calella de Palafrugell, Palafrugell, Spain
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Palafrugell > Calella de Palafrugell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Calella de Palafrugell
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Sant Roc 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and peaceful hotel located in the heart of la Costa Brava. Come and let yourself be carried away by emotions! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Sant Roc reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sant Roc Hotel
Hotel Sant Roc Calella De Palafrugell, Spain - Costa Brava

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing